We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Hotel is not to far from both railway /bus station It is easy to walk into the city centre. Hotel reception is light and bright. Staff are helpful and friendly. We had a standard room on second floor it could have done with a couple more draws for clothes. bathroom was clean and everything worked.
The bar prices are very reasonable I have paid more in some flash pubs. Breakfast is very good and I would recommend the restaurant for evening meal if you don't fancy another walk out. The restaurant manager is very helpful.
This is our second stay here and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your review and rating.

I am pleased that you both enjoyed your stay at the Novotel Cardiff Centre. I am also pleased that the location, breakfast and value for money were highlights for your.

I hope that I may have an opporunity to welcome you backa again very soon.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,167)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Cardiff Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,032 - 1,038 of 2,167 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank ChrisTiverton
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Novotel in July as my sister had her wedding reception here. We stayed in an executive room which was extremely spacious and had all of the facilities that we would expect (and more!). The bed was very large and comfortable and the bathroom was very tastefully decorated with an excellent shower. The Bose iPod Dock, coffee machine and free bottles of mineral water were also very nice little extras.
The breakfast was delicious...being pregnant I had to try everything!! The cooked breakfast was gorgeous with the sausages a particular highlight! I LOVED the pancakes with syrup and the choice of cereals was excellent. There was also a wide range of juices and warm drinks. YUM!!
And finally, the wedding reception...all I can say is WOW! From the beautifully decorated room and tables to the stunning array of buffet food available I can safely say that all of the guests were extremely impressed. The staff were very attentive throughout the evening and ensured that everybody was looked after and felt welcomed.
I can't speak highly enough about the hotel and would recommend this to anyone looking for a nights stay in the city or for an unforgettable wedding reception venue...10/10!

Room Tip: I would recommend upgrading to the executive room!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chaz333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments.

We were delighted to understand that your stay 'exceeded expectations' and that you were impressed with your Executive Room and the wedding reception of the happy couple.

I will take pleasure in sharing your feedback with the rest of the Team who will no doubt be thrilled with your appraisal.

I hope that I may have the opportunity to welcome you and your husband back to the Novotel Cardiff again in the future.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Spent a few nights here , mix of business and family time .
Superb fresh , clean hotel , staff so pleasant and helpful , nothing to much trouble .
Rooms spot on , breakfast was just superb , drinks in the bar were cheaper than Cardiff bars . No 'rip off ' mentality here.
No extra charge for our 11 year old son and he even got breakfast thrown in . Swimming pool, gym, sauna, steam room , spa , free wifi and Apple Macs , all thrown in .
Seriously if your looking for a decent hotel in Cardiff , value for money , business or family then check this out . Will definitely look up Novatel in the future , thank you guys , you made our trip to cardiff worthwhile.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Geraint J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your excellent review and recommendation.

I am delighted that your were impressed by the Novotel Cardiff and that the highlights for you included; the service, your room, breakfast, leisure facilities and connectivity.

I hope that you will choose to return again very soon.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Go cardiff every year for family gathering Stay for one night only. I believe this hotel is not 4 stars.

I could hear people talking and walking as they walked through the corridors.

Room was not was ok but I did find a long hair on the bed(not mine)

Towel had a stain and another hair.

Tea cup had dry tea from last use??

2.50 for a 500ml bottle of cheap water. I have stay at other charge less for better water.

Overall the room is ok but not 4 stars standard.

The location of the hotel is good



Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Ada T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy certain aspects of your stay and that you were disturbed by other guests.

At Novotel, we strive for high levels of service and quality and I am sorry that on this occasion, you were not levef with a high overall opinion of the Hotel.

I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in order to demonstrate the usual high standards we achieve.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Top service quality, good size bedroom and very clean, comfortable aircon for hot summer days, nice breakfast buffet, better than Premier Inn mattress (sorry Premier Inn), reasonable walking distance to both Cardiff Bay and city centre, really quiet although next to a main road…

The only downside is the parking charge, not quite right to charge your guests around a tenner for one night but only charge monthly parking pass holders 3 pounds for a day, particularly when there are plenty of free and safe on street parking spaces just 30 seconds away (be aware though, the hotel is next to a small business park, you can't park at the few parking spaces immediately outside the hotel main entrance) :(

Despite having said that, I think the hotel still deserves a 5 star for its overall quality!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
3  Thank JamesBath2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your great review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Novotel Cardiff. I am also pleased that the service quality experienced was a highlight of your stay, along with the room comfort, breakfast and cleanliness.

I hope that you may choose to return again very soon.

Kind regards

Chris Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Floormeister
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,306 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Address: Cardiff Bay Hotel Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £63 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at the Principality Stadium, entertainment at the Motorpoint Arena and plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in the City Centre or Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Restaurant and Bar, well equipped leisure facilities including; superb 15m indoor swimming pool, Resistance and Cardio gyms, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Guests will find free WiFi internet throughout the Hotel. For business needs, we have nine meeting rooms including The Warehouse function room, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 12 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing