We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AVOID THESE AND BOOKING.COM” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #6 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“AVOID THESE AND BOOKING.COM”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

DO NOT BOOK WITH THESE, they'll rip you off, they debit your card when your not present so be warned, BOOK ELSEWHERE, it maybe a fab location however, when you look at your card statement and see they are taking money from you without permission, thats when you'll call them where they will offer a refund and promise you the world when in-fact they give nothing....DISGUSTING SERVICE FROM DISGUSTING PEOPLE

Room Tip: book elsewhere and avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear babiebear21,
I understand from your review you are referring to our special advance purchase rate. To avail of this rate, payment is taken at the time of booking, this is non cancelable and non transferable as per terms & conditions on all 3rd party websites. These terms & conditions are clearly marked and on investigation, I am sure you will find the advance purchase discount terms and conditions are standard in all hotels in the UK selling through these 3rd party channels including bookingcom, expedia, lastminute & laterooms.
These terms & conditions state that- to avail of this discounted rate bookings can not be cancelled or amended and MUST be prepaid prior to arrival, however due to your personal circumstances, Bookingcom, under instruction from the hotel made an exception and amended your reservation to a date that better suited your situation. Payment was processed as per these terms & conditions.
I am disappointed to read your comments on tripadvisor after the team had gone out of their way to accommodate you.
Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    761
    230
    32
    29
See reviews for
312
657
86
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on business. Rated 3 star i was a little aprehensive but had no need. Room was well sized very clean and bed comfortable. Empty soap dispeners x2 was a pity but didnt spoil overall impression. Breakfast excellent. Great city centre base.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celtvistor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Celtvistor,

I appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel. As a three star hotel our aim is to excel within this market, I am delighted we exceeded your expectations.
I hope on a return trip to Cardiff we may be able to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel.
The rooms are clean, although a little boring in decor, and we had a fab view!
Breakfast was good, polite and friendly service.
Cardiff is a wonderful place to visit, has lots to do and see.
Brazilian Restaurant next to hotel was superb! Amazing!
The museums are really good for the children on colder days as is the Techniquest and Planetarium.
All in all a fantastic holiday place for families :-)

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view facing the High Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tillys03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear tillys03,

I am delighted you enjoyed your trip to Cardiff and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor.
I hope you will consider staying with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed there with my wife last December (but didn't really have the time to post a review till now!) It's really amazing how convenient this hotel was on our travel around Cardiff City. Walking distance to Cardiff Castle (a magnificent sight from the tower, even in the rain), mall, and the market. The food's a little fusion between east and west (I remember a portion of our dinner: satay with a twist). The room's extremely clean and comfortable. All in all, a value for money stay in the city!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear By K,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor. I appreciate you taking the time, as the saying goes "better late than never"
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and love the photos you have posted.
I hope you will stay with us again.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night for my birthday and really enjoyed it,the reception staff were really friendly and very efficient and kindly upgraded us to a lovely room with great views.the room was large,bright and very clean with a very comfortable bed.the only slight let down was the shower it was very weak but plenty of hot water.the hotel is right above the train tracks but we didn't hear any noise.we went down for breakfast today and found it very tasty and a large selection of full English and continental.we would defiantly stay here again.ps it's less than a three minute walk from the train station or bus station

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andybCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear andybcardiff,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review on tripadvisor. We pride ourselves on our customer service and I am delighted you experienced this first hand.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We were a party of ten women, having a college reunion, after 42 years of not meeting up. From the outset, the staff couldn't have been more helpful, from the initial booking by internet and phone. the reason i chose the hotel was its proximity to the railway station and the reasonable price of rooms. The hotel exceeded our expectations. Members of our party came from Barbados, London, Essex, Wales and Cheshire. We were all delighted by the choice of hotel. The rooms were clean and had all the amenities we needed, the bathrooms were well-designed and immaculate. All the public areas were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice. Most of all, the staff were really helpful. All the bar and restaurant staff went out of their way to help us, by taking photos of the group, chatting with us and putting up with our laughter and noise! I would wholeheartedly recommend the hotel for a visit to Cardiff centre, as it was near to many restaurants, bars and shops. All are in easy walking distance. It was a perfect venue for our long-awaited reunion!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank wendydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear wendydee,

I am delighted you had a successful reunion during your stay at the Maldron Hotel Cardiff. I am pleased to hear the team in some way assisted with making your event an enjoyable one.

I appreciate your excellent review and recommendation and hope you do not leave it another 42 years before your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Spent 2 nights here in June.very nice room with all the amenities.great tv and plenty of plug sockets. The hotel is at a stone's throw from the train station so it is very handy handy to walk to. There are spare pillows,hairdryer but no mini bar.

I seem to remember paying for breakfast but hotel had no knowledge of this so had to pay for it. The bar area is nice although it did smell strongly of the grill. Will definitely recommend it for value.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear norgroves,

I am delighted you found us to be good value for money and appreciate you taking the time to share this on tripadvisor.
I will have our maintenance team investigate the grill smell from the bar and get this rectified.

I hope to welcome you back to Cardiff in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,874 reviews
1.0 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1GD, Wales (Formerly Clayton Hotel, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel, in Cardiff City Centre opened on the 16th May 2011. Millennium Stadium is only a short walk from the hotel. The 12-story Clayton hotel Cardiff comprises of 216 air-conditioned guest rooms as well as bar, restaurant and meeting rooms. Facilities at a glance: •216 air-conditioned guest rooms• FREE Broadband & wireless internet access•Cardiff city centre Hotel•View Restaurant and Bar•Dedicated Business centre - 7 state-of-the-art Cardiff conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Lastminute so you can book your Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing