We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Class Staff, Rooms and Food, Great Value For Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Slaidburn, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“1st Class Staff, Rooms and Food, Great Value For Money”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our 2nd Prem/Inn in 2 nights. Both very similar in staff, both great hotels, fantastic value, 2 rooms B&B for 2 adults 3 kids came in at £76 in each hotel.
Rooms were clean, functional, well kept.
The Cardiff Roath Hotel was tidy, quiet and clean but in an indistrial area but plenty of eating facilities nearby, from fast food to TGI Friday and the City Centre is only 10 minutes away by car/bus (plus there is a huge Morrisons next door if you choose to eat in your room).
This hotel had breakfast next door at the David Lloyd Centre and was very good - the kids ate free with us - plus the choice was very good in terms of cooked, cereals and fruit. Staff there were excellent but it is full of David Lloyd users at the same time.
Thoroughly recommend this hotel and these 2 stays at Premier Inns (Roos on Wye and this) have changed my mind about budget hotels, specifically Premier Inns.


  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    239
    89
    21
    11
See reviews for
241
176
34
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weldon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Fantastic, quiet, very clean and comfortable stay, with the best nights sleep.
I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere to stay where a quiet and very comfortable stay is important.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QuiksilverWeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I had never been to a premier inn before and I hadn't heard amazing things. I must say I was presently surprised. It was very good and I would go again. There was a couple of extra pillows and blankets in the cupboard. TV was massive as well in our room. It could maybe do with being opposite the bed but still was very good. Had free view and all the channels were working. The people at front desk were very nice. There wasn't any WiFi which I was a bit annoyed about but can't really complain as we was only there for one night. Very happy overall and I would recommend to anybody who was going out in the center of Cardiff as it was very cheap the taxi.

Room Tip: We stayed at the room right at the end. Was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Tucked away behind a David Lloyd leisure club, this hospacious room which are spacious with a comfy bed. It was spotlessly clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. I would have given 5 stars but for the dribble of a shower and that there was no restaurant/breakfast facilities.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carinaanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Was a tad surprised where the hotel was but imagine it would be good for sports events at the David Lloyd center attached to the hotel. Excellent if you have children as they can use the facilities at a nominal charge, also in the premier inn breakfast area there is a soft play area so you can watch the children play whilst you eat.
The guy on reception was excellent, helpful and informative, the room was clean and spacious as always.
The only two comments I would like to make is that it is a fair trek through the sports center to have breakfast which may prove difficult for disabled guests, and when leaving in the morning it was not very professional to be kept waiting to check out whilst the reception was outside smoking, although in fairness she came straight in when she turned around and saw us, it was not nice being spoken to by someone with 'Fag Breath'. I would still stay here again as the overall experience was good and it was good value for money and easy to get in and out of Cardiff to see the sights.

Room Tip: If you are disabled ask if there is another way of getting to the breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Rooms are comfortable and great value. Breakfast as much as you want deal is also good value and good quality.
Downside is difficult to find as hotel is part of a leisure centre and hidden at the back in converted offices.
Breakfast is served in the leisure centre and is a long and winding trek around tennis courts and gymnasiums. So take note if you need a quick get away.
Finally the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Clean, Well kept and good price hotel. Breakfast was held in the David Lloyd center so had to go through the tennis courts etc to get to the dining room. Great if going on a night out to Cardiff. Taxis are cheap about £10.00 from hotel. Would recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robsonsophie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
2.6 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 73 in Cardiff
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
2.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
Address: Ipswich Road | Roath, Cardiff CF23 9AQ, Wales (Formerly Travel Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#20 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're on the road for business or pleasure, the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff (Roath) is a quiet, convenient place to pull in for a pit stop - just off the A48 for easy access into or out of the city. If you're here for the high life you'll have all the shops, sports and show action right on hand. Or if you're focused on work, we're in a great spot for getting to Newport Road, the Welsh Assembly and the city centre. And when it's time for a rest, our spacious rooms and cosy beds will make sure you get a great night's shut eye. Next door to a David Lloyd Leisure Club. Directions: Westbound: M4 (J29) A 48M. Take 3rd slip road For Cardiff (E) docks and Cardiff Bay. Eastbound: M4 (J30) A48M Take 2nd slip road for Cardiff (E) docks and Cardiff Bay. FTurn right at Morrisn's onto Ipswich road, at the road and enter David Llyod Leisure Club car park and follow purple signs for the hotel. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena Events Millennium Stadium Events Cardiff Castle & Tredegar House Cardiff Central Train Station 2.5 miles Cardiff Airport 15 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing