We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good grub ... Awful service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Masons Arms

Masons Arms
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cardiff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Masons Arms
Ranked #57 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Wales
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good grub ... Awful service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Went here for breakfast on a fairly quiet Sunday morning. Plenty of seats so not that busy. We were told when pre paying for our breakfast there was a ten minute wait for food.

We sat down and had a chat while watching the carvery for food. The chef came out after ten minutes. He had brought out some hash browns, nothing else, he also took the opportunity to remove the bowl of sausages that was there.

After about twenty five minutes he returned with a bowl of sausage and a small number of eggs. No bacon.
One has to ask how can a carvery run out of food, surely if supplies are getting low, do some more, not wait until the pots are empty and then decide to replace them.

Went for toast .. no white bread. Told the chef "no white bread" "I'll be with you in a sec" seven minutes later reappears no bread. "can we have some white bread?" "I'll be with you in a sec" Waited another four minutes got fed up then went to speak to the lady taking the money. "Can you get us some white bread" I'll be with you soon" Gave up ...then looked, another lady dumped eight slices of bread in the empty basket. At least six people waiting for toast. Again if it's low refill it.

The food when we got it was good. But for goodness sake get some more staff !. The staff are rushed of their feet. Look around the room tables full of dishes left by previous customers. More staff obviously means less profit of course. Is customer service important to this company ... obviously not. I've no doubt they say "we serve lots of satisfied customers .. Blah ! Blah ! Who want's to hear that when wasting a virtual whole morning hanging around. Go here if you have a morning to waste.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    6
    3
    11
    1
See reviews for
8
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Sometimes you don't want to go out for a posh meal and you can't be bothered to cook so a carvery is a simple solution. We eat here regularly about once a fortnight and to get here we pass two other carveries at Upper Boat and at Whitchurch.
There is rarely a problem getting a table straight away as the restaurant area is large but obviously avoid Sat and Sun lunchtimes, Mother's Day etc.
Given that the restaurant is large it is cut down to smaller areas by walls and pillars rather then flimsy screens so you always feel as if you are in a small area of three or four tables.
Food is excellent, the main reason for passing the other two carveries, and is served quickly from a queue that moves speedily. Waiter, waitress service is pleasant and they will chat if you make it clear that you want to. Tony is very pleasant.
Always go for the never ending soft drinks as they are pennies more than the standard and can usually be filled two or three times by us when we eat here. Drinking beer and or wine can easily double your bill but that is more a reflection of the cheap food prices.
Because this carvery is local to us we have never stayed in the hotel so can't comment other than to say that it is a short taxi ride from the city centre.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank patandclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

The Toby carvery offers very good food. The restaurant has been modernised and is very pleasant. Service is slow as they always seem to be short staffed.
The hotel accommodation is dreadful - shabby and poorly maintained. I felt grubby after spending the night there and would never do so again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan m W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

We didn't stay here, but ate at Toby carvery, great food, always enjoy and a bargin. You couldn't make a roast at home for that price!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazi420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.1 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#20 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Whitchurch
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
2.3 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#40 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masons Arms

Property: Masons Arms
Address: Tyn-y-Parc Road | Whitchurch, Cardiff CF14 6BH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Masons Arms Hotel Cardiff
Masons Arms Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing