We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Cardiff Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Ranked #9 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Last night I slept well in this cute hotel near Cardiff Center. It's quiet and great for kids. They offer extra pull out beds, toys, pool and good sized rooms. It's clean and the service is excellent. People are nice. One drawback is that the bathroom does not have lockable solid doors. The doors are frosted windows.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank mamarandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us at the Novotel Cardiff Centre and that the highlights for you included; family friendly element, cleanliness, service and quality of sleep.

I hope that should you return to Cardiff again, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    824
    259
    75
    25
See reviews for
552
736
91
328
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Couldn't ask for anything more. Stayed over the weekend for the speedway staff were very helpful when I arrived as I was in a bit if a rush. Short walk into the city. Leisure facilities well maintained and the room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was enjoyable and a lot to choose from. Parking chargeable at £9 but lower than some other hotels so no qualms. Already booked for next year. See you in 2015 :) .

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your great review and feedback.

I'm delighted that you and your family had an 'absolutely fantastic' stay with us and that you enjoyed the services and facilities that Novotel Cardiff offers.

I look forward to being able to welcome you back next year.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

About 10-15 minute walk to town but all well lit. Not the 'nicest' of areas location but only in terms of picturesque-ness! Many many shops and restaurants as well as museums and attractions.
Lovely pool and small jacuzzi etc nice when its quiet.
Didn't use restaurant but looked appealing!
Comfy beds and simple rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Clair4cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay.

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed the services and facilities of Novotel Cardiff.

I hope that you may choose to return again soon and that I may have the pleasure of welcoming you both back.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This location is good to get to by car, then a bit of a walk into the centre.
It's nice to get out of all the noise and business when you go back to hotel.
Then just over the road (opposite carpark entrance) you can go and stroll around the water.

Parking was £8.00, they also allowed us to park there after checking out for the day.

I paid to upgrade the room to the Exectutive Suite,
but probably wouldn't have bothered now i've been. Seems the only benefit was a coffee machine.. and that wasn't very nice.

A gym and spa is also in the building.. but didn't use these facilities.

Breakfast has a nice big selection, which is being topped up all morning.

Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank idmillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review and rating.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the services and facilities of the Hotel.

Please note that our Executive upgrade includes; complimentary bottled water, bath robe, slippers, Nespresso machine and upgraded WiFi.

I hope that I may have the oppotunity to perhaps welcome you both back again in the future.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This Novotel is used by the coach company's as an overnight stop and therefor quite busy, the service lacked any person skills you felt like you were just part of another mob being shuffled in and out I have stayed with this hotel chain all over the world and this is not the way it should be. On the good side it is close to Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Central Rail Station are all 10 minutes’ walk away, rooms need a freshen up, breakfast was good

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent short stay.

I am sorry that you felt that your stay did not reach your expectations ans please rest assured that we value all feedback to enable us to constatnly review our services and take action for any shortfalls.

I am however pleased that the location of the Hotel and breakfast met your approval and I hope that should we have the opportunity to welcome you back, we will be able to demonstrate our usual high standards.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Property: Novotel Cardiff Centre
Address: Cardiff Bay Hotel Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at the Principality Stadium, entertainment at the Motorpoint Arena and plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in the City Centre or Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Restaurant and Bar, well equipped leisure facilities including; superb 15m indoor swimming pool, Resistance and Cardio gyms, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Guests will find free WiFi internet throughout the Hotel. For business needs, we have nine meeting rooms including The Warehouse function room, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 12 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing