We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about ok!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Cardiff
Ranked #23 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Just about ok!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Would reiterate many of the comments already made- air con didn't work, and being opposite the railway meant it was too noisy to have the window open at night. Staff welcoming but don't speak good English, not a problem unless as happened to us they tried to charge us again for the same booking even though it had been paid for over the Internet weeks before. The excuse was that the two systems weren't compatible, we had been quoted the wrong price, difficult to imagine for an international chain as big as Ibis. Be sure to take a printout of your booking with you! They backed down in the end. Having said that the room and bed were clean and comfortable enough, shower was hot. Getting through to the TV channels is very annoying, they obviously hope you will pay for something by mistake as you have to go through so many screens each time you switch on. Also free wifi should be standard these days. Don't just turn up for a room, booking ahead over the Internet saved 50%. Would not be worth the full price. Conveniently situated for Cardiff centre.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the railway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanJH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Many thanks for your review, we have shared your comments with the team.
Regards,
Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    511
    236
    78
    60
See reviews for
134
458
127
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hereford
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

a group of 14 ladies stayed here, ages from 20 to 48, there were other groups staying however you wouldn't have known, we only stayed one night and although check in wasn't until 12 noon we arrived at 10.15am, 2 of our rooms were ready so reception let us have them early so we could take our bags up and explore cardiff, the rooms were, clean, comfy and functional, on check out they stored our baggage as we weren't travelling home till later in the day, that made a huge difference to our weekend, the reception staff were excellent, i have already decided to take my mother there for a weekend break as it is so close to everything,

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank track64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thanks for your kind review, and we hope your next stay will be the same!
Regards,
Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Typical Ibis - room OK, clean and functional, great shower, towels always smell of the wierd stuff they must all use to wash them in. Our room faced some kind of bar: can be noisy with people unable to converse without shouting, shrieking or laughing loudly. Get a room away from this bit. Aircon did not work: window opened meant noise; closed meant too hot. Informed desk and they tried to fix promptly but was unsuccesful. Did not have breakfast there as can get better stuff in the city. No free WiFi provided which is a disgrace, with the charges ridiculous. I never return to hotels that cannot offer this simple facility. Not even a free WiFi setup at reception. Also Ibis have the ridiculous TV setup meaning going through about 4 stupid menus till you get a TV channel to watch. Probably some device for the unwary to accidently click paid services. OK for the price I suppose, but parking had to be some distance away and not free. Poor rating largely for lack of WiFi.

Room Tip: Rooms away from main street or side street bars/restaurants; make sure aircon works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldenthigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you for your review. We currently do not offer free wifi, but our head office is looking into it at the moment. We recommend a NCP car park 2 minute walk from the hotel.
Regards,
Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

burntwood, staffs
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel 24th & 25th August 2012.

It is very much as I would expect from a chain such as this. It was clean, comfortable and I like the bathroom 'pod' idea. The shower was good and roomy but the towels were very disappointing. We were supplied with two extended 'hand' towels only and they were quite old and not particularly absorbant. Our room 312 was at the back of the hotel and overlooked the railway.You can not open the window to cool the room as the trains run until about 12.30am at weekends.

The staff were welcoming but difficult to understand at times.

The bar is exhorbitant - don't use it unless you have money to burn.

There is no parking on site, you are recommended to park at the Pellet Street NCP car park which is £5 per multiple of 24 hours. Despite comments about vandalism at the carpark our car was fine.

It was handy for the city centre and close to restaurants and shopping centres.

I understand that the property is due for refurbishment and hope that they put some aircon in.

Room Tip: 312 & 320 overlook the railway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhat206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on this website.
We have shared your comments with the departments concerned.
Regards,
Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel during a three-night city break in Cardiff with a friend. The hotel was easy to locate as it was on a main street, and the hotel is close to many restaurants, bars and the main shopping area in Cardiff which we both loved. The room itself was very basic and old decorated in an old-fashioned style. The bathroom was clean and the bed was impressively comfy. I greatly disliked the fact wifi is not freely available, but the staff were very helpful and the hotel does have a computer you can use on a payg internet access basis which was great as I did not want to run up a high bill.

Definitely the worst thing about this hotel was the fact it was literally facing out unto a train track and the noisy, screechy trains did tend to disrupt my sleep a fair bit!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_A_Fernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you for your honest review. We hope to welcome you again soon to our hotel.
Regards,
Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#21 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#24 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cardiff

Property: Ibis Cardiff
Address: Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cardiff 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free WI-FI throughout, a 24 hour reception, the Ibis Cardiff hotel boasts an ideal location in the centre of the capital of Wales. Only 500 m from the railway station and 20 km from the airport, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from Cardiff Castle, the shops of Saint Mary Street and the Millennium Stadium. In order to get the best car park rates, please make sure that you come to the reception first (there is a lay-by area where you can leave your car), so that you can do the check in and leave your bags. We will then explain you how to get to the car park we recommend, at £5 for 24 hours, and it's just 3 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Ibis
Ibis Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing