We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That personal touch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Have stayed at this hotel a few time. Arrived at reception and was greeted by "nice to see you again". My friend was given the same room as our previous stay- a very nice corner room. In the restaurant, I was asked about my mother, who had stayed 6 months prior. Not only is the hotel in a great location, close to the shops & railway station (no noise in the rooms) the staff make you feel like old friends. This hotel is GREAT

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank JBUB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear JBUB64,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us again and appreciate your return customer. I am delighted our friendly team made you feel so welcome and I look forward to your return visits.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,149)
There are newer reviews for Clayton Hotel Cardiff
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,388 - 1,394 of 2,150 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed for the weekend recently and had an excellent stay. We came to visit my husbands aunty in Cardiff hospital so wanted a central position. This hotel was perfectly located for shops, restaurants and bars and only a couple of miles from the hospital. They have no car park but there is a NCP just opposite and the hotel give a discount on the rate which was really good. NCP charge £18.20 per day and if you go to reception at the Maldron they activate your ticket for £9 which is less than half price. I was lucky enough to stay on a secret escapes deal for a 2 day stay which included a Maldron cocktail and a cream tea which we had on our second day served by a very pleasant waiter who was so pleasant that I asked his name it was Sean. On our first night I asked for a quiet room as I had read previous reviews. We were given a corner room on the 5th floor which was lovely but no view so the following day we asked if it would be possible to move to a room with a view and they happily moved us to the 11th floor. I would recommend this hotel

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank whitwillhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear whitwillhands,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and our reception team were able to accommodate both of your requests.

I appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This was the second time I stayed at the hotel and would happily go again. The hotel is well located for shops, restaurants and bars, and is only a short bus ride to the docks for the Millennium Center. The hotel is comfortable (The King rooms are recommended), has friendly staff and a great breakfast. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Daniel B,

Thank you for the recommendation & loyalty to our hotel. I am delighted you continually enjoy your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed here for three nights on a short city stopover. I was looking for a hotel with a good location, close to the train station, that was nice, but not extremely expensive. The Best Western Plus Maldron Hotel was exactly what I was looking for.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was clean, with the exception of the electric tea kettle which didn't look like it had been thoroughly washed in quite some time. I stayed on the 11th floor facing the train tracks, and surprisingly was not bothered by the sounds of the incoming trains. You could faintly hear them coming and going through the night, but it didn't disturb my sleep. The hotel is literally a two minute walk from the station, about a ten minute walk to Cardiff Castle, and fifteen minutes from Cardiff Bay.

The main reason I gave the property only four stars was my extreme disappointment in their restaurant. The staff was friendly, but the menu was very slim and terribly over priced. You have the option of adding breakfast to your bill. I did so the first morning, only to find an average quality buffet-style English breakfast. I was charged £9 for this very mediocre meal. The following days I found a wonderful breakfast for under £5 in a restaurant next door. This is would be my recommendation.

Other than that, the Maldron Hotel was a great place to stay for a quick jaunt into the city. I would still recommend the place to anyone.

Room Tip: High floors are your best option, particularly if your room is facing the train tracks.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Taylor M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay overall. I appreciate your comments with reference our food & beverage department. Our menu, breakfast option & pricing are set to meet with industry competitors. While undergoing market research we found our prices were below our hotel competitors and our menu options were similar or above the market standard.
I will relook at our competitor set and ensure we are still in line with the Cardiff hotel Industry. As mentioned in your review there are plenty of dining options throughout the city for guests who do not wish to eat in our hotel.

I hope I can welcome you back in the Future.
Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We were a bit worried when we arrived and saw the lobby overflowing with Argentinian rugby players! But they put us on a different floor, and we never heard any noise at all. The location is perfect, less than five minutes walk from the train station, the room was surprisingly large, and the cost was reasonable! A great visit all around, and kudos to the staff for making such an effort to provide a quiet stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear J D,

Thank you for sharing your excellent review on tripadvisor. When large groups stay with us the Front desk team go to great lengths to ensure the group does not disturb other guests in the hotel. I am delighted you experienced the team’s hard work and commitment to ensuring a comfortable stay for all.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed overnight on 27 Jan. Room very comfortable and clean. As mentioned by other reviewers, very close to the railway but we had a good night's sleep. Hotel centrally located and convenient to enjoy everything that Cardiff has to offer. Hot buffet breakfast very poor and not good value for £9 per head as the food had gone dry and hard (we arrived for breakfast at about 8.45 a.m so review not based on arriving just before close of service at 10 a.m.) However, due to hotel's central location there is an abundance of places where you can get a well cooked breakfast at a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dimamser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear dimamser,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay overall however I am disappointed that breakfast was not to our normal high standard. I will pass your comments onto both our Head Chef and our F&B Manager so they can better improve the quality of products. If you would like to give us any additional feedback on specific buffet items that were below your expectation you can contact me directly on 02920668866.

Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Good Hotel two minutes from the train station. Also near entertainment district and Shopping. Very near train line but insulation is good and no significant noise from the trains.
Recommended for those who like a modern central hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor good view
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skettyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Skettyman,

Thank you for taking the time to share your brief but glowing review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back on a return trip to Cardiff.
Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.0 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.1 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff

Address: St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1GD, Wales (Formerly Clayton Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £63 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff, in Cardiff city centre opened on the 16th May 2011. Principality Stadium is only a short walk from the hotel. The 12-story Clayton Hotel Cardiff comprises of 216 air-conditioned guest rooms as well as bar, restaurant and meeting rooms. Facilities at a glance: •216 air-conditioned guest rooms• FREE wireless internet access•Cardiff city centre Hotel•View Restaurant and Bar•Dedicated Business centre - 7 state-of-the-art Cardiff conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing