We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cardiff(Cardiff)
US$133
US$121
Hilton
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$101
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Clayton Hotel Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$82
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$99
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Novotel Cardiff Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Royal Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$107
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$95
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (889)
Filter reviews
889 results
Traveller rating
360
351
124
33
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
351
124
33
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrewers fayrefree parkingan industrial estatepub next doorcardiff cityall you can eatno liftcar parkminute drivegood nights sleepmeal dealquiet locationsat navnight's sleepfamily roomair conditioningthe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
660 - 665 of 889 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Staff were friendly and helpful, even printed off the tickets we needed for doctor who that we had lost in the wind and rain getting there. Hairdryer provided, internet cost 3 pounds for 24 hours, 30 minutes for free per day otherwise. One bathroom and hand towel provided, luckily we had packed spare just in case, bed was a little bit hard for my taste and room was a touch cold but that could be due to my blood condition. 4 pillows provided, two soft and two firm so good choice. no phone in room but one at reception that could put you through to a taxi instantly. Taxi cost £5 to cineworld and £6 to doctor who experience which wasn't bad. Food next door was filling through breakfast is a bit expensive if you don't like to stuff your face. Glasses for juice are tiny. body and hair wash provided in a dispencer so no fiddly bottles. Tv was large and a good choice of channels. no lift and the higher your room number the longer the walk to reception. Vending machine in reception also holds a kit that supplies a toothbrush etc if you forget anything. Reception also hold takeaway menus of places that will deliver to the hotel and there is a lidls supermarket just round the corner. choice of room or bedside lights, two room keys provided, they don't help with luggage, take extra tea bags, milk/coffee if yu drink a lot of hot drinks like me. Window faced the warehouses but curtains were blackout and kept out the noise and light. bathroom had shower and bath. fairly large. Pub next door has a two for £10 on meals up to 6.30pm and also a ATM in the pub (£1.75 service charge to use it )
Room had double bed, tv, kettle, hairdryer, hanging clothes space, one comfy chair and desk with chair.

Room Tip: Take some extra towels, teabags/milk/coffee and use your phone as a alarm clock if having breakfast no phone or clock provided.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caelia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Good standard, meets expectations of Premier Inn well re value, cleanliness etc. Initially felt a little out of the way and not very pedestrian friendly surroundings but is actually well located for walking into Cardiff Bay or City Centre areas if you get your route right and avoid the local dual carriageways and dead end industrial estates in the immediate area. Several hen and stag parties evident on arrival and were a bit concerned about noise etc late at night but no problems at all. Good size room, plenty of hot water and good shower, clean and comfortable stay for a budget price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here in two rooms in January 2014 and it was booked over the internet. On arriving our room cards were ready and it took just minutes to be going to our rooms. The rooms were as you expect from this hotel chain, good size, large bed and everything you require for a short break. The bed was very soft and we had a good sleep. We went across the car park to the restaurant in the evening and the service was friendly and quick and the food was good quality.

In the morning we had breakfast, which is all you can eat and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The order was taken and it was not long until the food arrived. There is coffee, juice and water.

Booking out was very simple and over all the staff were very friendly, helpful and noting was an issue to help.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I bit hard to locate, needs more signage from the main road, cause it was a bit confusing seeing the office block, didn't notice the little side road until I was nearly in the office car park.

Check-in was quick and painless. Our room (Room 74) was the very last room on the second floor, so it was quite a trek from reception, and the view was of a warehouse/industrial unit, so not great. However, the room was nice and comfortable with soft and/or firm pillows to choose from. Bed was comfy and the TV was setup (unlike a few occasions at Travelodge).

Iron & Iron boards are available from reception. Check-out was simple.

I've not been to any other hotel in Cardiff, but it was nice, but wouldn't have that particular room again.

Night of stay: 3rd February

Room Tip: Room 74 doesn't have a view (see photo), and is the furthest room away from reception
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gMaesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed here on a Friday night. First thing I noticed was that two guys on reception were not particularly helpful. They handed me a card with the room number on it, and just said 'follow the signs'. Htey did not announce the room number, but did announce my home address (rather inconsistent)! I would have requested a room not on the ground floor, had they told me my room was on the ground floor.
There was an issue with the floor in the room, which they turned out to be aware of. I did request rectification (eg. change of room), but they did not oblige. Only when I telephoned the manager was I offered an alternative room.
Incidentally, I was asked my room number infront of other customers, which is once again inconsistent with not announcing the number at check-in.
Was offered a complimentary breakfast in the morning (presumably for my troubles).
Management of the hotel were very apologetic afterwards about the whole matter (and said they would take steps to ensure better service in the future).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinkySpinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews