We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for a well-known chain”
Review of Ibis Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Cardiff
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing for a well-known chain”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed in this hotel for my graduation last year.

Problems started when they gave us the wrong room to start off with, then told us we hadn't booked. Luckily I had a print out, took them an hour and some stern words from me to convince them that yes, we had booked a room.

The room they gave us was right next to the railway, and the windows rattled every time a train went past. Requested a room change, they obliged somewhat begrudgingly, but neglected to tell us that it was not a full sized double bed. Couldn't be bothered to ask for a change again once we realised, as staff were unhelpful at the start.

Good location, plus cheap parking just next door. Shame staff and railway are such a let down.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluescarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write your thoughts on here.
I am sorry you were disappointed on this occasion, and I hope you will give us the opportunity to put things right on your next stay.
Regards,
Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    524
    249
    82
    63
See reviews for
139
474
133
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Lovely helpful staff. Nice room. Huge all-you-can-eat breakfast. Delicious evening meal. Spacious shower. Cosy bed. Walking distance from city centre. The only downside was a couple of cobwebs on the high ceilings. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterJacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Many thanks for your kind review!
Regards,
Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

A lovely hotel, very well located near all shops and attractions. Things to consider - parking virtually non existant except at a price (we now come by coach because of this) and on one side is a particulary squeeky curve of the railway which we love but others may not!
Eating and drinking here is poor value except possibly breakfast. In all cases there are several nearby Wetherspoons that can provide much better for far less.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swtrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thanks for your review, we always value guests' feedback.
Regards,
Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2012

On arrival our room had a lot of small flies inside the window & on the ceiling. We were given a nearby room instead which only had a couple of flies inside the window! Otherwise room clean & comfortable. Reception staff pleasant but did not offer apology or explanation on departure for a fire alarm during the night which had required everyone to evacuate onto the street. (Fireman who attended suggested it was smoke from cigarette bin which had gone into the air conditioning system!?) Otherwise we did not have any noise interruptions during the night. Good central location & cheaper than better quality hotels in Cardiff city centre but room for improvement. When you check in staff will direct you to £5 for 24 hour car park 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Couple775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on this website.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Regards,
Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed here on 5 occasions and on all occasions, standard is being maintained despite small glitches here and there.

Staff on the recent stay were very helpful and polite, however I did have a few problems with the room. There were some hairs in the toilet bowl and on the basin, and there was a dead fly on the table near the window.

Breakfast is typically pricy and limited in choice and we settled for it only once as I had to rush to my graduation venue.

In general, the location is very good as it's close to the city centre and near to churchill way where most of the buses stop, so definitely a good way to get around Cardiff. It's also near Central Station which makes it easy to catch the train.

For the last few occasions except this, I paid about 51-60 pounds per night which I find still acceptable but on this occasion, the price was about 78 per night which is definitely expensive.

Overall an alright hotel to stay in, but it also depends on the price you pay for it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_ldn6012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Many thanks for your review. We always encourage guests to book as early as possible in order to get the best rates.
Regards,
Remi VR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
4.5 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 73 in Cardiff
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
841 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cardiff

Property: Ibis Cardiff
Address: Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cardiff 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free WI-FI throughout, a 24 hour reception, the Ibis Cardiff hotel boasts an ideal location in the centre of the capital of Wales. Only 500 m from the railway station and 20 km from the airport, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from Cardiff Castle, the shops of Saint Mary Street and the Millennium Stadium. In order to get the best car park rates, please make sure that you come to the reception first (there is a lay-by area where you can leave your car), so that you can do the check in and leave your bags. We will then explain you how to get to the car park we recommend, at £5 for 24 hours, and it's just 3 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Ibis
Ibis Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing