We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Cardiff Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Ranked #9 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed two nights. Nice Hotel. I liked the feel of the place. Stayed later at the Novotel in London, which sported the same interior. The surroundings are not much to write home about. It's a 10 minute walk into town, bars and shopping. Seemed a bit longer doing it in the rain or while schlepping the luggage to/from train station. Did not take advantage of the facilities, bar, restaurant. It wasd more fun to go into town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 920dm66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Novotel Cardiff Centre.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your trip to Cardiff and that we were able to play a part in your visit. I hope that should we have the opportunity to welcome you back that you will be able to experience all the services and facilities that the Hotel offers.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    824
    259
    75
    25
See reviews for
552
736
91
328
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

It was ok a bit pricey and the food was good bitt dissapointed because the tvs were trieing to charge you loads extra the lifts kinda dangerous they arent meny fire escapes swiming poole is the best my rating is very good

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beau H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your rating following your recent stay.

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit and hope that I may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last Saturday so we could attend a gig at the Metro Arena. It's a fab location just a 10 minute walk from the arena or Millenium Stadium and only 5 minutes from the city centres bars and shops, but still surprisingly quiet.
The staff were very friendly and polite and the room was very comfortable and clean. Unfortunately we didn't use the spa as it was a lovely sunny weekend so we spent our day at the mermaid quay in the bay (highly recommend for lovely restaurants and walks/boat trips - just 15 mins or so walk from the hotel). But the pool looked lovely and inviting.
We were pleased to find our Queens room had a large balcony which was unexpected and a lovely bonus for such a sunny weekend.
We will definitely stay here again for out next visit to Cardiff. We're planning to bring the kids next time as there's a great looking science centre at mermaid quay that they would love!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank cityt0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your excellent review and rating.

I am delighted that you both had a great stay with us and thatyou were pleased with your room, location and service.

I hopt that next time, you will be able to enjoy the leisure facilities and that you will return again very soon.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Had an enjoyable stay as part of a short break with my wife in Cardiff. Facilities are good, with nice pool and decent gym. Bar area maybe lacks a little character. Executive rooms are comfortable and spacious. Although expensive, the breakfast is excellent - fresh food, buffet style and relaxed setting. Convenient location, albeit in rather unexciting surroundings. Staff friendly and courteous. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank keadma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that the highlights for you included; the leisure facilities, your Executive room, the breakfast, Hotel location and level of serivce.

I hope that you will both choose to return to the Hotel again very soon.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was our fourth stay at this Novotel ... it's positioning just five minutes walk from the St David Centre and the centre of Cardiff makes it ideal ... parking is affordable at just £9 per day for residents ...

Staff were excellent .. as was the (expensive) buffet breakfast - and th ebed was lovely and comfortable (but very hot ... we had to sleep with the windows open onto the busy main road outside) but sadly the hotel is beginning to look as if it needs some tlc ... paintwork damaged in the rooms and corridors ... cheap fittings in the shower ... the upgraded to an Executive Room gave us a lot of empty space ... free wifi (I do think its time 4* hotels stopped charging this as an "extra") ... a Nespresso coffee machine which didn't work properly and (wait for it) ... a complimentary bottle of water! Yahoo!

The pool, sauna, jacuzzi etc are very nice ... but can get very crowded

All in all we still like the Novotel ... but at nearly £300 for two nights it's at the upper end of the Cardiff City hotel scene ... I think that's about £100 too much for what you get

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face onto the main street and can be noisy with the windows open
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LloydyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback.

I am delighted that you chose to return for your 4th visit and thank you for your compliments regarding your service experience.

I also note you additional points to be addressed and please note that free WiFi is available throughout the whole hotel.

I hope that I may have the opportunity to welcome you both back again in the future for a wholly enjoyable visit.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Good clean hotel, close to city centre. parking @£9 a day a bit pricey I thought but as I say, it is close to city.

breakfast normal buffet style. Not sure whats in the scrambled egg - doesn't taste like the eggs I make, and what was the mystery element in the Mushrooms as breakfast - vinegar ?

Having said that - i stuffed myself, so it wasn't that bad.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank michaelharriott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Cardiff overall and I hope that you will choose to return again in the future.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Property: Novotel Cardiff Centre
Address: Cardiff Bay Hotel Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at the Principality Stadium, entertainment at the Motorpoint Arena and plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in the City Centre or Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Restaurant and Bar, well equipped leisure facilities including; superb 15m indoor swimming pool, Resistance and Cardio gyms, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Guests will find free WiFi internet throughout the Hotel. For business needs, we have nine meeting rooms including The Warehouse function room, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 12 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing