We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasant stay”
Review of Courtfield Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cardiff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Courtfield Hotel
Ranked #4 of 42 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Narberth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always a pleasant stay”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I have stayed here on several occassions Norman & Keith are always very welcoming.The room I have is very comfortable and quiet, warm. local pubs nearby & not too far from local places to eat will be going there again regurlay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    55
    15
    2
    6
See reviews for
17
76
50
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

A BIG THANK YOU to Keith and Norman. All our love from Derek & Lyn at Blackpool.
We had a very warm welcome. A lovely room, a superb breakfast and very clean. Location excellent. Parking easy and a very friendly atmosphere. We will definately be staying again at this hotel. Well recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I came down to Cardiff for a weekend away and on a budget. What I expected was a comfortable stay, what I got was over and above. Lovely, cosy room, slept brilliantly, excellent breakfast and the hotel is beautiful. The best part though, was the service. The owners are very friendly, helpful and add a great personal touch. Old fashioned, hands-on service, could not do enough for me.

I highly recommend this place to anyone, more than any 5 star expensive hotel.
It was also in a good location, close enough to town and stations, right next to stunning Bute Park and the river bus so you can get a great scenic view of Cardiff Bay and the River Taff.

Will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed again for the third year running for the rugby weekend 14th.March. Once gain a very warm welcome from the owner Keith.Breakfast very good and plenty of it.Good pub nearby (50 yards away) and handy for city centre.
Will be staying again next year.

Room Tip: Stay at the back of hotel if possible,road can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clifford w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed here on my first ever stopover in Cardiff, it most certainly played a big part in what was a thoroughly enjoyable weekend, the proprietors could have not been more hospitable. The room was comfy and like the rest of the place had a familiar home from home feel, I loved the many well presented old photo's of Cardiff throughout, it was of no surprise to learn the owners have developed this characterful hotel over many years.
The wide street outside has a very respectable appearance and it is just a fairly short pleasant walk through the riverside park to the City castle, passing the river boat pickup point for Cardiff Bay, on the way.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horsesinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed at the Courtifeld Hotel in Cardiff for 2 nights, 10th and 11 th of February. Found this hotel an ideal location for discovering Cardiff! the hotel was clean,comfortable and warm with a delicious breakfast on both morinings. the hosts could not have been more more helpful, with ideas of things to do during my stay. If you want jacuzzis, whirlpool baths and swimming pools - stay away. If you want a comfortable, traditional hotel with and excellent welcome book this GEM!!!! It may be a cliche, but you feel that you arrive as a stranger and leave as a friend! will definitely boook again!!

Room Tip: Excellent value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEITH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here for the rugby weekend. Last minute booking. Very welcoming and friendly service. Made to feel welcome and comfortable straight away as we walked through the door. Location is excellent, only 10 to 15 minute walk to cardiff centre. Room was adequate. The bath was lovely, big size and relaxing. Breakfast in the morning was tasty. Perfect size and well cooked. Definitely recommend courtfield if Your a couple coming to cardiff for the weekend for any occasion. Parking was tricky with it being so busy for the rugby but no problem really.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ddelward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#1 of 42 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Church Guest House
Church Guest House
#2 of 42 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ty Rosa B&B
Ty Rosa B&B
#3 of 42 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtfield Hotel

Property: Courtfield Hotel
Address: 101 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9PH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An original Victorian townhouse hotel, set in a tree-lined conservation area, within minutes walk of Cardiff Castle, Millenium Stadium and City Centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Courtfield Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing