We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Llandaff Town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Llandaff Cathedral

Llandaff Cathedral
Ranked #14 of 157 things to do in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Llandaff Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Llandaff village is a pretty part of Cardiff and is a nice walk. The Cathedral green is a must for all Dr Who fans!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    147
    17
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Llandaff Cathedral”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Not in city centre, but quite easy to reach by bus. Well worth a visit if you're interested in history and/or spirituality.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Stone Beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Llandaff CAthedral is a wondrous place to visit. Set low in the landscape its mighty steeple rises high above you imediatly giving a dominance over the small City of Landaff. BAdly damaged in WW2 this medieval masterpiece has recovered well .
Internally it is high cool and flooded with light....coupled with the gentle soaring sounds of Evensong it is a delight to sit or wander aroound to absorb the history and the faith of the people who builtv this and use the building all these years later.
The Epstein sculpture is a surptrse but does grow on you....it is a Marmite moment with it though! PLease spend sometime to visit. You will not regret it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Only a short bus trip outside Cardiff and close to where I lived Llandaff cathedral is well worth viewing. The new part in the cathedral is controversial but I like it.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A very special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We visited here for the first time in a long time this weekend. We'd dropped my daughter off at the stable sin Pontcanna and had an afternoon to ourselves. We found ourselves in Llandaff and decided to visit the Cathedral.

Its a very special place - we were met by a volunteer at the door who is happy to give you a tour or to leave you to discover the Cathedral for yourself.

I'm not particularly religious but I find it a very peaceful and beautiful building with so much history. Well worth a visit!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alice2Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Llandaff Cathedral also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Llandaff Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing