We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Ranked #10 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wales UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Service not great”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here recently as we were in Cardiff for a concert. When we arrived on Thursday night rushing as we needed to get ready for the concert we were kept waiting almost 10 minutes before being seen to at the reception desk. This is not acceptable for a 4 star hotel. The lady did apologise and said they were busy but even though she could see us waiting she continued to make small talk with the customer.

The room was ok, clean. The hotel is good if you can get a cheap deal and you are only staying a night or two.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAC42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry that the overall enjoyment of your stay was influenced by the delay of your check-in.

I am pleased however that you did enjoy other aspects including your room and the cleanliness.

I hope that on reflection, you may consider returning, where we will do our utmost to provide you with the level of service that we aim to deliver.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    832
    261
    79
    25
See reviews for
561
744
92
330
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I'd booked th novotel based on th favourable trip advisor reviews, maybe I'd just been unlucky, but I found my stay to be disappointing.

My room was shabby and in need of upgrading, th scatter cushions were in frayed , the bathroom had rust around th taps and the plug hole. I found a hair in the bath tub, a sticky residue on th hair dryer and and strange marks in the tired scatter cushions.

Front desk were helpful upon check in, but not when I enquired about upgrading my internet, I was more than happy to pay the upgrade fee (the free wifi is painfully slow) but was told 'you have to wait 24 hours to do that...'. The room service however was tasty and the staff I dealt with on th phone to order we're helpful.

The location of the novotel isn't great either, I walked approx 1 mile from the train station along main roads, across roundabouts and under flyovers, there are no shops or restaurants near by.

The lobby looked v nice as did the fitness centre and gym, however, didn't make up for the poor room.

I won't be staying again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy01302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay.

I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations and I will discuss your comments with the Housekeeping Manager to take the necesary action.

I am however pleased that you were happy with the service, the room service, cuisine and leisure facilities.

I hope that on reflection, you may consider returning to the Hotel, where will will do our utmost to allocate a room to your satisfaction.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I went to Cardiff for the rugby and this hotel was chosen for me. I certainly would not have chosen it. The reason being the charge they put on for having the ordacity to arrive in a car and your car in their car park.
£9.00 a day. That is on top of what they charge for the room etc.
The room is fine the breakfast was fine, but that parking charge stuck in my throat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry that your overall stay was affected by the parking charge. This is in line with other City Centre hotels and whilst I hope that other aspects of your stay were enjoyable, I duly note your comments.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake county
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Not sure if I stayed at the same place as the others who have written - but this place IS NOT a place to stay for business. Kids running. yelling and slamming doors...looks, feels, smells,,,dirty and unkempt. Right on very busy and very noisy highway/street. But then the street noise nicely drowns out your neighbors - you have to choose. Room was run down and looks dated...I think the walls are supposed to be white, but are marked up with the hand prints of god knows what from god knows who...so it was pretty grimy-looking...yuck!! A beat up looking pull out couch with no coffee table was also in the room.. I've seen better thrown out in alleys. The carpet was hammered and looked stained and had what I am assuming were cigarette burns. Ate here since I was too tired to walk all the way to town for a decent place to eat. Food was ok for a hotel and staff were pretty nice, nothing special. There is a Marriott and Radisson pretty close, with what I am certain are better rooms. Maybe its more, but I'd rather pay that for better ammenities (like a decent desk and chair...had a 'kitchen' chair that was too low for the super puny 'desk'). At least they provided soap.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reddogbluedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay.

We appreciate all opinions of the Hotel as this gives us the opportunity to continuously review our products and serivces.

I am sorry that on this occasion, you were unhappy with certain aspects of your stay and will duly investigate and action where appropriate.

Best regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The best aspect of this hotel is the food, whcih was surprisingly good for a run of the mill hotel.

The hotel is located about a 20 mins walk from the train and bus stations, so the hotel is slightly isolated on the outskirts of central Cardiff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the cuisine at the Hotel and other aspects of your stay.

I hope that you may choose to return again to the Novotel again in the future.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Rooms, social areas, bar and restaurant are all up to Novotel's good standard but the hotel is not as "centre" as the title suggests. As a Novotel fang, I would use my other loyalty card and stay at the Holiday Inn Cardiff Centre because it.... well, is.... Centre, with easy quick access to bars and restaurants.

It does have the benefit of a pool, gym and sauna, with Holiday Inn Centre doesn't, so that may make a difference.

I thought that having to pay £9 a night for the car park rubbed in the inconvenience of not being able to walk to amenities in minutes. The Bay area is quite accessible, however, and that offers visual interest and various eateries.

A wine list starting at £19 seems cheeky, though the bottom-list wine at that price was good. It would have been better at £15, and still accompanied the very good goats cheese souffle starter.

Staff all courteous and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PT167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

I am pleased that you were happy with your room, bar, restaurant, service experience and leisure facilities but I'm sorry that you felt the location did not meet the needs of your visit to Cardiff.

The Novotel Cardiff is ideally located for guests who wish to visit the Cardiif Bay and City Centre areas as it is located between the two.

I hope that should you intend to return to Cardiff to visit both areas, you may consider returning to the Novotel and that I may be able to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over the Heineken Cup weekend - I would have enjoyed it more at the normal price! That said, the hotel was comfortable, quiet, and blessed with helpful and attentive staff. We had a pleasant lunch in the bar and enjoyed the good service. Breakfast was equally good - so often plates are cleared too slowly or coffee is too late coming. Not so here - spot on service with a smile despite the restaurant being busy. £200 less ( the normal rate) and I'd have given 5 stars!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the comfort, lunch, breakfast and service experienced.

I hope that you may choose to return to the Hotel in the future either during an event or perhaps when an event is not happening in the City. I achnowledge that the rates can vary but I hope that I may have the opportunity to welcome you back next time.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
2,131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
2,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Property: Novotel Cardiff Centre
Address: Cardiff Bay Hotel Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at the Principality Stadium, entertainment at the Motorpoint Arena and plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in the City Centre or Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Restaurant and Bar, well equipped leisure facilities including; superb 15m indoor swimming pool, Resistance and Cardio gyms, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Guests will find free WiFi internet throughout the Hotel. For business needs, we have nine meeting rooms including The Warehouse function room, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 12 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing