We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 December 2013

superb visit, excellent service, very friendly staff. Rooms very clean and spacious, would recommend this hotel to anyone! Breakfast was lovely and plentiful. A great hotel at a reasonable price! Left my luggage at the hotel, staff went out of their way to help me retrieve it, very kind and helpful!x

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HayleyMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear HayleyMR,

I am delighted you received Superb Service and that you chose to share your comments on Tripadvisor.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,537 - 1,543 of 2,250 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business early december,as the title said pleasant hotel,helpfull staff, clean room bit noisy from the train line but overall good hotel,inexpensive but you do need to pay to park over the road in the ncp, would stay again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank paule361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Paule361,

Thank you for your brief but fantastic review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back for any future business trips in Cardiff.

Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This hotel is in the centre of town so you can walk to all the shops and restaurants
The hotel is clean and staff are friendly, rooms are warm
jamie olivers restaurant is ten minute walk from the hotel which serves very good enexpinsive food and they are plenty of nice bars within five minute walk
we will be back

Room Tip: take upper floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janice w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear JaniceW,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a pleasant review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Cardiff.

Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Me and my fiance were coming to Cardiff to do a spot of Christmas shopping, so when this offer came up on the secret escapes website we took it, £59 for the two of us which included two free alcoholic cocktails, double room and full Welsh breakfast. Which was great. The staff were very helpful and the room very comfortable with big screen TV. Would definitely stay here again as it's only a stone throw away from Cardiff Central station.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank davidcoe1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear davidcoe1976,

Thank you for your 5 star review on tripadvisor and for posting up some great pictures of your stay. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and were able to avail of one of the many fantastic offers online.

I look forward to welcoming you back when your return to Cardiff.
Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is my 3rd stay in this hotel within last year. Its still the best in the town and great Value for Money. I had reviewed this hotel earlier as well. In spite of all very good points, I experienced vast decline in the quality of House keeping. Toilets and rooms are not cleaned and maintained well. Hotel management should take note of this.

The other area is Breakfast menu and options for Vegetarians. I stayed here for 6 nights, same menu with very few changes and surprises.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saswat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Saswat66,

I appreciate your return custom and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I will pass your comments onto our housekeeping department so they can work to improve their standards throughout the hotel.
Thank you for your feedback and I hope I can welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed here with my son for the Wales v Argentina match.
The room was not available at 11am when we got there before the match. This was expected and we were able yo check in and get our room number but put our bags in storage.
We returned there after the match and met friends. The bar is well stocked, child friendly and safe.
Rooms are comfortable. Lift takes while because there are only two.
Breakfast was buffet style and standard but tasted good,
Overall very friendly and I would return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Mike N,

Thank you for the kind recommendation on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope I can welcome you back for another event in the city.

Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,483 reviews
1 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff

Address: St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1GD, Wales (Formerly Clayton Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £52 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff, in Cardiff city centre opened on the 16th May 2011. Principality Stadium is only a short walk from the hotel. The 12-story Clayton Hotel Cardiff comprises of 216 air-conditioned guest rooms as well as bar, restaurant and meeting rooms. Facilities at a glance: •216 air-conditioned guest rooms• FREE wireless internet access•Cardiff city centre Hotel•View Restaurant and Bar•Dedicated Business centre - 7 state-of-the-art Cardiff conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing