We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family leisure break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family leisure break”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Modern clean hotel. Parking was a bonus. Excellent friendly customer service throughout. We had 3 young children in our group and found the hotel child friendly. Lovely pool.
Good position for city centre and Cardiff Bay. The breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: We had a basic double room which was large and included a sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shadrach1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback and review.

I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Novotel Cardiff and that you found your stay 'family friendly' to compliment your service experience.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you all back again very soon.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    860
    878
    278
    88
    31
See reviews for
584
790
93
349
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Benbecula Island, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

What a great place for a wedding. Words cannot express my gratitude to all the staff at this hotel. They made our weekend so special. A special mention for Susanne. An amazing wedding organiser. Truly the best one could ever wish for. She certainly deserves a huge pay rise as she is a huge asset to the hotel. In fact all the staff at this hotel are amazing. From Nella at the front desk to the gentleman ( sorry did not get his name) who officiated at the reception. The food was immense all the guests commented on it from the canapés, wedding breakfast and evening buffet. It was hot plentiful and very tasty. Best wedding food I have tasted. The room was set up beautifully and the accommodation were superb. We had guests come from Canada, Scotland and Ireland to name a few and they all lived the place. My daughters room ( the bride) was fantastic and my husbands and I truly special. We liked it so much that we probably will go back time and time again for a mini break even though we only live 12 miles away.
Breakfast and bar food were excellent. Great value for money.
Facilities also were good e.g gym sauna steam room and pool.
Position excellent- far enough from the city centre so it was never too noisy but within 5 mins walking distance ( and very simple to get to). Also very near the bay. The open top bus / tour stops right outside the hotel too.
To finish I would like to thank once again this amazing hotel for everything they did to make my daughters and son in laws day very special. It was excellent value for money. For anyone who reads this and are thinking of either visiting this hotel or planning a wedding in Cardiff this is an amazing place.
Susanne - thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CHrisCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay and for attending the wedding event.

We were thrilled to understand that you were impressed with the event, your rooms, the staff, leisure facilities, location and cuisine.

I will take pleasure in sharing your appraisal with the rest of the Team which I am sure will delight them and be a great motivation to continue deliving your service experience to all our guests.

I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Great place, modern, elegant, big beds, good service, pool, gym,

All you need for business in and out visit. Nailed what a place needs which is good to see.

Parking is chargeable which is a little disappointing.

Breakfast is a buffet bout good choice and kept fresh.

Will return. 8.5-10 for me.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dudders15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you felt the Novotel Cardiff met your needs during your stay, including the decor, rooms, leisure facilities, service and breakfast.

I hope that next time, we may be able to improve on this for you and that I may have the opportunity to personally welcome you back.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel recently and have to say it a mostly positive experience. Hotel easy accessible if arriving by car and situated between to city centre and bay areas which are the main shopping and socializing areas.

Hotel itself was modern clean if showing few signs of a busy summer. Good facilities including decent Leisure Centre. Very decent breakfasts.

So my main gripe was what I would call inexperience by reception staff. On arrival we were advised at that breakfasts on week days till 10am (actually 10.30am) and weekends till 12midday (actually 11am). When my wife asked could they recommend somewhere for a special occasion it was suggested maybe TGI Fridays and that was it. The Leisure Centre Manager who was present did go out of his way to look up Tripadvisor to come up with some suggestions.

Good but not great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 75Gerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and provide feedback.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall and that the Hotel itself, access, location and leisure facilities met your requirements.

I hope that I may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel whereupon we will be able to demonstrate the high standards we set out to achieve and provide you with an overall excellent stay.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Good hotel within very close proximity to the centre and Motorpoint Arena. Excellent size room. Very quiet, good air con, iron and board, safe and fridge. We asked for an upgrade which was £10 for an executive room, but as there were no executive rooms left we were upgraded to a superior room at no charge and given robes and slippers. Good size bathroom. Very comfortable bed. We had a 3 course dinner included in the price which was very good and as we had to be at the Motorpoint for 7.15 the staff ensured we had a table by reserving it earlier for us and the service for all courses was very quick.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Plymouthss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you both enjoyed your stay with us at the Novotel Cardiff Centre.
I am also pleased that you were happy with your accomodation, value for money and service.

I hopet hat you will choose to return again very soon.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We love to walk so for us location was perfect, around 10 minutes to Cardiff bay and city centre. breakfast and leisure facilities are the best points in this hotel. Plenty of choices in the morning at breakfast time, Coffee Machine available with Cappuccino, Latte, Mocha and you can help your self as much as you want. Good swimming pool, fitness centre and Sauna. Friendly staff, specially the housekeeping and the breakfast staff. Rooms are basic and functional style. We were located at the front, on busy road but did not disturb our sleep at all. Coffee and Tea facilities plus small fridge in room. very good free WiFi . Relax atmosphere. Yes, will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Close1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback.

It was a pleasure to read your comments and to understand that you both enjoyed your visit.
I am also pleased that the location, service, breakfast and leisure facilities stood out for your during your stay.

I hope that I may have the opportunity to welcome you both back personally next time.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales uk
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had 3 rooms for a total of 6 adults and 3 children and so glad we booked it, even though it was a little bit expensive, so worth it.
The reception staff are probably the most professional and friendly I have ever come across, made such a lovely change to be greeted by smiling staff.
The rooms are large and airy and all of ours had opening windows, which was very welcome as it was so hot.
The breakfast was AMAZING !! Every single item of breakfast choices you could possibly want and continually renewed. The children made the most of it and had cereals, fruit, pancakes, pastries AND cooked breakfast, topped off with a choice of fresh fruit juices.
If only all hotels were as good as this one.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina41powell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

I am delighted that you and your family had a 'fantastic stay' which included your service experience, your room and breakfast.

I hope that you will all enjoy another enjoyable visit at the Novotel Cardiff Centre very soon.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Property: Novotel Cardiff Centre
Address: Cardiff Bay Hotel Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at the Principality Stadium, entertainment at the Motorpoint Arena and plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in the City Centre or Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Restaurant and Bar, well equipped leisure facilities including; superb 15m indoor swimming pool, Resistance and Cardio gyms, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Guests will find free WiFi internet throughout the Hotel. For business needs, we have nine meeting rooms including The Warehouse function room, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 12 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Lastminute, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing