We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No fault with the hotel itself, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The hotel well designed, clean, attractive, but...5 or 10 minute walk to city centre? 15 to Cardiff Bay? I asked at the front desk, "Can I walk to the city centre from here?" Reply "No." I asked "is there any shopping or a grocery store nearby?" Reply "No." I asked "Can I walk to the bay from here, is it far?" Reply "you can walk there if you want." And with the wave of the hand I was dismissed. What the man at the desk should have said was "I recommend that you not go out alone at this time of day." But he didn't, so I headed down to the bay early in the am, got turned around, no signage for walkers, major highway to cross, not pedestrian friendly, the homeless camping out on the streets, I turned around and headed straight back to the hotel, never saw the bay area. AVOID the Atlantic wharf area at night and early morning. Later that day I found out that a couple in my tour group walked to the bay, took them 30 min. each way as not easily walkable and they got lost too. So as lovely as this hotel is, I wish my tour group had stayed at one closer to the city centre as all I saw of Cardiff was the castle and the homeless camping in the Atlantic wharf area. Which to be fair, the homeless did not bother me, but still not an area to be walking about.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mrmisrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay.

I am sorry that the location did not meet your satisfaction during your visit and apologise for the responses you have reported to have received.
Whilst the area has undergone changes to road layouts and pedestrian signage, I will duly investigate and report to the local council, whom are responsible for this.

I hope that you did enjoy other aspects of your stay and that were under our control.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,185 - 1,191 of 2,264 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

stayed for a business trip for 2 nights and met a number of people in the bar area which worked perfectly. staff very friendly and helpful although the whole place is clearly so well run, that there were no problems that needed any attention. the rooms are what you expect but the bar area and restaurant are in a converted warehouse so look good as well. good location and 5-10 mins walk into central cardiff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank MarkG7473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the level of service experienced. I am also pleased that you were happy with the Hotel location, rooms, bar and restaurant.

I hope that you will choose to return again very soon.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
15  Thank lakegirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel with good service, breakfast and housekeeping. Good location with the city centre being a ten minute walk and the bay about 15.... Me & my wife enjoyed the walk to the bay! Also, very close to the train station.
The air con did not work the last day, but the staff responded quickly and offered to shift us to a new room. We asked for fans, which were immediately brought in.
Best part: the staff!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
15  Thank parthkembhavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you had a good stay with us and that the location, breakfast, houskeeping and sevice stood out for you during your visit.

I apologise that there was an issue with regard to your air conditioning, but pleased that we were able to offer assistance that was satisfactory to you.

I hope that should you choose to return to the Hotel again, I may have the opportunity to welcome you both back.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

It was a pleasure to stay here on a recent 2 day work trip although it would serve equally well for a leisure visit. The swimming pool was lovely. Breakfast & food from room service offered good choice to the same high standard as the restaurant. I have recommended it already to another colleague.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank newalls2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your excellent review and recommendation.

I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay at the Novotel Cardiff Centre and that the highlights for you included the cuisine, service and leisure facilities.

I hope that I may be able to welcome you back next time.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here many times and in many other Cardiff hotels- we usually come to Cardiff every 6-8 weeks for leisure time.

Firstly, location is better now John Lewis has been developed- prior to that it felt like a hike to town and the Bay. Car parking is plentiful but I do feel the prices for guests have risen steeply since coming here. Much like the Bridge- seems to rise every time we come!!

We had a family room and it was, in the main, well presented. Although there were stains on the spare bed mattress - it was not folded out on arrival, so my son saw the stains as we opened it up- he was very unhappy so I ended up sleeping on there. Not ideal but c'est la vie. The chair looked like it had people sitting on it straight from the shower -it was badly watermarked. The bathroom was adequate. A shower over the bath. Water pressure was pitiful. I must say that mould and mildew in bathrooms is a real no-no for me so that was disheartening to see. A bit of bleach would soon remedy the problem.

The television was lovely and new! Struggled to hear it at the highest set volume, I can understand why this has been done, but it was very low.

The housekeeping service were very efficient and polite. I requested extra pillows and this was accommodated immediately. Fantastic.

We did not breakfast here so unable to comment from this stay, but it usually is lovely and plentiful.

The Pool facility is a bonus - changing rooms are modern and refurbished -Pool area is in the main, nice, but it got very full and the children incessantly splashing was not fantastic. I have young children and this was upsetting them and me. The jacuzzi didn't feel terribly clean so I came out quickly.

The big downside of the trip for me was the fire alarm that went off. Twice it went off then stopped- I tried to ring reception to check that all was ok as it had stopped but couldn't get through. Then the third time it was continuous ... We followed the evacuation procedures and there was a sense of panic and hysteria on the floor we were staying. I told my boys to remain calm and follow the fire exits. We did this, however were disappointed by the lack of staff -they no where to be seen and lack of direction was palpable. I am not expecting staff to remain in the building, but perhaps ushering us to the assembly point on the outside would have been helpful.

When outside I was disappointed that no one checked us off on a list and there seemed to be no plan in place at all. Eventually a very courteous and diligent gentleman called Jonas (I judge by his apron that he was from the dining room) went around letting people know that there was no need to panic and that it was a false alarm. I observed that he did this off his own back with no instruction from management. His communication was very much appreciated and his initiative saved them from many complaints. I hope management recognise this.

There appeared to be at least two senior managers on, the general manager and another, perhaps, shift manager. I do not understand why one of them could not have adopted a more sensible approach to the evacuation and management plan.

This safety episode worries me greatly, and for this I would have to consider if I would return.

As an aside, my son is asthmatic and very allergic to animal hair. I noted that a small dog appeared from one of the rooms. I was not aware that the hotel permitted animals, if we were in a room that was not vacuumed throughly, this could have potential to cause allergies to flare and ruin the stay. Another consideration I will have to make when booking a Cardiff hotel again.

Sadly a mixed bag review. When we used to come here previously the review would have been all 4 and 5 star assessments.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eleanor2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

Whilst I am pleased that you continue to return to the Novotel, I am sorry that on this occasion that your experience was a 'mixed' one in terms of satisfaction.

I will address each of your points individually with the Management Team and thank you for sharing your experience. I was concerned that you have expressed unease with the evacuation as we have received positive feedback from other guests as well as the Fire Officers on this date. Please rest assured that staff undergo regular and thorough training and all feedback is incorporated into continually reviewing our procedures. I note that the member of staff whom you spoke with at the time communicated with you as instructed by the Duty Manager.

In addition to this, we do allow guests to bring family pets with them that is covered by our Pet Policy and that in accordance with this, there is a strict cleaning schedule adhered to during and following their stay.

I am however pleased that you and your family did enjoy other aspects including; the service, location and that breakfast is consistant with previous stays.

If you wish to discuss any other points of your stay, please do contact me on 02920 475000 where I will be happy to discuss them with you.

I hope that on reflection, you may choose to return to the Hotel again for a genuine hassle-free stay to which you have been accustomed to.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,394 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
1,516 reviews
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Address: Cardiff Bay Hotel Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £60 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at the Principality Stadium, entertainment at the Motorpoint Arena and plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in the City Centre or Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Restaurant and Bar, well equipped leisure facilities including; superb 15m indoor swimming pool, Resistance and Cardio gyms, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Guests will find free WiFi internet throughout the Hotel. For business needs, we have nine meeting rooms including The Warehouse function room, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 12 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Easy Market Spa, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing