We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVELY HOTEL IN THE CENTRE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #6 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
“LOVELY HOTEL IN THE CENTRE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

This hotel is in the centre of town so you can walk to all the shops and restaurants
The hotel is clean and staff are friendly, rooms are warm
jamie olivers restaurant is ten minute walk from the hotel which serves very good enexpinsive food and they are plenty of nice bars within five minute walk
we will be back

Room Tip: take upper floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear JaniceW,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a pleasant review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Cardiff.

Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    779
    235
    32
    30
See reviews for
320
675
86
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Me and my fiance were coming to Cardiff to do a spot of Christmas shopping, so when this offer came up on the secret escapes website we took it, £59 for the two of us which included two free alcoholic cocktails, double room and full Welsh breakfast. Which was great. The staff were very helpful and the room very comfortable with big screen TV. Would definitely stay here again as it's only a stone throw away from Cardiff Central station.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank davidcoe1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear davidcoe1976,

Thank you for your 5 star review on tripadvisor and for posting up some great pictures of your stay. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and were able to avail of one of the many fantastic offers online.

I look forward to welcoming you back when your return to Cardiff.
Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is my 3rd stay in this hotel within last year. Its still the best in the town and great Value for Money. I had reviewed this hotel earlier as well. In spite of all very good points, I experienced vast decline in the quality of House keeping. Toilets and rooms are not cleaned and maintained well. Hotel management should take note of this.

The other area is Breakfast menu and options for Vegetarians. I stayed here for 6 nights, same menu with very few changes and surprises.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saswat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Saswat66,

I appreciate your return custom and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I will pass your comments onto our housekeeping department so they can work to improve their standards throughout the hotel.
Thank you for your feedback and I hope I can welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed here with my son for the Wales v Argentina match.
The room was not available at 11am when we got there before the match. This was expected and we were able yo check in and get our room number but put our bags in storage.
We returned there after the match and met friends. The bar is well stocked, child friendly and safe.
Rooms are comfortable. Lift takes while because there are only two.
Breakfast was buffet style and standard but tasted good,
Overall very friendly and I would return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Mike N,

Thank you for the kind recommendation on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope I can welcome you back for another event in the city.

Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
346 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Another nights stay in Cardiff to watch the rugby . We were charged £417 for a twin room . We booked the room approx 6 weeks ago . I'm disgusted at the price charged and the standard offered . Prices are hiked up for the rugby weekends its appalling . Room was ok nothing special . No mini bar the usual tray kettle etc No toiletries in the bathroom . Breakfast was poor quality food totally self service bacon grilled on one side and synthetic looking egg . I know it's a busy time of year but no excuse for those prices and customer service lacking . Will not be staying here again there are better deals and nicer hotels .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Sue J,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I believe a member of the management team has already been in contact with you prior to this review.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you are unsatisfied with how our Front Office Manager dealt with your feedback.

Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

This was the first time I had stayed this hotel in Cardiff. I found it to be bright and tidy as might be expected from it being very new. Reception staff were very friendly and efficient but I was slightly puzzled that my room card was placed in a small brown envelope ; not the kind of thing that is usual for hotels.

My room was clean and tidy and the only thing I could fault was that I couldn't find an electric shaver socket!

We didn't have dinner in the hotel but the breakfast was very good by modern standards of having a buffet service. Staff were attentive to tidying up used dishes and plates.

£65 for bed and breakfast was very good value.

Will go there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Ken F,

Thank you for sharing such a fantastic review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. You will be pleased to know we no longer use the brown envelopes for key cards and have reverted back to our more traditional Key wallets.

I hope I can welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
0.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff

Property: Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Address: St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1GD, Wales (Formerly Clayton Hotel, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel, in Cardiff City Centre opened on the 16th May 2011. Millennium Stadium is only a short walk from the hotel. The 12-story Clayton hotel Cardiff comprises of 216 air-conditioned guest rooms as well as bar, restaurant and meeting rooms. Facilities at a glance: •216 air-conditioned guest rooms• FREE Broadband & wireless internet access•Cardiff city centre Hotel•View Restaurant and Bar•Dedicated Business centre - 7 state-of-the-art Cardiff conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing