We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tricky to find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tricky to find”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Tricky to find, signage could better. However once we did find it we were treated to the Premier Inn experience. Great staff, good breakfast and a good nights sleep, what more could you want for a family of 4, for not much money. This one is attached to a large David Lloyd Club. Breakfast is in the bar area of the club and is a bit of a trek from the hotel. there is a mix of cereals teas coffees toast etc. The cooked breakfast isn't a buffet, although the staff do say you can order as much as you want, it's difficult if you finish then fancy an extra sausage. All in all a good stay as always but not as easy and stress free as it usually is.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaFraFor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    239
    89
    21
    11
See reviews for
241
176
34
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

excellent, a very thoughtful and caring bunch of staff, went well beyond the call of duty to make me feel welcome and settle in. cannot thank them enough and would really recommend to others. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stopped in many premier inn's and normally love these budget hotels, but this hard was hard to find and poorly signed. The room was ok and bed was comfy as always. The breakfast was located in the gym attached which meant you had to walk right through it which wasn't a comfy experience. The all you can eat breakfast wasn't a buffet and you had to order and wait a good 20mins for your food meaning you couldn't really get all you wanted if you wanted to come off the diet for a weekend! Overall I'd say give this one a miss and book into one of the more traditional ones.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Guest Relations and the Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel. staff very friendly and helpful. Fab family room. massive 42 inch tv. David lloyd centre has a nice bar that serves reasonable meals. Only a short work to the retail park which has kfc, mcdonalds, tgi fridays and a very nice frankie and bennys. and loads of shops. quiet busy on a Friday evening regarding traffic. Will definitely visit again

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jen07Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is my third stay at a Premier Inn & once again, it has proved difficult to find any fault! The staff are always so friendly & chirpy, how do they do it? Even late at night, they're happy! Room , as ever, superb, bathroom spotless, bed soooo comfy. TV huge, breakfast great! OK, you have to walk round the corner to the David Lloyd Centre to get breakfast, but that's a minor inconvenience! Frankly, I don't think I'll ever use any other hotels, Premier has it all!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Hotel up to normal Premier standards but attached to Leisure centre the catering facilities of which are used to serve guests. As a "tennis centre" cafe you have to walk through a large hall with several tennis courts in it then through a squash court and finally another tennis court before ending up in a cafe/resturauant. The coffee and hot water at the "Premier Inn" part are served through airport flasks which are ok for no paying conference types but not suitable for the "premier " image. If you are not eating it is an ok location to stay to access Cardiff with ease

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingtyke2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here for the first time as we had a party to go to locally, glad we did!
Excellent Hotel, Excellent Facilities, Fab Breakfast. Hotel is situated in a industrial estate in Cardiff, don't let this put you off as it just adds to the quietness.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlpuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
2.6 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 73 in Cardiff
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
2.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
Address: Ipswich Road | Roath, Cardiff CF23 9AQ, Wales (Formerly Travel Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#20 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're on the road for business or pleasure, the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff (Roath) is a quiet, convenient place to pull in for a pit stop - just off the A48 for easy access into or out of the city. If you're here for the high life you'll have all the shops, sports and show action right on hand. Or if you're focused on work, we're in a great spot for getting to Newport Road, the Welsh Assembly and the city centre. And when it's time for a rest, our spacious rooms and cosy beds will make sure you get a great night's shut eye. Next door to a David Lloyd Leisure Club. Directions: Westbound: M4 (J29) A 48M. Take 3rd slip road For Cardiff (E) docks and Cardiff Bay. Eastbound: M4 (J30) A48M Take 2nd slip road for Cardiff (E) docks and Cardiff Bay. FTurn right at Morrisn's onto Ipswich road, at the road and enter David Llyod Leisure Club car park and follow purple signs for the hotel. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena Events Millennium Stadium Events Cardiff Castle & Tredegar House Cardiff Central Train Station 2.5 miles Cardiff Airport 15 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing