We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,391)
Filter reviews
2,391 results
Traveller rating
959
962
314
109
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
959
962
314
109
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsx boxexecutive roomswimming poolcar parkthe sofa bedleisure facilitiessteam roomminute walkper daylovely hotelgood sizechanging roomsgreat facilitiescoffee machinereception staffcardiff centreshort break
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 2,391 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed with my husband on Saturday 9th Sept and we were welcomed by a really friendly guy on reception (think his name was Gus) he was super helpful and went over and above especially when our room key didn't work. Our room itself was a little tired but perfectly adequate (but more than one night might have been shades of beige & grey too far!) The toilet seat was super cheap and wobbly too. Breakfast was ok with reasonable choice and the restaurant staff at breakfast were friendly and helpful. This review would have been a 2/3 star but the staff bumped it up to a 4!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Skyedancers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, General Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. We really value your feedback. Kind regards,
Douglas Goncalves
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We were not let down, as soon as we arrived for our son's 16 th birthday we were chuffed, he is autistic, and unknown to us they had put a raspberry cheesecake ready for him to eat on arrival, this was a lovely gesture,
The room was spacious, clean, all that we could want,
Also the pool was fab it was large and enough loungers for the three of us,
Breakfast was plentiful with freshly made pancakes, our son loved them..

Room Tip: Only stayed twice so far, and both rooms were great, no noise
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank julie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, General Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and your son loved the cake. Look forward to welcoming you back!
Warm regards,
Douglas Goncalves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed a Friday & Saturday night whilst visiting our daughter.
Ample car parking right outside the hotel, though it is £12 per night (buried in the T&Cs). Still, probably cheaper than an MCP.
The superior queen room was spacious, light and very clean. Two tub chairs and a table make it comfortable to lounge around whilst watching TV or waiting for wife's hair to dry (unfortunately, a problem I no longer have...)
The spacious bathroom is clean, though not spotless, but rare in having a separate shower and bath (also with shower attached).
There's a hair dryer, mini fridge and safe, plus iron & ironing board (always a great addition!) A Bluetooth (or plug in) speaker is also a cool extra. The bed and pillows are fine.
The bar area is good, beer selection not great, but wine ok. We didn't sample the food, as we prefer to eat out (see other reviews). The prices look pretty steep on the menu in the room; £19 for breakfast? I'd want Michelin Star unicorn sausages for that...
Ask at reception for the key-code to the pedestrian gate onto Tyndall Street. This saves a chunk of time walking around the hotel via the roadway. Once out the gate, cross the road and take the appropriately-named Smart Way, which takes you straight into town and is a brisk 10 minute walk to St. David's shopping centre; it might not quite burn off those steaks and pints and cocktails, but ever little helps, yeah?
All in all, pretty good, and a solid 4 stars.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, General Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. We really value your feedback. Kind regards,
Douglas Goncalves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Our stay at Novotel Cardiff Central was a pleasant one! The hotel's reception boasts a pretty modern atmosphere, offering an area for children to play, and the reception staff was pretty helpful and polite. The hotel's location is a big plus, sitting very close to the city centre, while also within walking distance from Cardiff Bay. Access to the hotel is fairly easy and the carpark is spacious.

The rooms were what you would expect from Novotels, as furnishings are common throughout the chain. Although recently refurbished, they did seem a bit older than expected, however it was by no means a problem. Compared to other Novotels I have to admit that I found the room a tad smaller, but again it was no cause for concern. However, I have to note that the room was darker than I would prefer, as it only had one window. Bathroom fittings, tv, aircon etc were all working fine, while the internet connection was fast enough. One thing to note was that it was requiring reconnection a bit more often that expected.

Breakfast was probably the high point of our stay, we were served by very friendly staff and most of our choices were delicious. Baked beans and eggs were fabulous, bread was very good, cereal were Kellog's. We only found mushrooms a bit below par, but overall breakfast experience was really positive. We also had dinner at the restaurant which is a pub-style diner. We were also quite satisfied with that and it is worth noting that the portions were really generous.

On the downside, we did have a bit of trouble with our baby's buggy, as the room we were given had a few steps to access it. Also, while at on-line check-in we had requested for the air conditioning to be turned off upon arrival, it was set to the lowest temperature. We do appreciate that without it the room could have been scorching hot, but when we arrived it was extremely cold for the baby. In all fairness to the hotel, it may have been the case that the choices we made on the on-line check-in form may have never made it to the hotel's system, so they could potentially have been unaware of our request and age of our child. My recommendation would be to send an email directly to the hotel if you visit as a family and have any special requests.

Room Tip: Make sure you let the hotel know if you are visiting with a baby, as you may be given a room having three steps to access it.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filippos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, General Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Douglas Goncalves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

had a lovely stay, didn't really need to leave the hotel at all. rooms were lovely and clean and spacious. we used the pool in the day then had a lovely evening meal where the food was amazing quality and then us being greedy we ordered room service of chicanes cake and crisps and fruit. also lovely!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Welshy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, General Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Highest regards,
Douglas Goncalves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews