We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - could be slightly better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Booked six rooms in this hotel for myself and five colleagues based on the location and other reviews. Overall, I had a good stay here which was better than average but not superb (would choose a 'good' option if available).

One of the best things about this hotel is its location. It is a minute or so walk from Cardiff Central station, which was perfect for my group as most of us arrived by train. One colleague drove and was able to find reasonable parking nearby as well. The look of the hotel as you go in was very pleasing and the staff were efficient. The room was nicely decorated with good amenities (TV, free wifi, safe, free water) although was slightly cramped due to there being a single bed as well as a double, even though it was only me in the room.

The staff were very helpful throughout, booking taxis and enabling me to check out quickly. There was also a left luggage room which was useful.

Couple of downsides however. First, I booked a meeting room for the first night of my stay and while the room was set up accordingly, the refreshments were lacking. There were only three small bottles of water for all six of us and the water for the drinks wasn't boiling. I was also not told how to settle payment for the room so assumed I would be invoiced but then received a slightly snotty email. Other small downsides were that a breakfast menu was not available in the room for the second morning of my stay and my second room key, which I kept in the room so that I did not have to turn off the heating, was taken by cleaning staff and not returned. To be fair, I was too busy working to take these up with the hotel so they weren't proper issues.

I will be returning to this hotel for business, due to the free wifi and location, and probably would also visit for leisure as well. I would judge that this hotel is perhaps better for leisure as small details regarding meeting rooms and the ability to easily order breakfast to have in the room wouldn't be so important. The location is excellent for sightseeing and going out in the evening. As said before, I would definitely rate this as a good hotel; not the best but certainly, definitely, not the worst.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathrynjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Kathrynjc,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Maldron Hotel Cardiff.
I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your overall stay with us. A member of the team would have been happy to resolve any issues prior to your departure from the hotel. As this was not possible for you at the time I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you in person. I would be grateful if you could email your contact details to lfolan@maldronhotels.com so I may call you directly.

Regards,
Linda Folan,
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,456 - 1,462 of 2,253 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last month and have had a really good stay on both occasions. The staff were friendly and polite, the rooms clean and quiet. Room service was good and efficient. All in all a very pleasant hotel stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank chrisletrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Chrisletrek,

Thank you for your wonderful comments on tripadvisor and I appreciate your return customer to our hotel. I will pass on your kind words to all the team at the Maldron Hotel.
I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
Assistant Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We were very pleased with The Maldron Hotel, fantastic location, seconds from the train station and city centre. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the service was polite and helpful. We will definitely keep this hotel in mind for a return visit.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank melall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Melall,

I appreciate you taking the time to share such a fantastic 5 star review on tripadvisor.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope I can welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Myself and four friends stayed here last weekend. It was a great hotel. The location was ideal - we could walk to all the bars, restaurants and shops within a couple of minutes. It was really easy to find when we got off the train - it was right in front of the train station. The rooms were really clean and the shower was lovely. Check in was really fast and I think it was reasonably priced.

The hotel was really busy - lots of hen and stag parties. If you were looking for a quiet stay and an early night, I wouldn't recommend. But for a lively weekend with friends, its ideal.

I would stay here again if I was to visit Cardiff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Nicola O,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and found our location & offerings suitable for your requirements.
I hope to welcome you and your friends back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Linda Folan,
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Excellent for a Girlls shopping trip as all the shops are very close by .
The Railway station being near was an advantage as was a taxi rank right outside.
Rooms were of a high standard and very comfortable

Room Tip: Our rooms were more than adequate for our needs as I am sure are all the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear SylivaJ,

Thank you for your positive review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you were happy with our offerings and had an enjoyable Girls Weekend away.
I look forward to your return visit to the City.

Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The hotel to stay when you are in Cardiff. Stayed here with family for a weekend break from check in to check out the staff was very friendly and helpful. The assistant trainee manager she was Irish I think was fantastic could not do enough for you!!!!! Would stay here again with no question !!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Matt G,

Thank you for your lovely comments on tripadvisor. I am delighted that our team made your stay with us a happy one. I will pass on your kind comments to Anna our trainee manager. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Warm Regards,
Linda Folan
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

what a hotel,so central,room was lovely and clean and spacious,couldnt of asked for more. staff were very accomadating and went out of there way to please.. wod definetley book to stay there again in the future

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Matthew T,

Thank you for your brief but glowing review on tripadvisor. Our team at the Maldron take great pride in their customer service skills and I am delighted to read that you found our staff to be accommodating during your stay.
I appreciate your recommendation and the promise of a return visit to Cardiff. I look forward to welcoming you back then.

Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,485 reviews
1 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff

Address: St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1GD, Wales (Formerly Clayton Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £52 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff, in Cardiff city centre opened on the 16th May 2011. Principality Stadium is only a short walk from the hotel. The 12-story Clayton Hotel Cardiff comprises of 216 air-conditioned guest rooms as well as bar, restaurant and meeting rooms. Facilities at a glance: •216 air-conditioned guest rooms• FREE wireless internet access•Cardiff city centre Hotel•View Restaurant and Bar•Dedicated Business centre - 7 state-of-the-art Cardiff conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing