We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa great, some staff not great at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Swanage
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Spa great, some staff not great at all”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our second trip here as we had a great time last time we came.
Unfortunately we were informed by our friendly Spanish check-in lady that breakfst would be £10 each but the British man who checked us out ( early and he did not askwhy or if everything had been ok) asked for payment and when I requested a print out he clealrly looked bored at my request and was very off. I then discovered that we had been charged £29.30 for ourr breakfast a. As he had bbeen so dismissive I did not follw this up but it s clear that the staff do not all know what the appropirate rates are and the attitude of the man checking ous out was not appropriate for someone in a guest-facing role.
Also key cards didn't work on numerous occasions and dirty plates and glasses wewre left outside rooms on our corridor and not cleared away for hours which made it look rather squalid.
Resturant meal was nice as was the lady serving, breakfast was good but as mentioned earlier, price was not what we were quoted.
All in all rather a disappointment and we were not sorry to leave early.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SuperMumio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay.

I am sorry that your experience on this occasion did not match your previous stay. I am currently investigating all of your comments with the relevent departments for immediate improvement.

I hope that on reflection, you may consider returning to the Hotel with your family where we will endeavor to demonstrate to you the quality of stay that you have been accustoed to in the past.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    869
    273
    86
    30
See reviews for
576
781
93
349
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here just for one night, easily found and great parking. Had paid a little extra for an superior room, but it was really lovely, spotlessly clean and the most comfy bed!!l Managed to use the pool twice, beautifully clean and sat in the friendly bar for an hour. Paid extra for late check out, and was a little disappointed therefore when housekeeping knocked on my door (I could have left the do not disturb sign on, but did not think it necessary) A nice walk to the city centre. Would definately choose this hotel next time, and maybe even have breakfast this time!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank devonlilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback and compliments.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the highlights for you included, the ease of access, location,cleanliness, room upgrade and leisure facilities.

I hope that I may have the opportunity to welcome you back next time.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Staff on reception, in the bar and the restaurant were all very friendly and helpful. Air-con in room was good and cool (hot weather for once) Nice central location, ideal for shopping and Cardiff bay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels

Helpful?
12 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your great review and rating.

I am delighted to understand that you both had a pleasant stay with us and that you were pleased with the service experienced, air con and location.

I hope that you will choose the Novotel Cardiff Centre on your next visit, for another great stay.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Second year of staying here with my hubby and 2 kids, aged 9 and 6 for a weekend break combined with a bit of work. It was even better this year. Rooms are standard, clean and comfy but were the hotel excels is how it caters for families. Firstly, kids loved the pool, which was never too busy meaning we didn't feel like we had to tell our kids to be quiet or watch out for splashing every 5 minutes. Secondly, they have a kids area near reception with games, books, large cushions and an x-box. Kids eat free at breakfast which is superb - everything you could want. This year they had added a pancake maker, which my 2 loved! The children's 3 course meal deal with soft drink could not be faulted, fresh lovely food presented with care by the chef. Then, if all that wasn't good enough - they gave the kids a small gift at reception when we checked out. In particular a dark haired lady who was working behind the bar was really lovely. All in all, it was a great stay with lovely extra touches and I would definitely recommend it. Location is great too! 15 minute walk east to Cardiff Bay and west to the town centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review.

We were absolutely thrilled to understand that you and your family had a great return visit to the Novotel Cardiff Centre.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the services and facilities that the Hotel offers and I hope that you will consider returning for a third visit very soon.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stay here one night for an event taking place at the Motorpoint Centre. What a great area for a hotel, about 10 minutes walk away from the MPC.
I wished I stayed more than one night as the children loved the pool and all the leisure facilities.
The hotel is modern, style and has exceptional staff. Nothing was too much trouble.

Thank you

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank cydwel074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your excellent review and rating.

I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed a 'great stay' and that the highlights for you included the location, service and leisure facilities.

I hope that you may choose to return again in the future, where I may have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

lovely staff, great facilities, brilliant breakfast, fantastic pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. lovely rooms. very tidy.
Perfectly located with the Bay and town both in walking distance and for all those whovians and woodies (dr who and torchwood fans) this is a perfect place to visit as the dr who exhibition is about 5 minutes away and the rift tower (water tower), Millenium centre and torchwood door are all in the same direction and distance. will definitely be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank BrightonBelle_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your great review.

I am delighted to understand that you and your family enjoyed your visit to Cardiff and that you were pleased with the services and facilities of the Novotel.

I hope that you may choose to return again very soon.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,088 reviews
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Property: Novotel Cardiff Centre
Address: Cardiff Bay Hotel Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at the Principality Stadium, entertainment at the Motorpoint Arena and plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in the City Centre or Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Restaurant and Bar, well equipped leisure facilities including; superb 15m indoor swimming pool, Resistance and Cardio gyms, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Guests will find free WiFi internet throughout the Hotel. For business needs, we have nine meeting rooms including The Warehouse function room, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 12 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing