We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Had 2 night break in this central Cardiff hotel. Comfy room with everything you need, good size, small sofa ,flat screen TV. Great shower another plus point.
Breakfast was self service but everything you want and all well cooked. Great to have porridge on a cold February morning.
Saw few staff but all helpful and great service in the bar - with a smile.
Car parking only downside but NCP car park close by - need to factor in additional £10 per night to cover cost.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Sue G.
Thank you for posting such a glowing review on tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear you had a great experience during your stay. I appreciate you taking the time to write such a review. I look forward to seeing you in the future.
Warm regards
Linda Folan
Assistant Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,498 - 1,504 of 2,280 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

Right down the street from Cardiff Central train station. Located by everything you would need to shop for. Everything is within walking distance. Very good night rates. We will stay there again this November as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azmyers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Azmyers5.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to share your five star review on tripadvisor. I look forward to personally welcoming you back in November.

Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
Assistant Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

This was a great choice. We got to Cardiff at night from London. It was pouring rain and cold and coming from the station we were extremely grateful that the hotel was so close. It's a huge tower and easy to find. You can pretty much see it from the train/bus.

We booked a room for 3 people. With one single and one double it was a very good size. The bathroom/ toilet is very basic but does the trick.

The staff at reception is friendly and efficient. As this is a budget hotel, it's a bit no frills so don't expect much luxury. The people staying at the hotel can be a bit rowdy (wales was playing Ireland the weekend we stayed over so there were big groups of men ready to celebrate). This was not much of an issue once we got to our room and we only really saw the crowd in the evenings and in the morning at check out time.

The hotel is so central. We walked pretty much everywhere, wether it's the bay or the town centre it's easily accessible and everyone in town knows the maldron.

This is the place I will stay when I next go to Cardiff. No question.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Keyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Keyz,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a fantastic review on tripadvisor. Our reception team pride themselves on their customer service and I am delighted that they were without fault on this occasion.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
Assistant Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Really nice hotel with good rooms and a comfy bed! Food good especially breakfast. Irish staff are very friendly. We stayed on their valentines package which we really enjoyed. Sean in the restaurant was a great guy and looked after us well

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Donna B,
I am delighted that your stay at the Best Western Plus Maldron was enjoyable. I will pass your praise onto the team. I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Linda Folan,
Assistant Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I have recently spent 4 nights in this hotel on business and it was a very good overall experience.
The hotel is very close to a NCP car park as well as been close to the train station.
Hotel was clean and breakfast was nice with a good choice.
Restaurant at night had a decent menu with some nice dishes on it.
Will definitely use again next time in Cardiff.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank PaulF_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Paul F_England,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor.
I am pleased you enojoyed your stay and I look forward to meeting you on your return stay.

Kind Regards,
Linda Folan,
Assistant Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed for two nights on room only basis. Lovely room and good service. Good deal with booking.com at £110 for two nights. Modern , really clean and well equipped room - 810. Easy walking distance to restaurants, bars, shopping and train station. Hotel does a good deal with nearby ncp car park too. Recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ambercat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Ambercat 13,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with our offerings. We pride ourselves on being competitively priced and I am pleased you experienced this first hand. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Linda Folan
Assistant Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I go to Cardiff often usually with friends or family, I had never stayed in the Maldron before but a lady I spoke to one night said it was really nice so I thought give it a go and I was really impressed with it staff lovely ,rooms very nice and very clean, breakfast that you can't fault except eating too much. I will certainly be staying here again.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Gwenogwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Gwenogwen,

Thank you for taking the time to post a five star review on tripadvisor. I am delighted your overall experience was enjoyable. I will pass on your kind comments to all departments and I look forward to meeting you on your return trip.

Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
Assistant Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.7 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff

Address: St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1GD, Wales (Formerly Clayton Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £46 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff, in Cardiff city centre opened on the 16th May 2011. Principality Stadium is only a short walk from the hotel. The 12-story Clayton Hotel Cardiff comprises of 216 air-conditioned guest rooms as well as bar, restaurant and meeting rooms. Facilities at a glance: •216 air-conditioned guest rooms• FREE wireless internet access•Cardiff city centre Hotel•View Restaurant and Bar•Dedicated Business centre - 7 state-of-the-art Cardiff conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing