We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much to commend it ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Much to commend it ...”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Great location, onsite parking (£8 a day), good rooms (maybe a little tired in parts), great breakfast (£16), good CV gym - not so impressed with the Weights/resistance section, good sized pool and good sauna/steam room. I liked the 2 public computers in reception (free for short time use) - I don't use much when I travel so avoids having to sign up for an expensive in room service. I ought to praise the staff - all friendly, polite and helpful.

Its a modern chain hotel experience but you get what you expect and you can get a very good deal on the cost so pretty good value for money.

You can walk pretty much anywhere in central Cardiff/Cardiff Bay in 20 mins from the hotel.

Room Tip: Exec rooms are very spacious - half the rooms look over the car park at the back and probably quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJC10044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, General Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Cardiff and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards, Wael Elassal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    868
    273
    86
    30
See reviews for
575
779
93
349
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the novotel, had an executive room which was very nice, clean and spacious.
Added bonus was the free movies at weekend which we could advantage of one night as the weather was rubbish and didnt fancy going out.
Service in bar was very good and prices were reasonable. We ate at the bar one night and food was very nice, just a lovely chilled out atmosphere which made the evening.
Breakfast was good, nice selection of food, always being topped up and very fresh, even when busy on Sunday morning.
Had to pay for car park but the £8 per day is very cheap in comparison to most other hotels we looked at in Cardiff.

Sadly didn't use the leisure facilities as didn't have time, but they were always busy and looked nice.

Location was great, about 10 min walk into town, which was good. Loads of shops and restaurants.
Took a lovely walk to the millennium bay area which was about 20 mins, views were amazing when walking over the barrage.

Overall a very nice time stay, staff were very pleasant and helpful, espically the guys on the bar.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and will be going back again.
Thank you to you all.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littletk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed the facilities and services of the Novotel Cardiff and that we were able to play a part in making your trip to Cardiff enjoyable. I look forward to sharing your comments with the team and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I stayed here for one night at the last minute following disaster with another reservation elsewhere in the City. Lovely Executive room: spacious with comfortable bed and good facilities. Car park onsite a benefit in Cardiff. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Corner executive room was huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for your comments and for your high recommendation. I am glad that you enjoyed your Executive room given the difficulties that you had experienced at another hotel. I hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to Cardiff.
Kind regards
Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Booked very last minute as our previous arrangements had fallen through and although we couldn't book online (didn't allow 2 adults, 2 children in same room for some reason) we managed to get booked by ringing.

Great hotel. Very clean, very friendly, great location and facilities. Pool and area very clean and perfect for the kids and adults with an area sectioned off for the swimmers vs non-swimmers. Own car park (charged separately) Right in middle of walks to town center and harbour. Couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for your kind review and feedback. I'm delighted that you and your family enjoyed your visit to the Novotel Cardiff Centre and hope that you will choose to stay again soon.
Kind regards
Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I stayed at Novotel before and certainly will come back. I had an executive rooms and everything was just great, from the size of the room, facilities of the hotel and staff. Had a great experience. Reception staff were very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveuk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to read that you had a 'great experience' following your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit soon.
Kind regards
Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Great location. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Best part was that they do not rush you to checkout. Amenities were good at no extra cost.

Room Tip: Book the executive room as very little difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bav C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you had a 'good stay', the service and location. I hope that you will choose Novotel Cardiff Centre again in the future.
Kind regards
Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed with 5 friends for 2 nights (27-29 April). Friendly check-in, large comfortable rooms with large beds with good mattresses and pillows. Lovely clean linen and great bathrooms.
Breakfast was included on or tariff and it was really good.
Some of our group used the pool and thought it was great. Pool water was warm and the Jacuzzi was lovely.
The hotel is a bit of a walk from the town centre, took us about 10 minutes I would say. Car Park was an extra £8 per day (reasonable) and the Wifi is not free (a shame for overseas visitors particularly).
The hotel is modern and clean and the staff seemed friendly and efficient. I would recommend a stay here if you are in Cardiff, especially with the excellent room rate we got (£163 for 2 nights per room with 2 occupants, including breakfast!).

Room Tip: We stayed in 500, 502 (these 2 rooms had interconnecting doors), and 509. All these rooms on the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Cardiff and chose the Novotel Cardiff Centre for your accomodation. I am glad that you and your party were pleased with the facilities, the cleanliness, the price and the service. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,079 reviews
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Property: Novotel Cardiff Centre
Address: Cardiff Bay Hotel Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at the Principality Stadium, entertainment at the Motorpoint Arena and plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in the City Centre or Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Restaurant and Bar, well equipped leisure facilities including; superb 15m indoor swimming pool, Resistance and Cardio gyms, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Guests will find free WiFi internet throughout the Hotel. For business needs, we have nine meeting rooms including The Warehouse function room, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 12 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, ACCOR, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing