We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is my first negative review. We researched the hotel through Trip Adviser and thought - why not stay here instead of the usual ones in Cardiff when visiting our son.

The booking process through Booking.com was very slick and I made a note on our "booking" to the staff that we had been enthused to book at Novotel due to its reviews.

On arrival: one member of staff at reception and there was a very long line of people, the phone was ringing and he was very flustered - no staff came to help him. We booked in (was interesting to hear other peoples prices....) on reaching the reservation desk I asked for a paper to be delivered to the room the following morning and for a nice quiet room.

Had a really nice afetrnoon in Cardiff and Cardiff bay in the evening, on returning to our room we made ourselves comfortable and thought time for a nice night of sleep - how very, very wrong we where. It was party party party - from 0200hrs onwards - the corridors was full of people talking and shouting - by 0400hrs we had - had enough and rang reception, the gentleman just said - "I have been up a few times - Ok will come up again" by this time it was 0532hrs and that was it could not sleep.

At 0630hrs - I thought maybe our paper has arrived so popped head out of door - no paper, same again then on each 30mins - checked out around 0830hrs - told reception, no apology except - we hold the papers here at reception, you should have come down.

No apology for the noise, nothing; nada for the poor service - the worst hotel we have stayed in Cardiff

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rudenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

I was very dissappointed to understand that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Having investigated the noise issue that you encountered, I note that the perpetrators were evicted from the hotel and sincerely apologise that this played a large part in your opinion of the hotel.

I will to discuss your additional comments with the Front Office Manager and the rest of the Management Team and hope that on reflection, we may have the opportunity to welcome you back where we can provide you with the type of satisfation that the majority of our customers experience.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,304 - 1,310 of 2,264 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
5  Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
4  Thank sherbus65
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel 6th December 2013 for the weekend. Although the hotel did not reserve a disabled parking space as I had requested the weekend was quite memorable due to the excellent facilities of this hotel. We booked a superior double room (208) and it was just as described. The room service was great insomuch as speed of delivery of extra milk sugar and coffee. We used the pool and jaccusi and cannot fault either. The food was a little expensive by plentiful. The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and most helpful. The walk to the city centre is as described, only ten minutes and pretty flat. We are intending to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Go for superior double. Great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 608AlanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you had an 'excellent weekend' and that you enjoyed the services and facilities of the hotel.

I hope that I may have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed overnight here and were quite disappointed with the hotel especially as it is seemingly the 8th best in Cardiff. For the price of £115 the room and facilities were very basic.

The bed was made poorly and was in need of an iron and lacked a separate flat sheet which would have been appreciated especially with the synthetic duvet. Other basic things were missing such as a working towel rail and extractor fan in the bathroom and the sound on the television wasn't very good quality. The bathroom was also quite dated and dirty with mould on the tiles and shower screen. This aside the walls or perhaps just the dividing door made all of the late night antics of our neighbour seem as though they were in our room, especially his midnight bath and the sound from his television.

The leisure facilities were also lacking a few basic items such as plastic bags in the changing room for wet bathing suits and a clock in the pool area. I also didn't find it particularly nice that it overlooked the car park and everybody walking into the hotel could look in.

I have to say though the staff and service were very welcoming and friendly and the breakfast and the light snack I had in the bar were delicious.

Perhaps we just had a bad room in a bad position (239) as it was very noisy with doors slamming all through the night but I wouldn't stay again on the off chance we got a good room.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Shongile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay.

I was disappointed to read that you did not have the type of stay that we aim to deliver. Please accept our apologies for the impression that you were left with.

Just to clarify on some of the points made;
- The towel rails that used to be connected to the mains supply were disconnected for the safety of all guests.
- Each bathroom has an extract fan, but will be duly checked and addressed by the Maintenance Dept. including your other observations.
- The Swimming Pool area has a large wall mounted clock.
- Plastic bags are not supplied for swimming costumes in line with our environmental comittment however, we have swimsuit dryers in each changing room that are fully operational.

Thank you for your compliments regarding the staff service and bar snack that you enjoyed.

I hope that on reflection and clarification of the above points, you may reconsider choosing to return to the hotel, whereupon we will do our best to provide you with a genuine hassle-free stay.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Myself and 4 friends went to Novotel Cardiff on Fri 6th Dec the food was fantastic much better than any previous hotel events we had attended. The staff were very friendly and attentive overall we had a wonderful evening can't recommend it highly enough will be going back next year!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
6  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for kind comments and compliments.

I am delighted that you had a pleasurable experience at your Christmas Party and that the highlights for you were the service and food quality. I am also pleased that you intend to return next year.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Only stayed for one night but will be back staff were friendly and polite, food was good, drinks a bit pricey but the location was quiet and one of the best nights sleep I ever had. Rooms were clean and tidy as well as functional.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your excellent review.

I am delighted that you were pleased with the serivce, food, room cleanliness/functionality and that you had the 'best nights sleep' ever!

I hope that next time, you will enjoy another great stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,394 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
1,516 reviews
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Address: Cardiff Bay Hotel Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £60 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at the Principality Stadium, entertainment at the Motorpoint Arena and plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in the City Centre or Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Restaurant and Bar, well equipped leisure facilities including; superb 15m indoor swimming pool, Resistance and Cardio gyms, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Guests will find free WiFi internet throughout the Hotel. For business needs, we have nine meeting rooms including The Warehouse function room, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 12 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Easy Market Spa, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing