We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good business hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Cardiff Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Ranked #9 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

I've stayed here 5-6 times on business and would not hesitate to stay here again.

The service is always good and the rooms are clean and spacious. There is a nice gym and reasonable sized pool (16metres).

The restaurant and bar are nice, and perfect for a business trip, but I would not recomend it for a weekend away, as the bar food is quite informal, and the restaurant offers much the same menu. However it is perfect to grab a quick bite to eat.

My only problem with the hotel is the price of wifi/internet access, £3.50 for an hour, or £10 for 24 hours, as most European hotels now offer this service for free, it is too pricey.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corkman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoy the serivce that we offer you when you stay with us. I note your comments regarding the wifi access. You may already be aware, that we do offer free internet access at our iMac web corner. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Cardiff soon.
Kind regards
Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    824
    259
    75
    25
See reviews for
552
736
91
328
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Lovely, clean hotel, staff are very nice and very helpful. Breakfast is well worth the money with plenty of choice and will set you up for the day. Only one ' very small 'downside is when there is a function on you can hear the music till the early hours of the morning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Very nice hotel, very clean and great choice at breakfast. Great location for the city center or the millenium stadium. Its more than we would normally pay, but it was a special occasion so we splashed out! Only downside was the complimentary tray in bedroom - they where a bit mean topping it up - if we stayed there again we would bring some teabags, as we don't drink all the herbal teas.

Room Tip: Nice quiet hotel, fast lifts make any room choice good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winnieport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for choosing the Novotel Cardiff for your recent stay and for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your special occasion with us and that we were able to contribute towards this. On your next visit, please do not hesitate to request the specific items that you mentioned and we will be happy to provide for you. I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

good hotel for city break, few minutes walk into the centre, easy to get to cardiff Bay too. Very friendly and efficient staff, good amenities- lovely pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and gym, also had xbox and internet by reception.
Very comfortable bed, no noise from other rooms,excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pam409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed the facilities within the hotel, the comfort of your room and that you chose us as your 'good base' for your visit to Cardiff. I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed in a huge executive room (£109) for one night including breakfast & free Internet. Really comfortable bed, good facilities, very clean, lovely bathroom, great breakfast. Didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pepper45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the services and facilities Novotel Cardiff has to offer and it is always nice to hear when a guest 'didn't want to leave'. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit.
Kind regards
Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davew5705
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

This seemed to be a nice clean efficient Business Hotel. The room was pleasant and clean and the bed comfortable, all the facilities were as described.
I would be happy to stay there on a business trip again but perhaps not the sort of place for a holiday visit, it just didn't seem to be aimed at that market to be fair and perhaps lacked a little character as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davew5705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at the Novotel in Cardiff and I hope to see you on your next business trip.
Kind regards, Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We did enjoy our stay in the hotel, staff was friendly. We were pleased mainly with a lady in the restaurant (I think she was from Denmark). we also did apreciate the late check out. Rooms are nice and clean, and the wellness is nice, mainly the jacuzzi. Location is okay, Only 10 minutes walk frm the shopping centre and also 15 mins and you get to the Mermaid Wharf....

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agnestoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. We really value your feedback and i am pleased that you enjoyed the service, late check-out, cleanliness and jacuzzi! I hope to welcome you back some time in the future.
Kind regards
Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Property: Novotel Cardiff Centre
Address: Cardiff Bay Hotel Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at the Principality Stadium, entertainment at the Motorpoint Arena and plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in the City Centre or Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Restaurant and Bar, well equipped leisure facilities including; superb 15m indoor swimming pool, Resistance and Cardio gyms, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Guests will find free WiFi internet throughout the Hotel. For business needs, we have nine meeting rooms including The Warehouse function room, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 12 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing