We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Nearby Hotels
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$109
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Cardiff(Cardiff)
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Future Inn Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,318)
Filter reviews
2,318 results
Traveller rating
936
931
304
103
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
936
931
304
103
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsx boxexecutive roomswimming poolcar parkthe sofa bedleisure facilitiessteam roomminute walkper daymodern hotelgood sizecoffee machinegreat facilitieschanging roomsreception staffcardiff centrewould stay again
Filter
Updating list...
1,341 - 1,346 of 2,318 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

First impressions count so upon entering our room what hit us first was the smell. We were in room 238 and it had a strong smell of sewerage. After 24 hours with the air con on it disappeared so we didn't report it or ask to be moved. The room only had 2 teabags and I was reluctant to ask for more incase I got charged. Before arriving I rang the hotel and asked how much breakfast would be and the gentleman told me £10 however this is not the case. Its £13.95 for a continental and £16.95 for a cooked breakfast.
I was also surprised at the shoddy workmanship in the bathroom as this hotel is meant to be 4 star.
The pool was lovely though and was a nice temperature, we used the jacuzzi too and found that very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahEvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy certain aspects of your stay and i am investigating your individual comments accordingly.

I am pleased that you did enjoy the leisure facilities and should you decide to return and rest assured, if you require any additional items for your room, the staff will be on hand to provide these for you.

I hope that i may have the opportunity to welcome you back where we will do our utmost to provide you with a genuine hassle-free stay.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This hotel is set just outside Cardiff shopping centre but you can easily walk to the shops and centre in 15 minutes.
We spent 2 nights including New Year's Eve here and overall the hotel was fine
Swimming pool good size and warm.
Breakfasts very good with plenty of choice.
We ate one of the two evenings in the hotel, not busy but food fine if somewhat limited in choice
Only issue was the room, it was fine in itself but we were on the top floor(5th) and I'm a light sleeper and could hear the fans/generators what ever they were on the room space start up about 7 in the morning and hum away!
The rooms are not that well sound proofed like others I have stayed in.
Other only issue was New Years morning when you want a lie in, a family using 2 rooms near us were up and slamming their room doors at 7, went quiet till 8 when they returned from breakfast I assume and doors started slamming again in the corridor!
Overall hotel great but poor room sound proofing.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank globetrotters003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your comments and feedback.

I am sorry that you encountered an issue with noise during your New Year stay and please rest assured that this is being investigated.

I am however pleased that you enjoyed other aspects of your stay including the swimming pool, breakfast and hotel location.

I hope that I may have the opportunity to welcome you both back again in the future.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I chose this hotel for a surprise post-Christmas shopping break for my wife. Located a short walk from Cardiff Central Station (we travelled by train), it was within easy reach of the main shopping area and restaurants. Having reviewed other Tripadvisor posts for the Hilton, I decided not to stay there due to the noise quoted by several reviewers (from night buses and rowdy nightclubbers) and decided the Novotel was a better bet - and considerably cheaper for an equivalent room. It was also good value compared to other local hotels.

The hotel itself is situated in a nicely converted mill, with additional modern annexe. The modern and traditional designs work very well together. We booked an Executive Room, which was situated in the original warehouse and had some exposed bricks around the window (we suspect that the standard rooms might be in the adjoining annexe). The room came with a huge bed (easily enough room for three ... or more!), plenty of space and a nice bathroom with bath and separate shower. The Executive upgrade also gets you bathrobe and slippers, a Nexpresso coffee machine (with 4 coffee pods, 2 of which are decaffinated), bottled water and free Wi-Fi (which we didn't use). The room was perfect for us - clean, comfortable and warm. The outlook was over local apartments, so if you are looking for a hotel with a view over Cardiff, the Hilton or Radisson would be a better bet.

We used the swimming pool (a decent size, clean and nicely lit with relaxing blue uplighting), Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, and also the restaurant. There is a reasonable menu and the food was fine - nicely cooked and well-presented. Our waitress deserves a special mention for being so helpful and attentive, as was the restaurant manager. The breakfast is excellent and worth the extra - plenty of choice and regularly re-stocked. It also benefits from using the larger area of the restaurant which is located in the old warehouse and features the original bricks and cast iron supporting beams, coupled with modern steel lighting gantries and exposed air conditioning ducts. Industrial, very stylish and a design which really makes the most of this historic building. We loved it.

The reception staff were also excellent - friendly, helpful and efficient. In fact, all the staff we came into contact with were very pleasant and actually seemed to enjoy working at the hotel.

Overall, we thought this hotel was perfect for either couples or families - who, we noted, were also benefitting from the X-Box and Internet PCs located next the Reception.

If there are downsides, they would be:

1. Car parking costs extra
2. Breakfast also costs extra
3. The hotel is not in the centre (which is why we ate in for dinner, rather than face a blustery 10 minute walk into town)
4. We would have probably booked a Suite, but the website didn't seem to offer thjs option - we only discovered there were other rooms when we actually stayed at the hotel
5. The lift is a bit slow to arrive! This is unrelated to the busyness of the hotel - it's just slow.

However, these are minor points that didn't detract from our stay (though they are worth mentioning for the benefit of readers of this review)

Room Tip: The Executive Room is probably worth paying a bit extra for.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mal_bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your experience.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Novotel Cardiff Centre and the highlights for you included the location, your Executive room, leisure facilities and service received.

I hope that I may have the opportunity to welcome you both back again very soon.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews