We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
NewZealand
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Comfortable hotel. Only a few minutes walk from train and bus station. Close to main shopping, bars, cafes etc
Ten minutes walk to the castle and the hop-on hop-off bus.
Staff were helpful and friendly.
Good bed, towels and a great shower.

Room Tip: There is still some train noise so ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedPCGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear RedPCGirl,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you found us good value for money and our staff to be friendly & helpful.

I hope I can welcome you back for a return trip to Cardiff.

Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    826
    251
    36
    32
See reviews for
349
707
89
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stoke-on-trent uk
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Got a great deal of £118 for 2 nights. Lovely clean hotel. We were on the 6th floor room 617 over looking train station, didn't hear the trains at all so slept very well. Great to have an ice machine on the floor and drinking water. Good size bathroom plenty of towels and Dove products. Also had free wifi. Staff were great. Check in and out was quick. Would stay here again if the price was right. Didnt use the bar area so can not comment

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teenba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Teenba,

I appreciate you taking the time to leave such a fantastic review on tripadvsior. I am delighted your enjoyed your stay and hope I can welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights in a twin room - excellent value for money and exceptionally clean.
My only little niggle would be the size of the bathroom but considering the cost per night I really can't complain.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Rosiegt,

Thank you for sharing such a great review on tripadvisor. I am delighted your enjoyed your stay and found us to be excellent value for money.

I hope I can welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Atmosphere home from home, made possible by the whole team at the hotel. My husband is committed to a wheel chair as a result of a stroke, and we regularly stay at this hotel because it is all we need to facilitate a break away from our home. We love going to concerts in the nearby .St. Davids Hall and because of its location the hotel is very conveniently situated right in the heart of the shopping area, and with easy access to so many other places of interest in Cardiff City

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Member,

Thank you of the fantastic feedback and the 5 star review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, it is a pleasure having you and your husband stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with other travelers.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had booked this hotel because of the convenience of the hotel. We were not disappointed.
Although to get to the hotel because of one way streets was a nightmare . Having parked we made our way a short distance to the hotel and was greeted by a friendly welcome . Our room was quickly made available and we were on the 10th floor great views and quite clean .
The bed was smaller than we had expected but was comfortable and modern . We chose to eat in the Hotel the first night which was pleasant . The staff were very friendly and polite and we would recommend the hotel for the location for the center of Cardiff .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonPirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear DevonPirates,

I appreciate the kind review you have placed on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will consider staying with us again.

Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Maldron hotel for one night, very close to the train station and city centre so an ideal location. I had asked for a quiet room on a high floor but got a room by the lift on the sixth floor, we could hear a door banging until late at night and the train noise was very intrusive. I also thought the breakfast choice was limited and hot food was not very hot, yogurts contained gelatine so not suitable for vegetarians. The staff were very pleasant and the bar and restaurant areas were really nice.

Room Tip: Insist on a room facing the town if you don't want train noise most of the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreaR75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear AndreaR75,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted you found our staff to be pleasant. We try to accommodate guest requests however this is not always possible due to high demand of upper floors.

If you chose to return to the hotel I would be pleased to handle your requests personally.
Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

5 minutes from the station. Pubs, clubs & shops nerby. Very efficient staff. The hotel was very clean. We had a room with 3 single beds which fitted easily into the room. The beds were very comfortable. We were on the 10th floor which was really good as it was a Saturday night after a big rugby match so the town was very busy and noisey but the noise level was minimal on this floor.We did not have breakfast at the hotel as there are many good cafes nearby. Would deffinitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank carolyn9966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Carolyn9966,

I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted you got to enjoy the city on an event weekend and you found the team to be efficient on this busy day.

I hope you will stay with us again.
Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,091 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff

Property: Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Address: St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1GD, Wales (Formerly Clayton Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff, in Cardiff city centre opened on the 16th May 2011. Principality Stadium is only a short walk from the hotel. The 12-story Clayton Hotel Cardiff comprises of 216 air-conditioned guest rooms as well as bar, restaurant and meeting rooms. Facilities at a glance: •216 air-conditioned guest rooms• FREE wireless internet access•Cardiff city centre Hotel•View Restaurant and Bar•Dedicated Business centre - 7 state-of-the-art Cardiff conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing