We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant closed?!”
Review of Casa Bianca - CLOSED

Casa Bianca
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
hereford
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Restaurant closed?!”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We booked a table for Thursday evening, 2nd May for 6 people by leaving a message on the answerphone for the listed telephone number and getting a call back from a mobile number. When the taxi dropped us off we found that the restaurant was closed and clearly was not operating from 175, City Road any longer. There was nothing on the door to say that the business had moved. We asked businesses nearby but nobody could explain. We tried the listed restaurant number but there was no reply. We found somewhere else to eat and then got a message at 8.30pm from a mobile number saying our booking was now cancelled as a no-show. All rather mysterious!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    12
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surely the best in Cardiff”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I've been meaning to write a review about Casa Bianca for a while now because the place just seems to be getting better and better. The food and service are quite outstanding. Zac and Max instantly make you feel welcome and their recommendations never disappoint. The menu is full of a wonderful choice of authentic Italian foods and wines, while there are plenty of specials to take advantage of too. They do a mid-week special price of £8.95 which is ridiculously good value for money and I really cannot speak highly enough about Casa Bianca. Thankfully it appears to be getting the admiration it deserves on Tripadvisor and I'd recommend booking a table in advance as it looks as if its stock is going to keep on rising!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisandHannah84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice surroundings, nice food, excellent service.”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

My friend and I visited this restaurant on a Saturday night. On first impression, the surroundings were very nice with a classy but warm feel to it.
The two bosses were serving and they were both very friendly and hospitable and a good laugh.
We had mussels to start and it did not seem like it would be enough when it arrived, but they were large mussels and very filling too. Delicious.
I would normally order pizza but I went for the lasagne. I thought this was cooked very well and especially enjoyed the spicy tomato around the edges, but it was just a little too stodgy for me. My friend had the seabass with infused ginger and she very much enjoyed it. The Italian wine was excellent.
Overall I was impressed with Casa Bianca but I do not feel it does enough to make me a returning customer. I would definitely say give it a go though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flamingembargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding italian restaurant”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed at the mercure hotel and went to the casa bianca on city road a short ten minute walk away wow the food was excellent service great and atmosphere intimate and charming would definitely go again when back in cardiff

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cbj77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A taste of Italy”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The food here is to die for! I always have the garlic mushrooms with peppers and chilli to start and my favourite main is spaghetti Marinara, which never disappoints.

We've eaten here together and also with friends and family and every time it is a pleasure as the food is of such a high standard.

It is a bit more expensive than some other restaurants but worth every penny as you leave each time thinking you've had a the best meal!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Bianca also viewed

Michaelston-y-Fedw, Cardiff
Peterston-Super-Ely, Cardiff
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing