We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #6 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

I've stayed there quite a few times and its always excellent. The rooms are clean and have great views over the city. Its 2 mins away from the train station and close to all of Cardiffs attractions.
I now always stay there when ever I'm in Cardiff, which is about 12 times a year.

Room Tip: I've never had a bad night there and stayed on most of the floors so it all seems to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Simonford

Thank you for your glowing comments on tripadvisor.

I am glad you have had excellent stays with us and we appreciate your return custom. I will pass on your fantastic comments to our team.

See you again soon.

Kind Regards

Daniel Burgin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    763
    230
    32
    29
See reviews for
312
658
86
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

As a hotel it is very close to the railway station, one of cities main road, and the cardiff castle within walking distance. It is a basic hotel, quiet, clean and neat ...no major frills. Very good for a tourist to come back and sleep after a hectic day of sight seeing and fairly reasonable too...esp. if one books in advance.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Renu S

I appreciate you taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad you found our hotel to be a good clean place to stay. Being a 3 star hotel we pride ourselves on giving our guests a clean and quite environment to relax in.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Daniel Burgin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night (18th)..mother/daughter time. I emailed in advanced asked for higher floor and chocolates in room (£5 extra..worth ever penny).
ROOM...was amazing 606, king bed, corner room, lovely bathroom, huge tv, great open space.
LOCATION...perfect, amazing restaurant underneath (viva brazil) great bars right outside, shopping 5mins walk, train station even closer. As we stayed on 6th floor we could hear the music at night but nothing to stop me sleeping, and didnt once hear a train.
SERVICE...was lovely at reception, asked for a bucket of ice and robes, robes were still drying but was given ice bucket. Also toothpaste was given to us as we both forgot it.
BREAKFAST...really really good. Help yourself. 10/10.
Even better that checkout is 12.
Going to see a show in november and know exactly where im booking to stay...will even ask for same room....maybe on a higher floor. But loved it.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FiFiGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear FiFiGeorge,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review on tripadvisor.

I am glad you had an amazing stay with us and thought we were perfect for everything you needed.

I appreciate you loading your pictures and your glowing recommendation.

I look forward to welcoming you back in November.

Warmest Regards

Daniel Burgin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

I was spending just the one night here before a day working in Cardiff.

Very clean and comfortable room, which was surprisingly quiet, given the hotel's location next to the railway station and main road.

Good location, close to the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Kevin E

I would like to thank you for leaving a short but commendable review on tripadvisor.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Daniel Burgin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shavington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Modern, clean and very comfy roomwhich has all you'd expect. Good breakfast. I didn't have an evening meal here but the menu looked fine. Close to the rail station and a short walk to the centre of Cardiff

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Andy M,

Thank you for taking the time to write your brief but wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted we had everything you expected and your room was clean and comfy.

Benevolent Regards

Daniel Burgin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

I stayed with group friends .. for a 3 star hotel its really nice.. rooms look very modern and bathroom is lovely. the staff in hotel were really friendly. was disappointed we didnt have most channels as we didnt have music ones, cause there was no signal but called down to reception and they had look and there was nothing could do. i dont think rooms cleaned properly tho as there was other people hair on the bedroom floor and my friend had a stain left on her mirror of something some one had drawed and marks in her bed. but my room was fine no problems. would defo return for a hotel to stay for a night out in cardiff! & i forgot the beds are soo comftable better than my own :)!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathybambeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Kathybambeno,

Thank you for your review on trip advisor, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am disappointed your room cleanliness wasn’t up to standard and will pass on your comments to our housekeeping manager to ensure continuous high standards on your return visit.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards
Daniel Burgin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and found this hotel to be comfortable, clean and excellent value for money.The room and bathroom were spacious and light, the bed comfortable with a big, flat-screen TV. Despite being right next to the train station, the room was very quiet (with the window closed) and it was also equipped with a good sized ironing board and iron which proved to be very useful. In addition to this the service was excellent. During our stay my suitcase broke and I had to replace it, leaving a large cardboard box which the hotel staff were happy to remove for me. We would definately stay here again and would reccomend this place to anyone looking for a good quality hotel in a very central location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Sophie T,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on trip advisor .I am delighted you found our service to be excellent and our hotel to be of good quality. I appreciate your kind recommendations and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

See you again soon.

Kind regards
Daniel Burgin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,876 reviews
1.0 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1GD, Wales (Formerly Clayton Hotel, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel, in Cardiff City Centre opened on the 16th May 2011. Millennium Stadium is only a short walk from the hotel. The 12-story Clayton hotel Cardiff comprises of 216 air-conditioned guest rooms as well as bar, restaurant and meeting rooms. Facilities at a glance: •216 air-conditioned guest rooms• FREE Broadband & wireless internet access•Cardiff city centre Hotel•View Restaurant and Bar•Dedicated Business centre - 7 state-of-the-art Cardiff conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing