We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business stay at the Maldron”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Not the first time I have stayed here. The staff are always friendly and willing to help. The dinner in the restaurant was good value and nicely presented, we stayed in the hotel as it was a monsoon outside! However the room I had this time, 403 was facing the street opposite, and I heard every drunk shouting until 3.30am!! Not conducive to concentration at a business meeting the next morning! Next time I'll ask for a quiet room!! Can't beat the friendliness though....

Room Tip: If you're there on business ask for a room that doesn't face the street!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smiley4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear smiley4488,

I appreciate your return customer and value the time you have taken to share your review on tripadvisor.
I am pleased you have consistently found our staff to be helpful and friendly. I will pass on your kind comments.
There are many different views throughout the hotel and I would be delighted to allocate you a room on the quieter courtyard side of the building on a return stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,625 - 1,631 of 2,311 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

Lovely clean hotel right in the middle of the city with everything on the doorstep. The bar and restaurant area are nice , clean, relaxed areas to eat or just have a drink. Paddy in the restaurant was so helpful and went out of his way to be friendly and make sure that customers needs were met to the best of his ability. Reception staff were helpful and pleasant the whole time we were there. Could hear the trains if you really listened for them but definitely not loud enough to disturb anyone. Bathrooms are a bit cramped but not a real problem unless you want to host a party in there. Will definitely use this hotel next time we return to Cardiff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markd d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear markd d,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the fantastic review. Your review title says it all and I will pass your kind comments onto Paddy who prides himself on his customer service skills.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent three nights at the maldron
The hotel is in the heart of the city with a very short stroll to the shops bars and restaurants
The staff were very friendly and the rooms clean well equipped and welcoming
An ideal place for a city break

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Philip P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the team to be helpful and friendly.
I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

First time users of this hotel and there will definitely be more visits. We loved everything about it. It's location was perfect, no need for taxis or long walks. The room was superb and very modern, and breakfast was superb. I would have given a 5 rating but we left at 10am Sun morn and returned at 3pm to find our room not cleaned. A minor oversight I imagine and one that happens from time to time. Another idea might be to offer a discount for guests to use at Viva Brazil downstairs,

Room Tip: Choose a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chloedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear chloedale,

I appreciate the time you have taken to share your review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay overall.
I will pass your comments onto the housekeeping department so we can look to improve for future guests.
I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Very easy to find, just look to the right when you come out of Cardiff central station. We got a room on the 11th floor with a wide view of Cardiff. Clean, modern rooms and helpful staff in the reception but bathroom was a bit cramped. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneR39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear AnneR39,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and felt fit to rate us with 5 stars. I appreciate the time you have taken to share your comments. I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed here after a long 12 hour shift for work, room was clean and the bed was very comfortable, i had an evening meal in the hotel which was good value and freshly cooked.
No complaints at all and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwindonNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear SwindonNigel,

Thank you for your brief but fantastic 5 star review on tripadvsior. I appreciate the time you have taken to share your review and I delighted you enjoyed your stay. I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed at the Maldron during the weekend with my wife and two (young) children. It's a new hotel as a result the décor and upkeep of the place are beyond reproach. Anyone with the money can knock up a city centre hi-rise hotel, not everybody can operate it as well as the Maldron's team.

The staff in the hotel were exceptional and are what set it apart. A special mention must go to Jakub and Christopher (both part of the food beverage team working in the bar) who went out of their way to accommodate us.

Jakub sourced an elusive banana for my stubborn 3yr old, whilst under significant pressure at the busy and reasonable priced bar (pint of premium lager was £3.95 which for a city centre hotel is great).

Christopher was running a limited menu (the restaurant was privately booked for a charity event) in the bar whilst the football was on and did a great job of it. The food was promptly delivered and almost too cheap (in a good way) at £18 for 3 courses, I had soup, sirloin and fudge cake - all served to perfection.

Overall- a fantastic property and streets ahead of the cookie-cutter soulless brands like IHG, Premier Inn and Travelodge that are all too often stamped across the cities of the UK.

Well done The Maldron!! 5/5

Room Tip: Corner rooms have better TV's, walk in showers and panoramic views - well worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blunsdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear Blunsdon,

Thank you for your fantastic review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and will pass your kind comments onto both Chris & Jakub. The F&B team pride themselves on their customer service skills and I am delighted you experienced this first hand.

I hope I can welcome you back in the future.
Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 74 in Cardiff
3,392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
1,516 reviews
1 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff

Address: St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1GD, Wales (Formerly Clayton Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £48 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff, in Cardiff city centre opened on the 16th May 2011. Principality Stadium is only a short walk from the hotel. The 12-story Clayton Hotel Cardiff comprises of 216 air-conditioned guest rooms as well as bar, restaurant and meeting rooms. Facilities at a glance: •216 air-conditioned guest rooms• FREE wireless internet access•Cardiff city centre Hotel•View Restaurant and Bar•Dedicated Business centre - 7 state-of-the-art Cardiff conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing