We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Evening meal poor”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Another night in another premier inn...... This one is as expected, large comfy rooms, very friendly staff. What lets it down is the 'restaurant' there isn't one. You can use the health club cafe next door but it is just that - mismatched furniture and sticky tables. When I went it was teeming with children running around and it was extremely noisy. The food was disappointing and obviously rushed, undercooked chicken, over cooked veg. There are other eateries nearby but they are a drive away, after driving 300 miles didn't really want to drive anymore but wish I had. Won't eat there again - despite the hotel being quiet, warm, comfy and friendly I probably won't stay again because of the poor meal options.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaJ193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    244
    91
    21
    11
See reviews for
245
177
35
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This hotel is a bit out of town but only just off the main road into Cardiff from the M4 .. Lovely staff and the rooms are big and comfortable .. We only paid £35 per night but It felt like a much more expensive hotel. We didn't have a meal but the bar food looked ok ...breakfast was ok and kids ate free so good value for me and my son.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulogne-billancourt, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I would have rated "excellent" overall, had it not been for breakfast. Very large and well equipped rooms, in a quiet location, only minutes from the city centre but with free parking. Staff were abolutely tremendous: warm and friendly and extremely professional and efficient. breakfast not provided by the hotel, however, but by the David Lloyd sports centre adjacent. Long wait; cold (supposedly hot!) food; advertised items unavailable "we've been busy - won't be any more until next delivery" (in 3DAYS, whereas 2 supermarkets virtually next door!!). I cancelled our breakfast bookings after 1st day. Plenty of other (cheaper) options nearby (with a car ride - too far on foot).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Staff very friendly and helpful, no on site restaurant, have to use David Lloyds next door (link door open for breakfast but closed afterwards so have to go outside and round to the main entrance for evening meals or a drink) Roods very clean and tidy, towels changed and rood cleaned every day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here with friends for a weekend in Cardiff, having booked in advance got a great price. Taxi into town was £8, plenty of buses pass by too. Nice little shopping park opposite & several eateries nearby. Room was very clean and comfortable, nice size, bed amazing and huge TV. From this experience premier inn has gone up in my estimations!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amycm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

It's a Premier Inn, so you know what to expect. This one is in a very unprepossessing location within a tatty industrial estate on the outskirts of Cardiff. It is adjacent to a David Lloyd health club. Looking at the building, it would be easy to believe that it was built as a factory or distribution centre.

Once inside, everything is fine. Just what you expect from Premier Inn. Comfortable without being luxurious, absolutely fine for an overnight stay, but you don't go for the scenery or the view or the facilities. If you want a decent room for the night in a convenient location and a decent breakfast before you are on your way, this is just the job



Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northants
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Great venue for sporting events, hotel is attached to leisure centre and for a small charge you can use all facilities. Free parking, clean room, friendly staff and served breakfast in the leisure centre, although they did lose my food order!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank martyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
2.6 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
2.0 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
Address: Ipswich Road | Roath, Cardiff CF23 9AQ, Wales (Formerly Travel Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#20 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're on the road for business or pleasure, the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff (Roath) is a quiet, convenient place to pull in for a pit stop - just off the A48 for easy access into or out of the city. If you're here for the high life you'll have all the shops, sports and show action right on hand. Or if you're focused on work, we're in a great spot for getting to Newport Road, the Welsh Assembly and the city centre. And when it's time for a rest, our spacious rooms and cosy beds will make sure you get a great night's shut eye. Next door to a David Lloyd Leisure Club. Directions: Westbound: M4 (J29) A 48M. Take 3rd slip road For Cardiff (E) docks and Cardiff Bay. Eastbound: M4 (J30) A48M Take 2nd slip road for Cardiff (E) docks and Cardiff Bay. FTurn right at Morrisn's onto Ipswich road, at the road and enter David Llyod Leisure Club car park and follow purple signs for the hotel. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena Events Millennium Stadium Events Cardiff Castle & Tredegar House Cardiff Central Train Station 2.5 miles Cardiff Airport 15 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing