We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brill location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Great location for city centre, room very clean, bed very comfortable, staff lovely. Park in the NCP round the corner rates through hotel £9 not £18 as stated in the car park. We will def return to this hotel when visiting Cardiff again.
Thank you for lovely few days to celebrate our 33rd wedding anniversary x

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Micky W,

Congratulations on your 33rd Wedding anniversary, I am delighted you chose to spend this special time with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you return visit.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,420 - 1,426 of 2,175 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed here one night for shopping and a night out in Cardiff. The hotel is excellent value for money and easy walking distance to anywhere in the centre of Cardiff. Rooms are well-equipped and the beds comfortable. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good - fresh fruit, croissants etc. and a good choice of cooked items (all hot and fresh) Liked the idea of a water and ice machine in the corridor for guests to help themselves. Even though the hotel is near the railway station, noise is not a problem.

Room Tip: A high floor was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awen_richards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear awen_richards,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to share your excellent 5 star review on tirpadvisor.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

stayed 2 nights midweek,, beds very comfortable,we could see john lewis store from bedroom,important for my companion. breakfast area on first floor,excellant food and good views out. discounted parking 100 yards,vue cinema 200 yards. Jamies and carllucios restaurants close by. all in all, ideal location with added bonus of efficient and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gordon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear gordon m,

I am delighted you found the team to be efficient and friendly and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your comments with other travelers.
I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Great location for some time in Cardiff, a nice walk down to the shore and easily found by car. If you are driving, however, get parking directions from the hotel in advance. We had a bit of an adventure trying to find the parking garage which was pretty frustrating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSher20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Msher20,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay overall. If you could provide any additional specific feedback on your stay and how we can improve our offerings you could contact me directly on 02920668866.

I hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have stayed here several times through work but I have to mention that the staff are really great! They cannot do enough for you. Sean and Jesus in the restaurant were fantastic, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Sean, I think is restaurant manager and has super customer service and a lovely Irish accent. Jesus is Spanish and really seems to enjoy his job, another lovely accent! Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Carol H,

Thank you for the fantastic title to your review. Our staff pride themselves on their customer service skills and I am delighted you experienced this first hand. I will pass on your excellent comments to both Sean and Jesus.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Business Stay.
Needed a room for night with easy access to Cardiff Central Station.
The hotel is literally a minutes walk from the station.
Room is spotless with all what you require from a hotel room
Decent sized LCD in the room, bathroom also spotless
Added bonus having Viva Brazil on the doorstep.
Would stay again RR £79.00 (8th floor)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoodyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Goodywirral,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay overall and hope I can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We booked a weekend in Cardiff at a very good rate at this hotel and were very impressed. We were on the 11th floor but the lifts were very good so no problem there. The rooms were very clean and tidy and still looked quite new. However I did notice the decor carpets etc were not to a very high standard so would imagine they won't stay that way.
The staff were very good quite friendly and checked us in quickly and gave us our room even though we came early just to drop off our cases.
The location is an excellent base for getting to the shops and the bars which are very close by
The only little gripe we had was in the bar when were having a drink and a member of staff decided to dry all the cutlery and throw it in a tray one piece at a time which made a hell of a noise and seemed to be taking great delight in doing so. Also the bar staff were not particularly friendly which was a shame as the actual var area was quite nice

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Theresa2812,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay overall. I have passed your comments onto the Food & Beverage Manager and he will work with his team to improve the atmosphere while under taking daily duties.

I hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.0 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.1 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff

Address: St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1GD, Wales (Formerly Clayton Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £66 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff, in Cardiff city centre opened on the 16th May 2011. Principality Stadium is only a short walk from the hotel. The 12-story Clayton Hotel Cardiff comprises of 216 air-conditioned guest rooms as well as bar, restaurant and meeting rooms. Facilities at a glance: •216 air-conditioned guest rooms• FREE wireless internet access•Cardiff city centre Hotel•View Restaurant and Bar•Dedicated Business centre - 7 state-of-the-art Cardiff conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing