We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location but .......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A Space in the City @ Quayside
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent location but .......”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Pros:
- location
- quiet, since facing internal courtyard
- well equipped, with good sized fridge/freezer and oven
- excellent TV
Cons:
- difficulty loading/ unloading baggage
- studio #18 oppressively dark. Like being in a basement or cellar
- too hot at night. We didn't want to open the one and only window for security reasons (a small French window on the same level as the courtyard). Probably overpowering during hotter weather
- no bedside tables or bedside lights
- double bed hard up against the wall, so difficulty getting in and out
- no table adequate to eat at, just a two seater cocktail table/bar stools
- no hanging space at all in the shower room, even the radiator was set too high on the wall to use

Overall, this is the first time we've been reluctant to go back to our accommodation after a day out. Maybe the larger and higher apartments would feel better. We certainly didn't feel comfortable in #18


Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellisap2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    60
    11
    8
    7
See reviews for
55
90
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The apartment facilities were adequate, the location was excellent, as you can see the cleanliness of the apartment was abysmal ... As this was a special birthday treat for 4 ladies to say I was disappointed is an understatement. We were greeted by a 'gentleman' called Stephen. Unfortunately he was quite abrupt at times and very unkempt (same sweaty t-shirt for the duration of our 4 day stay). I have know idea what the drawings all over the walls are, nor what the bodily waste is all over the bedroom cushion! very embarrassing as I was the party member responsible for booking the accommodation. There was a communal terrace garden that was a designated 'no smoking' area, unfortunately it was used as the smoking area!! Having contacted space in the city regarding my concerns ... Unfortunately I've had no response :-(!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Space i, General Manager at A Space in the City @ Quayside, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you Penny for your review, sorry to hear that you did not feel that everything was to your expectations. I believe that we have contacted you directly to discuss this on a one to one basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Very nice location ,good Internet ,and the appartament has anything u need (I'll just include some coffee and some sugar next time in the kitchen ),but overall I'll reccomend,big nice tv,huge bed, clean appartament ,and safety...,many good restaurants just 2 min walk and the city center just 10 min walk

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Space i, General Manager at A Space in the City @ Quayside, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review Maria, really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The flat we rented was spacious, very clean and had all the amenities we needed. It is located in a great area near the Quay (great shops, restaurants & bars) and it is easy to get to and from the City Centr. The Sainsburys located right under the hotel is also extremely convenient.

The only complaint would be that it was somewhat difficult to find the place when we arrived as no specific address was provided (even after asking when making the reserveation) and we weren't provided with a number to call when we get there. It appears that we have to call an on-site person when you arrive who lets you in. This could have been made clearer when the booking was made. Aside from that, everything was great and will definitely stay here again when visiting Cardiff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karyne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed in a one bedroom apartment for a few days in late April. The location was very good - right next to the Waterfront and Mermaid Quay, and close to the city centre. I walked but it would be easy enough to get the shuttle train from the Bay to the City. The photos on the website were a little misleading (then again, they usually are, regardless of the place) but the size of the apartment was good for what I needed - a pad to crash in and a place to entertain my best friends for the time I was there.
I'd definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here in April for wkend..lovely apartments clean and spacious..superb location as bars n restaurants are 5 mins away...would stay again without a doubt. Thinking of returning again very soon...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank chez42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed in the apartment for a long weekend. Absolutely fantastic from start to finish. We were made very welcome by Steven, who was extremely helpful. Apartment was immaculate, comfortable and of a very high standard.
Surrounding area is beautiful, right across from the Millenium centre, plenty of bars, restaurants and shops outside the door. Dr Who Experience and Techniquest in easy reach. Cardiff Town Centre is about half a mile away. Bus stop outside the flat and buses very frequent. Would definitely recommend and already have. We are talking about coming back next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.8 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Space in the City @ Quayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Space in the City @ Quayside

Property: A Space in the City @ Quayside
Address: Bute Street, Cardiff CF10 5AN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — A Space in the City @ Quayside 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quayside apartments in Mermaid Quay are situated in the heart of Cardiff Bay. Only 50 meters from the Wales Millennium Centre and 100 meters from the bars and restaurants in the Marina. The location is perfect for those looking to take in an Opera or theatre production or simply looking for an ideal base to explore Cardiff Bay and the City Centre.No on site parking is available however nearby parking is available at the APOCA Pier Head Street car park which charges £10 per 24hrs or £14 for Friday and Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your A Space in the City @ Quayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Space In The City @ Quayside Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing