We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel with a great pool but a little out of the city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Ranked #15 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 August 2014

If you're arriving in Cardiff at Central Station, you're not quite sure where you're going and you've got bags, I'd recommend getting a taxi to this hotel. It's not THAT far but it's a little bit complicated until you've got your bearings - it's about a 10-15 minute stroll into the centre. The hotel foyer is modern and clean; the staff were OK if a little aloof, but it's been built into a very interesting older building - worth a look! The room was OK; the view over the car park was nothing to speak of but I wasn't there for the views, to be fair. The door to the bathroom was difficult to close which made a bit of a racket if you needed to use it in the night. This was reported when I left though so obviously no issues that it wasn't fixed while we were there. The bed was comfortable and I slept well, despite there not being much soundproofing to block any noise from the corridor outside. The shower worked reasonably well, even if the water pressure could have been a bit better there was plenty of hot water. We had a drink in the bar on our return from dinner in the centre which was pleasant; Breakfast was excellent (the pancake maker in particular was great fun!) and the poached eggs that were available on request were superbly cooked. The pool, spa tub, sauna and steam room were very clean and in excellent condition. All in all, it's a good hotel in Cardiff if you don't mind the walk into town, with all the facilities that you would need.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foxyroadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Front Office Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, I'm also happy to know that you enjoyed using our fitness centre, the bedroom facilities and what we have to offer in breakfast.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bilel Talbi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,065 - 1,071 of 2,241 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

Good location and plenty of parking at £9.00 for 24 hrs. Walking distance to both town and the Bay at around 15 mins .
Breakfast was perfectly reasonable, however had I paid the £15 on the day I would have been very disappointed.
Room wise- simple, clean, bed was comfortable. Had to ask for more towels;only one bath towel between two people originally. Carpet was a bit tired, and a few other areas could be smartened up with a lick of paint.
Staff were pleasant and friendly . Pool area was nice too.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels
1  Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Front Office Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to NOVOTEL Cardiff Centre. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the bedroom carpet, which we will be addressing. Kind regards, Bilel Talbi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

A great hotel with helpful staff and good breakfast. The room was large with single sofa bed and spare bed for kids. Wifi was fast and the breakfast choice excellent with a pancake maker fun for the kids. Pool was busy but clean as we're the changing rooms. We would stay again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Front Office Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your
stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Bilel Talbi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The foyer of this hotel looks great and the breakfast was also good, but that's where it ends. The disappointments started on arrival after booking a twin share room as I was travelling with my mum we were advised they don't have twin share options but could make up a sofa bed which for 3 days was not that comfortable for my mum. The sofa bed was poorly made each day, linen was not replaced and toiletries and toilet paper weren't replaced daily. The customer service we experienced was satisfactory. The kicker was being charged 9 pounds per day to park in the hotel car park, I feel that is highway robbery.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jen80star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Front Office Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback,

I'm sorry that your experience with the room did not meet your expectation and reflected negatively on your overall stay at the hotel.
Please rest assured that your comment had my full attention, your feedback will be shared with the management team with the view to taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.
I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back again for a true and hassle free NOVOTEL Cardiff Centre experience.

Kind Regards,

Bilel Talbi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I only been here once a while back, the rooms are modern with a lot of space and big bathroom.
It was a busy saturday but you can't hear the other people noise, the rooms are very well isolated from the outside noise.
There is a bar on the groend floor whish has a great atmosphere, the price of the drinks are just what you expect from a 4 stars hotel, you name a drink and they have it, great selection tho!
The private carpark it's just outside and it is free.
This hotel it's 4 miles from town centre. The staff are very helpfull, i haven't eat in the hotel restaurant so can give you a review about it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JonnMarques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Front Office Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you very much for writing a review following your recent stay,

We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay at the NOVOTEL Cardiff Centre, specially the quality of the bedrooms and the atmosphere in the bar.
We appreciate your comments and looking forward to welcoming you with us in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Bilel Talbi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Had a really great time in the hotel, nice spacious room (although it was a little stark and empty and had views of the carpark), nice bathroom with shower and separate bath. Also really nice bath and shower freebies. The pool is lovely and the gym is quite big too. Staff we fantasitc, that really stood out, all very lovely and very helpful. Parking will cost an extra £9 for 24hrs, although we were able to keep our car parked until 6pm on the day of check out. Check out was also at midday which is fantastic! The location however wasn't great. We set out for some drinks and dinner in Cardiff bay and it turned out to be quite a walk. In hindsight we should have asked, but it was a good 30 min walk through some rather strange little streets and houses. We got a taxi back to the hotel after discovering the bay area doesn't have much to offer at night and had drinks in the hotel bar and then had room service. For the 24hr room service you can only get tomato and cheese toasties and thai red curry (although both are very tasty).

Room Tip: We had an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maddy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Front Office Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us,

I'm delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and you were pleased with the quality of the room and service you received at the hotel.
We appreciate your feedback and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back with us.

Kind regards,

Bilel Talbi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My husband and I held our wedding here in August 2014. It was an absolutely incredible day and the hotel really played a huge part in that.
From the first emails right through to the main day the hotel especially Suzanne, their planner, were fantastic. We love abroad and so were planning via email or through my parents. They were able to change menus for us or order in chair covers and uplighters. They made our day so special and unique.
The room looked fantastic and the whole team did an amazing job. They made the day run smoothly and it was extremely enjoyable. On the day, we didn't have to worry about a thing.
Our family and friends also stayed for the weekend. We had the suite and it was beautiful. The terrace enabled us to sit outside and enjoy the views all the way down to the bay. The breakfast was also excellent. We were treated so well. It's a short walk into cardiff centre especially now the bridge is open. It brings you within sight of john Lewis. I would recommend this hotel!
Thank you for all your help and are our day absolutely fantastic.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RosieRhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Front Office Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your very kind words. we are glad to hear that you were very happy with the wedding planning.Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted
to hear that you enjoyed yourselves during your very special day. Look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Bilel Talbi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
1,498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Address: Cardiff Bay Hotel Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £56 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at the Principality Stadium, entertainment at the Motorpoint Arena and plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in the City Centre or Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Restaurant and Bar, well equipped leisure facilities including; superb 15m indoor swimming pool, Resistance and Cardio gyms, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Guests will find free WiFi internet throughout the Hotel. For business needs, we have nine meeting rooms including The Warehouse function room, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 12 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing