We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hen weekend in Cardiff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hen weekend in Cardiff”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

8 of us stayed here as part of a hen weekend package deal. Room excellent although our room was on the noisy side of hotel close to the bars and clubs and I didn't have the best nights sleep. Make sure you request a room on the station side if poss. My only gripe that we had more of a family room than a twin room and I got the single bed! Breakfast was excellent. Although very busy so you may want to get there before 10.00 if staying on a weekend. Even though we were right in city centre I felt very safe as the hotel security checked for our room key and name when we returned at night. Our room had a good shower, kettle, tea and coffee. also a decent hair dryer so I was impressed.

Room Tip: Request room on station side of hotel ie 519
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear David H,

I appreciate you taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad you thought your room and breakfast were excellent and felt safe in the hotel at night as guests’ safety and security is paramount to us.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards

Daniel Burgin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    825
    250
    36
    32
See reviews for
349
707
89
419
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Ives Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Excellent hotel
Perfect position
Staff excellent

Everything about this hotel would make me go back but for one thing – the toilet paper, think you could upgrade there a bit! (It’s a bit hard). Big TV, shower is powerful, good quality toiletries, very comfy beds, fast lifts. Couldn’t fault at all. Stayed 3 nights parked car in Wood Street multi story, two minutes’ walk away, extremely safe. We bought a £25 week long ticket so that we could come and go as we pleased. A days parking is £18 which can be discounted to £14 by the hotel so if you are staying longer than one night it is the best option.

Room Tip: Higher floors for weekend stays to minimise the noise from the clubbers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xfilesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear xfilesfan,

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay overall, I will pass on your recommendations to our housekeeping department with reference our toilet roll.
I look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with 8 friends for a stag do and have to say we were all very pleased with the quality of the hotel and value for money. All staff were helpful, rooms were impeccably clean, and the buffet breakfast was fantastic.

The only slight gripe was our twin room (all of them) had a main double bed and a shoe-horned-in teeny camp bed... Meaning one unlucky guest in the room got the short straw, it would have been better to have 2 'real' beds per room.

That being said it wouldn't put me off staying again and I'd thoroughly recommend this to others.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soulfuledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Soulfuledge,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on tripadvisor. I am delighted your group enjoyed their stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Third week here now and I cannot think of a negative thing to say about this hotel. Clean quiet rooms, comfortable and within easy reach of everything. Nothing is too much for the helpful staff. I'm here for another month at least and looking forward to it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear J D,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor. I appreciate your kind comments and your return custom.

I hope you will continue to stay with us.
Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ceredigion
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

A large group of us stayed at the Maldron from April 15th - 18th. We were very warmly welcomed and the check-in was hassle-free (as was the check-out). The rooms were clean, well-equipped and quiet. Breakfasts were good and plentiful, and we had a very good dinner there on the first night. (We ate out on the other nights). BUT, what really made it a special stay for us was the staff - especially the breakfast, and bar staff - always smiling! Thank you Haydn and Jesus.

Room Tip: The higher floors are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeredigionWelshwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Ceredigionwelshwiz,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review. I will pass your kind comments onto both Haydn & Jesus.

It was a pleasure having your group stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Travelled to Cardiff for a short break Monday to Thursday. Stayed on a buy 2 get one free night package, we have stayed before and always find the welcome is good, room is clean as always, and one of the few hotels still offering smoking rooms, which is in my view is outstanding, I am a non smoker but the wife enjoys a ciggy. breakfast as usual was first class in particular the waiter/server who works in the morning is always very helpful, and actually remembered us from our last visit. did not use the restaurant as we ate out in the evening, but saw some food being served in the bar and looked quite good, we used the bar in the evening Monday and Tuesday the barman was very good helpful and smiled which goes a long way we had to contend with Manchester united blaring out of both ends of the bar but it was ok I sometimes wander with two tv's if you could offer an alternative, but the peanuts were nice anyway, returned again Wednesday night because being a pub landlord I fancied a pint of beer, I ordered a pint of Brains lemonade Top which was cloudy and did not look nice and crystal clear as it should so complained, the inexperience of the barman showed as he was unsure how to deal with the complaint, I ended up having a brandy and coke. overall very good hotel I believe possibly under rated I tried the fitness suite well equipped would we stay again oh yes, all the positive make up for all the smaller negatives.

Room Tip: for smokers the 4th floor rom 407 excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Begellyarmslandlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear chancelanlord.

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor and your five star rating. I am delighted you chose to stay with us again for your return trip to Cardiff.

I will pass your suggestions onto the management team so we can improve our current offering and train our team efficiently.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This first class hotel made our weekend stay fantastic. Very clean,comfortable, all wrapped up with excellent service, professional staff and in an ideal location. We were on the 11th Floor, interesting views and no noticeable noise from the busy station. 3 minutes walk from the main station, buses to the bay 5 mins away, 4 mins walk from John Lewis! only 6 mins walk from the Motorpoint concert venue. Get a £3.40 all day bus ticket and you can go on a circular tour of the city and to the Bay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Cheryl H,

Thank you for your brief but glowing review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,088 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff

Property: Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Address: St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1GD, Wales (Formerly Clayton Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff, in Cardiff city centre opened on the 16th May 2011. Principality Stadium is only a short walk from the hotel. The 12-story Clayton Hotel Cardiff comprises of 216 air-conditioned guest rooms as well as bar, restaurant and meeting rooms. Facilities at a glance: •216 air-conditioned guest rooms• FREE wireless internet access•Cardiff city centre Hotel•View Restaurant and Bar•Dedicated Business centre - 7 state-of-the-art Cardiff conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing