We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment in quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A Space in the City @ Quayside
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great apartment in quiet location”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights over Easter weekend, it was great, close to restaurants and to the sea. The apartment is great with all necessary things we needed to cook our own breakfast, during the night it was very quiet and nice and warm. Very clean room and friendly person - Steven who showed us the room.

Room Tip: Great location, reasonable price
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    61
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
56
91
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed with my 9 year old daughter and 88 year old mum for 2 nights - and it was perfect for us. Very slick check in, long stay car park 3 mins walk (short stay right next to apartment for unloading/loading), parking cost £12 for 48 hours which pleasantly surprised me. We booked because it was close to Millenium Theatre and we had tickets for Wicked - show finished 10.30 ish so great to be 'home' in 2 minutes! The Mermaid Quay area is amazing, great vibe, lovely to stroll around and people watch. We caught the Water Bus to the Castle and spent the day in the City Centre with a short taxi ride home. Sainsburys directly under the apartment provided all our meals but we would also have been spoilt for choice with restaurants if we'd so wished.
The apartment was spotless and a real home from home. Very well appointed and the man who checked us in couldn't have been more helpful. I would definitely book again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank countrygirl187049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My family (one child) stayed here for a few nights in April 2014. It was an excellent apartment and very well located. Only a five minute taxi ride to the city center from the apartment and surrounded by grocery stores and shops on the Bay. Taxi rank around the corner and Dr Who experience a quick walk away.

The only down side was checking in late at night after our plane arrived. There are only 3 planes into Cardiff during the day and after paying the extra charge for late check-in, we ended up having to anxiously wait to see if we were in the right place and to have someone let us in. Luckily the person in the apartment complex, who was awaiting us, knew our plane was on time and eventually came looking for us. The introduction letter would be good if it was sent to us, before our arrival, as it had an after hours contact number. Strongly suggest this get sent to you before arrival, so no miscommunication occurs. Otherwise the apartment is sparkling clean, well stocked for our time away, very well located, with people being very friendly in the apartment complex and in Cardiff generally.
Lisa, Virginia, USA

Room Tip: Get the introductory letter sent to you before arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lctara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed with my boyfriend for his birthday the weekend of the 05/04/14.
The apartment is lovely. Clean, stylish and right in the middle of Cardiff bay!
Cardiff bay is full of restaurants and can imagine it is buzzing on a sunny day! Cardiff city centre is a 5 minute bus journey and the bus stop is just outside the apartment flats.
The only fault I can find with my stay is that the wii wasn't working and a lamp in the lounge wasn't working. But considering we were upgraded from a one bedroom apartment to a two bedroom. No real complaints!
would definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tess486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Space i, General Manager at A Space in the City @ Quayside, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Tess, thank you for your review, so pleased to hear that you had a lovely time with your boyfriend for his birthday. Hopefully you guys will come & stay with us again next year to :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

There was not enough milk and coffee and stuff that I had when I stayed last time.
The most annoying thing was that I got to find out that I had to pay extra £25 as it was a sunday booking after I had booked.
The other annoying thing was that last time I stayed I didn't have to pay anything for teh parking but this time although it was discounted but had to pay £12 for the parking for 48 hour. All this was extra costs for me and I was very upset because of all of this!!
I am not sure who's responsibility (Booking.com or Space in the City)it is to mention all these when someone is booking!!
The more pleasant experience I had last time the worse experience I had this time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Raj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Space i, General Manager at A Space in the City @ Quayside, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hello Raj,

As you booked through an agent site you will find that our apartments are listed without parking, in addition we also confirm that check in fee's are chargeable for those arriving late at night outside of our normal check in times or for Sunday arrivals.

I'm sorry that you feel that you were not aware of these costs but they are listed for your awareness to help customers plan ahead on where to park and when to arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was our first visit to Cardiff - and we were keen to explore, get our bearings, visit, discover and generally wander. Being based in Cardiff Bay proved to be a top choice. Plenty to do and see (and eat and drink) around Mermaid Quay, and then a short bus or taxi ride into the city centre.
Everything about the apartment went extremely well - from being greeted upon arrival by Steve (who was friendly and helpful), the location, the clean, quiet, well-appointed accommodation. We were very pleased.
I'd like to think that we have passed the Elementary Cardiff test (with a borderline mark though for the No 6 bus) - and would like to come back to see some more. If so, we'll definitely be using Space in the City again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Millox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northolt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed in an apartment across from the Millennium Centre, Cardiff. Fantastic place, 2 double bedrooms, large open plan kitchen, dining area and living room. Fully fitted kitchen, 2 bathrooms. Cheaper than staying in a hotel. Will definitely book again. Fantastic 5 star.

Room Tip: Look at A Space City before booking anywhere else. We had apartment 4, I really can't fault it a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Northolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.3 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
3,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
0.0 mi away
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
#21 of 73 in Cardiff
384 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Space in the City @ Quayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Space in the City @ Quayside

Property: A Space in the City @ Quayside
Address: Bute Street, Cardiff CF10 5AN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — A Space in the City @ Quayside 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quayside apartments in Mermaid Quay are situated in the heart of Cardiff Bay. Only 50 meters from the Wales Millennium Centre and 100 meters from the bars and restaurants in the Marina. The location is perfect for those looking to take in an Opera or theatre production or simply looking for an ideal base to explore Cardiff Bay and the City Centre.No on site parking is available however nearby parking is available at the APOCA Pier Head Street car park which charges £10 per 24hrs or £14 for Friday and Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your A Space in the City @ Quayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Space In The City @ Quayside Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing