We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happily surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Ranked #11 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Happily surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

After reading bad reviews on trip advisor I really was getting slightly worried about the birthday trip I had planned to Cardiff with my boyfriend. After arriving at Cardiff central station, we decided to chance walking to the hotel and we got there after around 10 minutes of relaxed walking (what's the fuss about? The walk was easy and short!!) Upon arrival I was greeted warmly with a birthday card and was checked in and up in the room within 5 minutes. The room was on the fifth floor and it was absolutely gorgeous. It was clean and dirt free, the water power in the shower and the bath were both excellent (yet another thing I've seen complaints about!). We didn't hear any noise from the main road or any of the other rooms, regardless of there being a door adjoining ours to the next room. The leisure facilities were divine - clean and very modern! The bed was extremely comfortable and I honestly slept like a baby and fell asleep within 10 minutes of lying down! The next morning we had the pleasure of breakfast, we arrived at 09:15, 45 minutes before closing time and were the last to leave but even at 09:45, the food was plentiful and being replenished when necessary and everything was hot - it tasted lovely too and there was a variety of hot and continental foods available. I also went into the bar for a piña colada and that was lovely, the interior and atmosphere were gorgeous too. I have absolutely no complaints about this hotel and the staff are a real pleasure. This is the best hotel I've stayed in in the UK and I will happily be returning, we didn't want to leave!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
16 Thank Safie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable birthday weekend in Cardiff and at the Novotel Cardiff Centre.

I am also pleased that you were able to acknowledge that whilst reviews tend to be subjective in nature, you were able to judge for yourself and were pleased with your experience.

I hope that I may have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    834
    261
    80
    25
See reviews for
562
745
92
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I am a very frequent flyer on a major airline. They regularly offer me to try hotels in exchange for some of my zillion miles. I wanted to visit Wales so I selected the Novotel in Cardiff, convinced that a well-located historical warehouse transformed into a multiple stars hotel could only reserve good surprises. Let me pause there, to assess what such booking actually means in brand terms: a major airline makes a deal with a major hotel chain so that the latter hosts some of the former’s best clients. One would therefore logically believe that the manager of the selected hotel would do his utmost best to please those clients, with a view to make both brands shine in the eyes of that very good client...

That is unfortunately not the option selected by this particular hotel manager, who found nothing better than giving me what is probably (I hope) the worse room in the entire hotel: right above the entrance (so that one gets the noise of all the people coming out for a smoke); right next to the swimming pool (which means that the room is both noisy and very smelly); and right where cleaning staff seems to find “normal” to leave their cleaning trolley from early to late morning. I suppose that he thought that I was having a "free" room, and should therefore be treated as if he was offering me something...

I had already slept in noisy rooms around the world, so I can easily tolerate this. I had however never slept in a room whose main persistent smell was chlorine, and I can now tell readers that it is not pleasant at all! I even believe that such rooms should be banned altogether: I have left the hotel after 3 nights there, and my eyes hurt for as many extra days from chlorine irritation. Very sad indeed, as except for the fact that the carpets in the hotel are very dirty, the hotel is actually a very nice place, with a nice lobby, a very nice bar, super restaurant with friendly staff, and well-equipped gym and pool.

At this point I was going to give a “1” or maybe “2” to this hotel. However, when I went to reception two nights later to handle another point, the woman on duty asked me how was my stay and after I told her that it was terrible she immediately moved me to another room far away from the pool, so that my last night there would be better. That makes me give an extra point to the hotel: problems always happen in the service industry, and having staff willing and capable of solving them is a very strong point for the company at stake. It would have been better to avoid this by not marketing that terrible room altogether, but at least they fixed the problem later on when I complained about it.

Conclusions: one at Accor might want to ask to the hotel manager of this hotel to go back to marketing school so that he learns how to promote his brand by association; one at Accor should congratulate their staff for being helpful to clients and hence for doing their best to protecting their brand.

Room Tip: Do not sleep in the “modern” wing of the building, which is actually the old / dirty one. The "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPMAAVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay.

Whilst I am disappointed to understand that you were initiallty unhappy with your room, I am pleased that we were able to remedy the issue for you.

Please rest assured that all comments are reviewed by the Management Team for action where necessary but thank you for taking the time to provide your honest feedback.

I am pleased however that you and your family enjoyed the service experience, the lobby, bar, restaurant and leisure facilities.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here while visiting a friend in Cardiff. The hotel was easy to find with parking and only a 5 minute walk into the town centre. We managed to get a cheap rate for a bank holiday stay so for the money it was okay. The room was on the 1st floor looking onto the road however it was triple glazed so we never heard any noise from outside. We did get woken up a few times by noises from doors slamming but expect that in most hotels these days. The room was clean and the bed was really comfortable, we did not have breakfast so cannot comment on the food. Would stay here again if I was in Cardiff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank katie66Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit over the Bank Holiday and that the location, value for money and room comfort met your needs.

I am also pleased that you would be happy to return, so I hope that I may have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Excellent location, very inexpensive upgrade to an executive room. Room and facilities within are superb. Pool, sauna and steam room great and although I didn't make use of the fitness centres they looked very good. Close walking distance to town and Cardiff Bay. Would definitely stay again x

Room Tip: Pay the small extra for an upgrade. Otis worth it for the Nespresso machine's excellent coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank marthasperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and recommendation.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience during your stay at the Novotel Cardiff Centre. I am also pleased that the highlights for you included; the location, Executive upgrade and value for money in addition to the leisure facilities.

I hope that I may be able to welcome you back next time.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

In fairness it's not what I expected from a four star hotel,yes it had a pool etc, but the bar was not very friendly or inviting and we waited a long time just to check in!!! I have to be honest you could probably do better at a travelodge or premier inn for half the price!! The room was nothing special and not even enough pillows I won't go back I'm afraid.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bones1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry that you did not like the Bar area and experienced a delay with your check-in and that these affected your overall opinion of the Hotel.

Please note that all bedrooms are equipped with pillows on the bed with additional in the cupboard and should anyone require any more pillows, we will be happy to provide them upon request.

Thank you for sharing your experience and I hope that should we ever have the opportunity to welcome you back, please rest assured that we will do our best to ensure that you enjoy a hassle-free stay.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Property: Novotel Cardiff Centre
Address: Cardiff Bay Hotel Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at the Principality Stadium, entertainment at the Motorpoint Arena and plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in the City Centre or Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Restaurant and Bar, well equipped leisure facilities including; superb 15m indoor swimming pool, Resistance and Cardio gyms, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Guests will find free WiFi internet throughout the Hotel. For business needs, we have nine meeting rooms including The Warehouse function room, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 12 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing