We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

3 of us stayed for 2 nights in a 2 bed room with a pull out sofa
Was initially worried that it may be a little far away from the centre but it's actually quite close....assuming you are prepared to walk
Overall it has a modern and clean feel. The staff were friendly, helpful and polite
The rooms are well sized and there was a medium sized telly and we could get free wifi. Quality of the fittings was good. Unlike most hotels we actually got 3 sets of towels
The pool is fairly free of restrictions (unlike many other hotels) and there's a steam room and sauna as well
Breakfasts were good with plenty of choice and attentive staff. Note I booked through hotels.com and was offered breakfast at £13.50 a person each for every day...er no thank you, I don't want to add £80 to my bill! However on cheking out of the website, it offered 3 breakfasts for 2 days for £20 in total- BARGAIN!
OK atmosphere in the bar in the evenings and the drinks were only mildly above pub prices
Parking was £9 a day which I thought reasonable and we arrived around 5pm on a Thursday night and managed to bag a spot, although if you arrived much later you may have problems
The only irritating thing was there was no front door out onto Herbert Street, so when walking into the city, you had a 5 minute trek before you even got out onto the street

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hoohoobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your review and feedback following your recent stay.

I am pleased that overall you and your family enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with the hotel location, leisure facilities, room size/amenities and free WiFi.
I also note your comment about gaining access to the street. We have a side gate that permits residents to gain easy access/exit from the hotel onto Herbert St.
Should you decide to return to the hotel, any of the staff will be happy to direct you and I hope that you will enjoy an even better stay.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    876
    277
    88
    31
See reviews for
582
790
93
349
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Hotel is fine. Great pool - good hours for kids. Location is good for both city and dock area (10 minutes to 15 minutes walk for either.) reason I am unhappy is the fact that I requested a quiet room, and although I know this cannot be guaranteed, we were given a room which had an interconnecting door (502) which meant very poor sound'proofing' as we could hear everything through this door to (501) A normal room on the same corridor would not have had this problem. Was woken at 7 am by a couple arguing which was followed by their children arguing. Phoned down to complain, nothing was done the first time, the second phone call that followed let the people in the neighbouring room who were arguing loudly know that it was us who had complained. I was uncomfortable with this information being shared fas I was staying alone with my daughter. The following nights could hear conversations and children speaking clearly through the door. These people were part of a larger party staying on the same corridor who probably would have enjoyed the interconnecting room. Please sort it out. It rather put a damper on a good stay. Also when I complained at check out I was told 502 was a quiet room. Obviously it cannot be due to the interconnecting door!!

Room Tip: Stay away from 501/502 ensure you do not get a room with an interconnecting door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelmonkey200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry that part of your stay was disturbed by other guests at the hotel and that it was this that put a 'damper on a good stay'.

I am however pleased that you did enjoy certain aspects of your stay including the location and the pool and hope that on reflection you would consider staying with us again for a genuine hassle-free visit.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This hotel is very impressive: a clean, modern converted warehouse conveniently located within the city centre itself (it's also just a few meters away from the train station). Great facilities too: a clean, decent-sized pool, a lovely restaurant with great food, and a well-equipped gym. Oh, and as with all the Novotels I've stayed at, service was outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deniseacole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your excellent review.

It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from guests and I am delighted that your stay was an enjoyable one. I am also pleased that the level of serivce stood out for you and I hope that you may return again in the future.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Between May and October 2013 I stayed at the Novotel Cardiff Centre hotel over 30 times. Quite simply it is a superb hotel with excellent staff. The hotel and rooms are modern with a light, airy and contemporary style. The atmosphere, particularly in the reception and bar areas, is always relaxed and comforting. The food is fresh and well prepared and presented, with the menus being imaginative and varied. Finally the staff, the hotel's best asset. They are consistently professional, helpful and sociable. I'm in danger of going over the top here but it is an extremely good hotel, very competitively priced, and I would highly recommend it to anybody.

Room Tip: If you do use hotels regularly, get a Le Club Accors loyalty card. It doesnt take long at all to bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your excellent review as well as your kind comments and compliments.

I will take great pleasure in sharing this with the staff, who will no doubt be delighted that you consistently have a positive guest experience and rate the Novotel Cardiff so highly.

I hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here in executive apartment with our two boys aged 11 and 14. My boys loved it and the very clean swimming pool and Xbox. The room service is not too great compared to the likes of Thailand but not bad. The breakfast is good with fresh food and bread and worth it. It is ideally located for both the centre and bay. The bay is beautiful and possibly may stay in bay if they have similar amenities in the hotels. Overall value for money for families.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shock123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable family stay at the Novotel Cardiff Centre. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast, swimming pool and XBox facilities to entertain the family.

I hope that on your next visit to Cardiff, you may choose to return for another great stay.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Property: Novotel Cardiff Centre
Address: Cardiff Bay Hotel Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at the Principality Stadium, entertainment at the Motorpoint Arena and plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in the City Centre or Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Restaurant and Bar, well equipped leisure facilities including; superb 15m indoor swimming pool, Resistance and Cardio gyms, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Guests will find free WiFi internet throughout the Hotel. For business needs, we have nine meeting rooms including The Warehouse function room, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 12 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Lastminute, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing