We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lacks basic customer service every time”
Review of Masons Arms

Masons Arms
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cardiff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Masons Arms
Ranked #54 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Cardiff, South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Really lacks basic customer service every time”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We live reasonably close to this cavery and are often enticed in with vouchers for deals. We have learnt through our visits to go with no real expectations, that way we won't be disappointed.

The service is mostly poor, there is never anyone at the front desk to welcome you or seat you. Even when you do arrive there is never any rush to come and help even when a number of staff side step the desk to go to the till located on the wall behind. This to me is very basic customer service and I cannot understand why this first impression of the business is never taken to be important.

There never seems sufficient numbers of waiting staff so the service for drinks can be incredibly slow. On one occasion recently I had almost finished my carvery before my drink was delivered. Despite this the system does not seem to be overly efficient.

When we visited a few days ago, we arrived just before 8pm, there was the customary wait at the front desk to be seated. The carver gave us only a tiny amount of meat on this occasion, this differs from carver to carver and customer to customer. The roast potatoes looked as though they had been out under the hot lamps for half a day and there were about two dozen left looking dry and grizzled. I asked if there were anymore, I could not see how it was deemed acceptable for these to be served to customers, particularly as there was a sign next to them stating how brilliant their roasties are! We were then given replacements.

This place is always lacking. The breakfast we tried was worse. Low expectations are the way to go or go to wetherspoons down the road.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsTravelaL0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    7
    4
    12
    1
See reviews for
11
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We've been using thus Carvery for a few years now, however the service has gone to the dogs. Front of house is rarely manned, water service is over taxed, the decor is showing signs of wear, but worse of all is the decline of food quality.... Sparcely replenished Carvery with less than half of the variety of foods of a few years back. One gravy / condiment section instead of two previously, and to boot, it's half empty due to the shortage of staff filling it up. The best part of the meal I had there was the desert, which I had to wait 15 minutes for... Wasn't anywhere near rush hour wither! Rubbish service, come on Toby Inns, you can do so much better!!!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Wales
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Went here for breakfast on a fairly quiet Sunday morning. Plenty of seats so not that busy. We were told when pre paying for our breakfast there was a ten minute wait for food.

We sat down and had a chat while watching the carvery for food. The chef came out after ten minutes. He had brought out some hash browns, nothing else, he also took the opportunity to remove the bowl of sausages that was there.

After about twenty five minutes he returned with a bowl of sausage and a small number of eggs. No bacon.
One has to ask how can a carvery run out of food, surely if supplies are getting low, do some more, not wait until the pots are empty and then decide to replace them.

Went for toast .. no white bread. Told the chef "no white bread" "I'll be with you in a sec" seven minutes later reappears no bread. "can we have some white bread?" "I'll be with you in a sec" Waited another four minutes got fed up then went to speak to the lady taking the money. "Can you get us some white bread" I'll be with you soon" Gave up ...then looked, another lady dumped eight slices of bread in the empty basket. At least six people waiting for toast. Again if it's low refill it.

The food when we got it was good. But for goodness sake get some more staff !. The staff are rushed of their feet. Look around the room tables full of dishes left by previous customers. More staff obviously means less profit of course. Is customer service important to this company ... obviously not. I've no doubt they say "we serve lots of satisfied customers .. Blah ! Blah ! Who want's to hear that when wasting a virtual whole morning hanging around. Go here if you have a morning to waste.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Sometimes you don't want to go out for a posh meal and you can't be bothered to cook so a carvery is a simple solution. We eat here regularly about once a fortnight and to get here we pass two other carveries at Upper Boat and at Whitchurch.
There is rarely a problem getting a table straight away as the restaurant area is large but obviously avoid Sat and Sun lunchtimes, Mother's Day etc.
Given that the restaurant is large it is cut down to smaller areas by walls and pillars rather then flimsy screens so you always feel as if you are in a small area of three or four tables.
Food is excellent, the main reason for passing the other two carveries, and is served quickly from a queue that moves speedily. Waiter, waitress service is pleasant and they will chat if you make it clear that you want to. Tony is very pleasant.
Always go for the never ending soft drinks as they are pennies more than the standard and can usually be filled two or three times by us when we eat here. Drinking beer and or wine can easily double your bill but that is more a reflection of the cheap food prices.
Because this carvery is local to us we have never stayed in the hotel so can't comment other than to say that it is a short taxi ride from the city centre.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank patandclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The Toby carvery offers very good food. The restaurant has been modernised and is very pleasant. Service is slow as they always seem to be short staffed.
The hotel accommodation is dreadful - shabby and poorly maintained. I felt grubby after spending the night there and would never do so again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan m W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

We didn't stay here, but ate at Toby carvery, great food, always enjoy and a bargin. You couldn't make a roast at home for that price!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazi420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Whitchurch
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Llanederyn
1.1 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#18 of 74 in Cardiff
2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
3.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
4.1 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masons Arms

Property: Masons Arms
Address: Tyn-y-Parc Road | Whitchurch, Cardiff CF14 6BH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Masons Arms Hotel Cardiff
Masons Arms Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing