We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$102
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Future Inn Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$93
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$157
US$152
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$69
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (889)
Filter reviews
889 results
Traveller rating
360
351
124
33
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
351
124
33
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrewers fayrefree parkingan industrial estatepub next doorcardiff cityall you can eatno liftcar parkminute drivegood nights sleepmeal dealquiet locationsat navnight's sleepfamily roomair conditioningthe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
797 - 802 of 889 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We booked a family room for 2 adults and 2 children when we arrived we were not given any information about the breakfast available and when we asked the receptionist his answers were very short and unhelpful. We went to fnd our room to find it involved walking along 4 corridors till we arrived right at the other end of the building as we approached we became aware of the increase in temperature and sure enough when we finally reached our room we found it was extremely hot, there was no air conditioning something I didn't know before booking the room, there were 2 fans in the room but they made so much noise you couldn't possibly sleep with them on. On our first night the temperature kept rising and we woke up at midnight sweaty and finding it difficult to breathe, my husband went to reception to get a sheet and was told none of the rooms have air con and that our end of the hotel is always hot.
We suffered this for 3 nights as the Olympics were on so hotels were limited , each night it seemed to get worse one night the thermometer in the room read 28 !!, on Sunday when we checked out I tried to raise the matter with staff who were not interested and simply commented that its always hot there.
We never ate in the Brewers Fayre opposite but there was often people drinking and being noisey outside and tables left uncleared.
Quite Simply not a nice place to stay !! unless your used to a tropical climate and don't mind dehydrated and stroppy children and heat rash !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Laura Gibbins-Social Media at Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We really appreciate your feedback very much as this enables us to improve standards and provide guests with the best possible service and a comfortable stay.

Please be assured that we take all feedback seriously, and the issues raised will be fully investigated.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed here after a Friday night out. Reception was fine, though they did not offer to reserve a table for me in the adjoining restaurant. At Premier Inn they usually do this.
The room was very nice, fantastic TV, comfortable bed and nice bathroom etc. Unfortunately there was a redundant air conditioning control (no air conditioning in this hotel), and an old plug-in fan. But otherwise good.
One further issue was thay towels were only provided for one, in spite of the room being booked for two. This is the second time in quick succession this has happened at a Premier Inn.
Also, when returning to the lodge in the evening, the receptionist had to conduct a security check. Surely the fact I was in possession of an active key card would have been sufficient to show I was genuinely staying in the lodge.
Overall very good, but a little room for improvement.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinkySpinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I stayed at this Premier Inn for business purposes. Unfortunately it was over a weekend, and being so close to Cardiff it was a hot spot for Stag and Hen Parties. The room was up to the usual Premier Inn standards: clean and well kept. Unfortunately the noise from Stag parties causing trouble at the pub could be heard in my room. I was also woken up at early hours of the morning with the sounds of Stag parties returning as well. The food quality in the pub was also poor. My food was never hot and not cooked to order (I got a well done steak instead of a rare one). I also had to hunt around to find any staff members to seat me when I first entered.

Room Tip: If you are out for the weekend then this hotel is perfect. If not, steer clear as the noise will keep you up.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saraht852852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Steven Hicks, Social Media at Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel.

At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

On arrival receptionist was a bit frosty, she also did not have accurate knowledge about carvery at the restaurant attached.
The room facilities were good, it looks likethey have just been decorated recently. WIFI signal not brilliant.
The room only had 2 sachets of coffee, but the guy on reception was very nice and gave us more when we asked, a saving grace for the hotel staff.
The restaurant attached (brewers fayre) had very poor service, we waited ages for food desptite very few people being in there and some of the food arrived stone cold, we had to ask for it to be changed. The staff seemed reluctant to clean up tables that had been left. One table outside still hadn't been cleaned up over 2 hours after it had been left.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikNokNoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Steven Hicks, Social Media at Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high level of standards in all our establishments, and we sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

comfortable hotel with good free parking, a 10 minute walk to bay and 20 minute walk to city centre. on site pub with pub food.the bed was very large and comfortable. choice of pillows available, plenty of hot water,

Room Tip: all rooms seen very comfortable
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilly w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews