We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality very near to the city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Good quality very near to the city centre”
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Nice comfortable family friendly hotel very near to the city centre (5 minutes walk) and the bay area (15 minutes walk). Rooms are comfortable also perhaps showing a few signs of wear and tear. Nice to find a hotel where the Reception staff are really friendly and helpful and seem to enjoy their jobs!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LloydyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 2 December 2010
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Novotel Cardiff Centre .
I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards,
Wael Elassal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    855
    268
    84
    27
See reviews for
567
766
93
344
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
deeside
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.The hotel was only 5 minute walk to Cardiff city centre and it was a very modern hotel.Reception were very helpful as were the bar and restaurant staff. We had a meal in restaurant which was excellent and breakfast was good.Bedrooms were comfortable and tidy with plenty of room the only down side was the toilet was too close to the shower.There was an excellent gym and pool.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glug666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 24 November 2010
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Cardiff .
I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Cardiff .
Kind regards, Wael Elassal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

We returned from our short break in Cardiff about ten days ago, having enjoyed our fourth stay at the Novotel in eighteen months. We visit Cardiff so that we can keep in touch with family and friends who live in South Wales., and have found that this hotel is ideally situated to walk into the city centre for shopping, dining and entertainment and to walk to the Bay for similar facilities. It can be frustrating to leave Cardiff but having lived and worked in Cardiff in the 80s, I know it was just as bad then!
The daily car parking charge has now increased to £7, but that is still reasonable compared with the cost of parking in Cardiff for several hours.
The rooms are comfortable and well appointed, staff are polite and helpful, and we always enjoy our breakfasts! Also, myu husband looks forward to his use of the swimming pool and sauna. We shall probably be back in 2011.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berksmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Cardiff and I very much hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon when returning to Cardiff.
Kind regards, Wael Elassal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Novotel Cardiff which is located very close to Cardiff's high street. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly during our stay. The room was the normal Novotel family standard with a double bed and a couch which can be turned into a double bed. The pool was the highlight for the kids. The Breakfast was very rich and of decent quality.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dieter65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable.
I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Cardiff Centre again very soon. Kind regards, Wael Elassal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We came to Cardiff for short city break. The hotel terms were reasonable and the staff were very accommodating and some of the hotel's fees appeared to be negotiable which was great in a competitive environment.
The room was large, air conditioned if required with a good TV, useful desk area and the bathroom was smart and clean. The bed was large and comfortable.
The gym and pool were both excellent, free and with good changing facilities.
Breakfast just what we wanted and very well managed.
The bar was friendly and not a over expensive although a tad cold.
Staff and manager were very friendly and always available - could not ask for more!
We enjoyed our stay and would willingly return.
Cardiff city centre is lively and well worth a visit though eating out in the evening seems restricted to a choice of chain restaurants - packed, noisy and with limited menus.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of both the city centre and Cardiff Bay and we enjoyed Swan Lake on Ice enormously!
We came during half term for a short holiday and it was clear that there were a number of families there, (with very well behaved children) doing the same. Given this and the very interesting history of the area in which the hotel is built, it would have been nice to have a little historical information available. Equally, with some very good events going on in Cardiff, an up to date events board / screen - perhaps sourced from the tourist office(?) would have been useful.
We had a very good time.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyfromDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 1 November 2010
Thank you for your positive comments and compliments. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
I have communicated your great feedback with our team who appreciate your comments regarding the friendly and helpful staff at Novotel Cardiff.
I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back again soon.
Kind regards, Wael Elassal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We stayed at the Cardiff Novotel on a Saturday night - one of the few hotels in Cardiff where you can only stay for the one night! The hotel is located near the lively Cardiff Bay area which we walked to for the evening - I would think it would be quite far if you were planning to go out in Cardiff City Centre. The hotel was clean and modern and the staff friendly and helpful. The gym and swimming pool were quite busy but we still managed to use all the facilities we wanted to. Similarily breakfast was busy too but everything was kept fully stocked on the breakfast buffet and our coffee was brought quickly to us. Our room was quiet and although the signage suggested we had to pay £7 per night for parking we weren't charged for this.
We really liked the PC with free internet access in the lobby..all hotels should have this.
A really great hotel! We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReluctantTraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 1 November 2010
Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Cardiff and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Wael Elassal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Property: Novotel Cardiff Centre
Address: Cardiff Bay Hotel Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at the Principality Stadium, entertainment at the Motorpoint Arena and plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in the City Centre or Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Restaurant and Bar, well equipped leisure facilities including; superb 15m indoor swimming pool, Resistance and Cardio gyms, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Guests will find free WiFi internet throughout the Hotel. For business needs, we have nine meeting rooms including The Warehouse function room, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 12 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, ACCOR, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing