We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hard to find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The post code doesn't match up for Sat Nav's, so we ended up down at Cardiff Bay, trying to find the hotel for an hour. Everyone we asked didn't seem to know where it was, and kept sending us to the travelodge. Eventually found it, with help from the police, who had to check with HQ! Very badly signposted, and no one answered the phone when we rang for directions 5 times! Once arrived, room very clean, staff helpful, acknowledge the problem with the post code. Nice touch by the manager, as it was hot, all the rooms had fans in. Generally very pleased, once we got there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

The best thing about Premier Inn hotel rooms is that they are very consistent. They are contemporary, simply furnished, always clean and comfortable. This hotel was ideally located for shopping or sightseeing in Cardiff, it has its own parking and is only a 10 to 15 minute walk from the city centre or Cardiff Bay. If you don't want to travel out in the evening to find somewhere to eat then try the adjoining Brewers Fayre, it's nothing to get excited about but it does provide good, simple food at good value for money. We opted for a Meal Deal (breakfast and dinner included) and we were very pleased with what we had.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamandsuef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This was the a normal Premier Inn hotel, by that I mean it was clean, well run, with friendly staff and quite.
Which at the end of the day is all I require from a hotel.
It is slightly out of the city centre and a bit difficult to find if you do not have SatNav, but it has the advantage of not being noisy.
For short visits to Cardiff I would not hesitate in recommending.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JordansSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The Premier Inn in Cardiff Bay was very good, it's your average Premier Inn and as always they offer a good night guaranteed. The staff were pleasant when we saw them as there wasn't always someone at the check in desk. The facilities were very good as the television offered good channels unlike some hotels that charge for television use. The breakfast in the morning was very good as there was a lot of choice and the gentleman seating us was very cheery for the morning which was nice to see. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Cardiff as its near the centre and has good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Never been to a premier inn before
Very surprised much better than a travel lodge in my experience
The person who greeted us was ok but a bit stressed ,the night staff and the following morning staff were very helpfull and frendly
Our room was very clean and welcoming ,tea and coffee ,bath room very clean
The inn is in a great location 10-15 mins walk to centre of cardiff

Room Tip: If you want a good location and a good nights sleep this is the one
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Had a great weekend in Cardiff, staying at the Premier Inn, Keen Road. Very helpful receptionist, clean room, comfy bed. Ideal walking distance of the city centre 10 mins, and Cardiff Bay 25 mins. Next door is a Brewers Fayre offering breakfast, lunch and dinner. Nice relaxing atmosphere and good value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartMMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

My husband and I were attending a show in Cardiff and wanted somewhere local to stay. We stayed here previously and as it is free parking and we had a perfectly good stay before we decided to stay here again.
Like with other Premier inns I have stayed in the rooms are clean, modern, tidy and comfortable and have the basic things you would need for the night.
When we entered the room we smelt quite a strong smell of paint but left the window open for a bit and it was fine when we got back to the room later that night. It was also hot in our room but they did have a fan which cooled us down. Our room was facing out onto a main road which was a bit noisy with the traffic, It was fine for us as we our heavy sleepers and don't get disturbed but for light sleepers I would recommend asking for a room away from the road.
The staff we came across were friendly and helpful.
This hotel is ideal as parking is free and you can walk to the center in less than 15 minutes and we got a taxi back for only £4.
We didn't eat here but there is a pub/restaurant next door that serves breakfast and meals throughout the day.
We will be returning when staying in Cardiff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chen873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel

Address: Keen Road | East Moors Industrial Estate, Cardiff CF24 5JT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#15 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £47 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take time out at the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff City South. Half way between Cardiff Bay and the city centre, with free on-site parking, you'll be well placed to make the most of every minute in the capital. Travel through time and space at the Doctor Who Experience. Lose yourself in the hundreds of shops, bars and restaurants. Catch every second of the action at the Millennium Stadium, SWALEC Stadium and Cardiff City Stadium. Then, whether you've been battling daleks or hunting bargains, relax in our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and comfy beds. Directions: M4(J33) onto A4232, follow signs for city centre. A4234 take sign for Splott, at roundabout take 3rd exit. At 2nd roundabout (magic roundabout) 2nd exit then the 1st right, then 1st right again. Next to Ocean Park Brewers Fayre. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena Events Millennium Stadium Events Cardiff Castle & Tredegar House Cardiff Central Train Station 1 mile Cardiff Airport 17 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing