We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feat location, great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Space in the City @ Quayside
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We chose this hotel because it was close to a number of places in Cardiff and were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the apartment. We had a two bedroom apartment with a full kitchen. It was well laid out and the beds were very comfortable. We did notice that the rooms got quite hot during the day and opening the windows let in a lot of noise as we were close to street level. Perhaps higher rooms may be a little quieter. Overall though, we were extremely satisfied with the room overall.

Room Tip: Perhaps the higher floors would be quieter when the windows are open. It is extremely quiet with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ampster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Beautiful one room appartment with a perfect location near to all you want in the bay (restaurant, attractions, supermarket). It's like if we are at home, with a big bed, fully equipped kitchen, all you need and more! We hightly recommended these appartments at anyone who want to enjoy a trip in cardiff! At 15 min walk to the center and all this shopping centers and monuments, it was not our first coming to Cardiff but it was our best because of the appartment and all we can do like if we live here! Can't wait to come back and for sure Cardiff is better from the inside more like any hotel ever!! Thanks again for this wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Louis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A lovely apartment, close to everywhere around Cardiff Bay, will stay here again when we will be back to Cardiff, the apartments had everything you needed, I thought much better than an hotel, and you had plenty of places to eat around the Bay, plus you had a supermarket right under the apartments, what more do you want! Excellent, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank avsh61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Space i, General Manager at A Space in the City @ Quayside, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Great to receive your review, always a pleasure to know our guests have enjoyed.

Look forward to welcoming you on your next stay in Cardiff Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I don't think you can get a closer place to stay for Mermaid Quay and many Cardiff Bay attractions than these apartments. Situated right beside Roald Dahl Plass and the Millennium Center, above a small grocery store, and within a very short walk to the bus stop to take you into the city center, the location is absolutely perfect.

The apartment we stayed in was very well equipped with a nice living area and full kitchen. A small balcony at the front had a side view of the Millennium Center and did receive quite a bit of road and street noise - especially people singing on the street at all hours.

The only issue we had was frankly finding the place and unloading and the blinds that don't really fit and hardly block out much light.

A very good choice, very well located, for a visit to the heart and soul of Cardiff, Mermaid Quay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chef_Baboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Space i, General Manager at A Space in the City @ Quayside, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your review,

We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed the apartment and local area!

We are looking at getting the black out blinds replaced in these apartments to improve guest comfort during summer months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The studio was just a couple of hundred yards from the Cardiff Bay. Plenty of very popular restaurants within a couple of minutes, coffee bars, wine bars, you name it. The train station was within 5 minutes walk. A supermarket was just outside the main door.
The studio itself was spotlessly clean, well equipped, but very hot! The man looking after it kindly left us a fan. Staff within the office were very helpful.

Room Tip: All the rooms are facing an internal courtyard, so probably all the same. we were on the 4th floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hellann2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Space i, General Manager at A Space in the City @ Quayside, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks for leaving a review, we appreciate your feedback and comments.

We have now purchased fans for all of our studio apartments at Quayside to help keep guests call during this heatwave!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The apartment itself is very convenient. Close to Mermaid Quay with plenty of popular restaurant chains choices such as Cote Brasserie, Zizzi, Strada, Cafe Rouge and some local restaurants such as Bayside Brasserie. Tesco express is literally behind the building and Sainsburys Local is the same building within the apartment on the ground floor.

The apartment has a Wales Millenium Centre view and it's actually very nice to see how people and tourists coming in to the building and enjoying the view. The room is also great with comfortable beds. Easily changed the Double bed into twin single beds at an extra cost of 15 pounds.

The only let down is that as our group stayed in July, it's pretty hot so we had to open the windows. Unfortunately it was definitely a bad decision that we made. Various insects and spiders came in during the day and when we realised it at night, we had to go and buy some insect repellent to kill all of em.

Good apartment but if they have some insect nets at the windows would be much appreciated during summer time.

Room Tip: book early and ask for the balcony to get the view of the Wales Millenium Centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Space i, General Manager at A Space in the City @ Quayside, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hello Michael,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad the apartment met your expectations with the exception of the insects you mention that came in when you had the windows open during the day.

We have put forward your idea to include insect net's for the windows for the summer months to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Fabulous location, right next to The Millennium Center & walking distance of Cardiff Bay,the Dr Who exhibition & loads of fantastic bars and restaurants. Easy travelling into Cardiff. Pierhead street car park is a 2-3 minute walk & we had a discount token given to us, also 20% discount on some restaurants and bars if you show your key ( we made a good saving using this)

The flat was lovely with a fully kitted kitchen, Wii, DVD player, & 2 bedroom ( 1 en-suite), just a little niggle - the blinds in the bedrooms don't close properly and have some gaps, but it was just about bearable. Beds were comfortable & shower was fab.

We had a great view of the Millennium center, and a little balcony to sit on & enjoy the view.

We had a lovely welcome, we just had to ring and let them know we were arriving and a very pleasant chap ( Steve) came and met us with the keys and explained all we needed to know.

We did have a lovely stay, and we would gladly stay again in the future and will be recommending to friends.

Room Tip: ask for one facing the Millennium Center, its lovely when lit up at night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Space i, General Manager at A Space in the City @ Quayside, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your review, really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us & that our Guest Services team looked after you well. Thank you for the feedback on the blinds, we are in the process of ordering curtains so that the apartment bedrooms will be dark enough for all future guests. Look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
A Space in the City - Century Wharf
1.5 mi away
SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road
0.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#25 of 74 in Cardiff
596 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Space in the City @ Quayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Space in the City @ Quayside

Address: Bute Street, Cardiff CF10 5AN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Cardiff
Price Range: £56 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — A Space in the City @ Quayside 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quayside apartments in Mermaid Quay are situated in the heart of Cardiff Bay. Only 50 meters from the Wales Millennium Centre and 100 meters from the bars and restaurants in the Marina. The location is perfect for those looking to take in an Opera or theatre production or simply looking for an ideal base to explore Cardiff Bay and the City Centre.No on site parking is available however nearby parking is available at the APOCA Pier Head Street car park which charges £10 per 24hrs or £14 for Friday and Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your A Space in the City @ Quayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Space In The City @ Quayside Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing