We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good budget hotel”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Usual consistent high Premier Inn standard. David LLoyd next door a pleasing and unusual place for dinner. Easy to get at and a handy location to reach Cardiff & surroundings. Quiet location. Good night's sleep, which is key objective!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    230
    81
    20
    9
See reviews for
233
164
34
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

It's located on an industrial estate nowhere near Roath. Restaurant and bar are in an entirely separate sports centre that closes early and is infested with sporty kids. Noisy at night. A depressing experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A peaceful location with good healthy food options at the attached restaurant - better than the usual Brewers Fayre etc. whilst the location was not near the swimming pool it was not a far drive and there was a good supermarket nearby. The staff were very helpful and made us welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swimmingparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and 5 others lads stopped at the hotel on the 6th June for 1 night and couldn't fault our stay. The staff on the reception desk were really funny (telling us to keep the noise down) we booked 2 rooms which really lovely and spotless lovely ensuite in both rooms and the normal tea and coffee facilities. Very quiet location for a hotel and it's about 8km to the city centre and a short walking distance to Morrisons. I would definitely recommend this hotel for everybody and age range.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Antony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a nice Hotel at Cardiff Outskirts. The Cardiff Roath Lake is 20 minutes by walk. The hotel is situated next to Davis Lloyd (a famous club). Rooms are big and neat. The staffs are cordial and helpful. Wifi is free for only 30 minutes a day. The breakfast served through David Lloyd is good. All joints for eating like Burger King, KFC, MacD are within 15 minutes walk. The Hotel is 8 KM away from Cardiff City Centre / Central Bus Station. Lift was very lousy. Management should install a good lift immediately. Hotel Customer can use David Lloyd Clubbing facilities like tennis, swimming pool, etc on payment.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank architectbiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Myself and 7 other friends stayed here 31st May to the 1st June and I couldn't fault it. As an employee at another Premier Inn myself, I know what to expect and they delivered! The young lady on reception who was in Training on the Saturday afternoon was lovely, very well spoken and seemed genuinely interested in why we were there. I also saw her interact with a deaf couple and she had taken the time to learn some sign language to communicate with them, which I thought was outstanding (couldn't catch a name but young Asian lady, In Training on reception) Definitely needs recognition. The housekeeper we saw in the morning was also lovely! (Sorry couldn't catch a name but wore black shorts and black Vans) and asked us how our stay was. The room was lush, huge TV, absolutely immaculate, and had a great sleep on the new Hypnos mattresses. Will definitely stay again if we're ever back in Cardiff. Thankyou for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice stay, single beds are quite hard and uncomfortable, but we were only staying one night so we didn't complain. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the room was clean and pleasant. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
2.6 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
2.5 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
Address: Ipswich Road | Roath, Cardiff CF23 9AQ, Wales (Formerly Travel Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#20 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're on the road for business or pleasure, the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff (Roath) is a quiet, convenient place to pull in for a pit stop - just off the A48 for easy access into or out of the city. If you're here for the high life you'll have all the shops, sports and show action right on hand. Or if you're focused on work, we're in a great spot for getting to Newport Road, the Welsh Assembly and the city centre. And when it's time for a rest, our spacious rooms and cosy beds will make sure you get a great night's shut eye. Next door to a David Lloyd Leisure Club. Directions: Westbound: M4 (J29) A 48M. Take 3rd slip road For Cardiff (E) docks and Cardiff Bay. Eastbound: M4 (J30) A48M Take 2nd slip road for Cardiff (E) docks and Cardiff Bay. FTurn right at Morrisn's onto Ipswich road, at the road and enter David Llyod Leisure Club car park and follow purple signs for the hotel. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena Events Millennium Stadium Events Cardiff Castle & Tredegar House Cardiff Central Train Station 2.5 miles Cardiff Airport 15 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing