We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,298)
Filter reviews
2,299 results
Traveller rating
929
925
301
101
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
929
925
301
101
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsx boxexecutive roomswimming poolcar parkthe sofa bedleisure facilitiessteam roomminute walkper daymodern hotelgood sizecoffee machinegreat facilitieschanging roomsreception staffcardiff centrewould stay again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,885 - 1,890 of 2,299 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2011

good hotel for city break, few minutes walk into the centre, easy to get to cardiff Bay too. Very friendly and efficient staff, good amenities- lovely pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and gym, also had xbox and internet by reception.
Very comfortable bed, no noise from other rooms,excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pam409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed the facilities within the hotel, the comfort of your room and that you chose us as your 'good base' for your visit to Cardiff. I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed in a huge executive room (£109) for one night including breakfast & free Internet. Really comfortable bed, good facilities, very clean, lovely bathroom, great breakfast. Didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepper45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the services and facilities Novotel Cardiff has to offer and it is always nice to hear when a guest 'didn't want to leave'. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit.
Kind regards
Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This seemed to be a nice clean efficient Business Hotel. The room was pleasant and clean and the bed comfortable, all the facilities were as described.
I would be happy to stay there on a business trip again but perhaps not the sort of place for a holiday visit, it just didn't seem to be aimed at that market to be fair and perhaps lacked a little character as well.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davew5705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at the Novotel in Cardiff and I hope to see you on your next business trip.
Kind regards, Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We did enjoy our stay in the hotel, staff was friendly. We were pleased mainly with a lady in the restaurant (I think she was from Denmark). we also did apreciate the late check out. Rooms are nice and clean, and the wellness is nice, mainly the jacuzzi. Location is okay, Only 10 minutes walk frm the shopping centre and also 15 mins and you get to the Mermaid Wharf....

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agnestoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. We really value your feedback and i am pleased that you enjoyed the service, late check-out, cleanliness and jacuzzi! I hope to welcome you back some time in the future.
Kind regards
Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed here over the half term for 3 nights. The cost to my family was around £550 for connecting rooms. We also spent £250 in the restaurant. I am marking this review on the basis that this is a lot of money for us and we expected something a bit special.

The hotel has quite a big wow factor and the design and architecture gets top marks. The hotel is built around an old warehouse with lots of plate glass and ultra-modern architecture delivering a fantasic initial impression.

There is a large atrium, with flat screen internet access and an X-box for the children.

There is a bar and a restaurant "Elements". The resturant had a childrens menu. The restaurant was much better than you would expect even for a hotel of this standard. I will review this separately, but would suggest that you might eat here even if you were not staying in the hotel.

The leisure area and pool also gets top marks. Brilliantly executed, almost feeling like the holodeck on the Starship Enterprise.

The rooms are adequate, but lack the wow factor of the main hotel. They are however clean and fresh although internet is not free.

We had part of a stag party staying on our floor. For two separate nights we had loud running, knocking along the corridor. People trying to get into each others rooms. Our own bedroom door was knocked at 2 am on Sunday morning. On Saturday morning at 4am two males were loudly and persistently trying to get access to a door opposite. This resulted in several hours lost sleep, although Steve on reception tried to deal with it.

It is imposible to overlook this sort of intrusion into an expensive family break.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelcelt_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Novotel Cardiff Centre. I am pleased that you found the hotel to have a 'wow factor' and that you highly recommended both the Elements Restaurant and InBalance leisure facilities. I am however sorry to hear that you were disturbed during your visit. Whilst we do our best to ensure a great night sleep, other guests within the hotel environment can be a challenge and i acknowledge that a member of the team was able to deal with the issue that you encountered, once reported. I hope that overall, your family enjoyed your stay and we will have the opportunity to make your next stay more enjoyable.
Kind regards
Wael Elassal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews