We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Just arrived home after a 3 nights stay at the Maldron Hotel Cardiff for my 50th birthday, what a fabulous and modern hotel, Staff are delightful, rooms are clean and a comfortable night sleep, best choice of breakfast I have had in a long while. Location is great for shopping and dinning out. Will recommend the Maldron to friends and family.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 8th floor and the view of the city centre at night was fantastic.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneOsubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Dear Anneosubu,

Thank you for the fantastic review & the time taken to upload some excellent photos on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us & hope you will join us again for your next special occasion.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,147)
There are newer reviews for Clayton Hotel Cardiff
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,867 - 1,873 of 2,147 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2012

We checked into this hotel at the last minute as most of the others in central Cardiff were full, and we managed to get it at a pretty affordable price considering its location and amenities. The hotel and beds were very comfortable and there isn't really anything bad that I can say about it - I've stayed at other 4 star hotels but this one definitely stood out. If I was to be pedantic and was to mention any fault with the hotel and the stay itself, then I could probably say how there was a less impressive view out the window, but that's not as important to me. Rooms are cleaned very well which is always nice to return to after a days gallivanting! One problem that we did encounter however was with the parking - there must have been some misunderstanding as to which car park to park to, as after checking out our discount ticket was being rejected by the machines in one of the NCP car park which we were parked at. We phoned them up saying that the ticket wasn't working, but we were told that we had parked at the wrong one and that we wouldn't be able to get the 20% discount - if you are driving then make sure you park at the correct NCP car park!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottgreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Dear Scottgreig,

I appreciate the excellent review & photo you uploaded on tripadvisor. As a relatively new 3 star hotel we understand how important our guests are and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.

On a return stay to Cardiff I hope you will stay with us again & prior to arrival please contact our reservations team who would be delighted to allocate you one of our front facing rooms with views of Cardiff city.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stayed for two nights in cardiff. Hotel was excellent. Very clean and modern. Hotel was spotless. Staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. Location is excellent - within walking distance of shops durning day and bars/resturants at night. Train & bus stations also only a short walk away. Breakfast was excellent and aging dinning area spotless. stayed on 9th floor, great view of city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Dear John M,

Thank you for your fantastic review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you found our staff to be friendly & our facilities to be clean. I will pass your excellent comments about breakfast onto our kitchen team who take great pride in their food.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Very enjoyable weekend in Cardiff the hotel was good with nice clean rooms and good facilities - excellent breakfasts - very central close to railway station and bus station and city centre. The staff were very helpful and friendly at all times.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Dear Mikmowbray,

Thank you for your brief but fantastic review and the photo from the Millennium stadium. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to any return visits you might have to Cardiff.

Warm regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

After a couple of not so great experiences in Cardiff hotels, this is one to go back to!

A triple room was a great price, and was lovely and clean. Right next to the station and the main street, great location, and bathroom was modern with a powerful shower. Had a bath one day which was lovely, especially as they supply Dove bubble bath! Not at all disturbed by the railway next to the hotel, only down side was we couldn't get the air con to work properly and windows didn't open so was rather hot.

Plenty of room for three in the room, staff were friendly and let us leave our bags behind while we went out picnicking on our last day. Rooms always cleaned to a high standard. Unfortunately didn't have time to try the swimming pool!

Would definitely recommend this hotel and will be going back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluescarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Dear Bluescarlett,

Thank you for taking the time to write your excellent review on tripadvisor. As a new hotel we are constantly trying to improve our standards. I have passed your comments, reference our Air con, onto the Maintenance team who are currently having all units serviced.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay & hope to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We checked in Friday for 1 night with a traditional welsh breakfast. It was a continental breakfast. I wanted to try the lava bread I think it's called, been a vegetarian.

It was the ideal location, ltierally minutes walk from the train station.

The staff were very welcoming. We was on 8th floor. The view was ideal as it overlooked the local bars shops etc.

I feel the only downfall was the air con in the room was very temperamental it wouldn't work properly. We was cold when we arrived, then absoloutley roasting all night. As your not able to open the windows understanably as it was 8

The room had an iron and the ironing board in the room which was really good, it didn't have any shampoo etc, just moisturising cream, I'm glad I had my own.

Certainly recommend this hotel, I would re visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pamm_friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Pam_friends,

Thank you for your fantastic review on tripadvisor. We appreciate the time taken to write your comments.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be welcoming.
I will pass your comments onto the Front of house team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Maldron Hotel in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This hotel is perfect for visiting Cardiff by train as it is located mere steps away from train station and from Mill Street with all the restaurants and bars. The room was spotlessly clean and we had a great view across the city being up on the 10th floor. I liked how there are no tiny bottles of toiletries, instead there is Dove branded hand soap and showers gel in pump dispensers on walls of bathroom. Saves messing with diddy bottles and much greener. Breakfast was good, lots of hot choices and all self service. All the main areas of hotel are well kept like the reception and all hotel staff were really friendly and helpful. Only one issue during our stay the elevator on the left does not stop at floor 10 and every time we came back to hotel we always seemed to get that lift. Having a laugh about it with the staff who suggested we get off at floor 11 to walk down a flight of stairs rather than walk up from 9.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ribby34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear Ribby34,

Thank you for your fantastic review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay & have passed your comments onto the team. They really appreciate the time it takes to leave feedback.

I have reported the problem with the lift to our maintenance team who will get this rectified.

I hope I can welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.0 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.7 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff

Address: St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1GD, Wales (Formerly Clayton Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £58 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff, in Cardiff city centre opened on the 16th May 2011. Principality Stadium is only a short walk from the hotel. The 12-story Clayton Hotel Cardiff comprises of 216 air-conditioned guest rooms as well as bar, restaurant and meeting rooms. Facilities at a glance: •216 air-conditioned guest rooms• FREE wireless internet access•Cardiff city centre Hotel•View Restaurant and Bar•Dedicated Business centre - 7 state-of-the-art Cardiff conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing