We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, central”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Cardiff
Ranked #23 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
London,
Level Contributor
145 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Basic, central”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed here for two nights in September 2012 as part of a conference package; came by train.
First: the location is very good - most of central Cardiff is within easy walking distance. I found reception / bar staff pleasant and helpful.
Room: adequate size, comfortable bed, but no drawers or cupboards, and little hanging room - all shelves. Carpet a bit shabby. Hospitality tray poorly stocked and not renewed. Didn't try internet.
Bathroom: generally OK, but conspicuous lack of complimentary toiletries (e.g. soap).
Breakfast a bit pricey at £7.50; buffet fairly limited, but of good quality, especially the cooked items.
Would probably stop here again, but would want to investigate the Premier Inn first.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osipovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thanks for your review, we always value guests' feedback.
We hope to welcome you again for your next visit to Cardiff.
Regards,
Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    510
    236
    78
    60
See reviews for
134
457
127
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

I booked this hotel as the PremierInn appeared to be fully booked. It is a shame that the PremierInn was not available, as I think that I would have had a more enjoyable and comfortable stay.
There are quite a few problems with this hotel, most notably the toilet flushing only intermittently, the air conditioning not working at night, the bedroom kettle not working and the television Internet/movies not working. The ironing room was pretty disgraceful, with stained ironing boards and only one functional iron.
In addition, the staff - with the exception of a receptionist named Petr - were abrupt and rude. I reported the various problems above to a staff member, and was not given any assistance other than to tell me that WiFi was available. I understand that it can be difficult to solve some issues, but a more attentive attitude and perhaps a suggestion of a solution would have been appreciated. This does not reflect the purported '15 minute' satisfaction guarantee offered by Ibis, but that has been my experience in another Ibis recently.
I find it difficult to report benefits to this hotel, save that it is located close to the Saint David's centre and the pedestrian mall. It is a 10 minute drive from the Harbour area. Potential guests should be aware that the parking is a 5 minute walk away.
I am relieved and happy to say that this will be my final stay at an Ibis Hotel on this vacation and probably my final outside of work arranged journeys.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am sorry to hear you were disappointed on this occasion, and we have taken actions to prevent a re-occurence of the items you mentionned.
Regards,
Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Would reiterate many of the comments already made- air con didn't work, and being opposite the railway meant it was too noisy to have the window open at night. Staff welcoming but don't speak good English, not a problem unless as happened to us they tried to charge us again for the same booking even though it had been paid for over the Internet weeks before. The excuse was that the two systems weren't compatible, we had been quoted the wrong price, difficult to imagine for an international chain as big as Ibis. Be sure to take a printout of your booking with you! They backed down in the end. Having said that the room and bed were clean and comfortable enough, shower was hot. Getting through to the TV channels is very annoying, they obviously hope you will pay for something by mistake as you have to go through so many screens each time you switch on. Also free wifi should be standard these days. Don't just turn up for a room, booking ahead over the Internet saved 50%. Would not be worth the full price. Conveniently situated for Cardiff centre.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the railway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanJH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Many thanks for your review, we have shared your comments with the team.
Regards,
Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hereford
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

a group of 14 ladies stayed here, ages from 20 to 48, there were other groups staying however you wouldn't have known, we only stayed one night and although check in wasn't until 12 noon we arrived at 10.15am, 2 of our rooms were ready so reception let us have them early so we could take our bags up and explore cardiff, the rooms were, clean, comfy and functional, on check out they stored our baggage as we weren't travelling home till later in the day, that made a huge difference to our weekend, the reception staff were excellent, i have already decided to take my mother there for a weekend break as it is so close to everything,

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank track64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thanks for your kind review, and we hope your next stay will be the same!
Regards,
Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Typical Ibis - room OK, clean and functional, great shower, towels always smell of the wierd stuff they must all use to wash them in. Our room faced some kind of bar: can be noisy with people unable to converse without shouting, shrieking or laughing loudly. Get a room away from this bit. Aircon did not work: window opened meant noise; closed meant too hot. Informed desk and they tried to fix promptly but was unsuccesful. Did not have breakfast there as can get better stuff in the city. No free WiFi provided which is a disgrace, with the charges ridiculous. I never return to hotels that cannot offer this simple facility. Not even a free WiFi setup at reception. Also Ibis have the ridiculous TV setup meaning going through about 4 stupid menus till you get a TV channel to watch. Probably some device for the unwary to accidently click paid services. OK for the price I suppose, but parking had to be some distance away and not free. Poor rating largely for lack of WiFi.

Room Tip: Rooms away from main street or side street bars/restaurants; make sure aircon works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldenthigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you for your review. We currently do not offer free wifi, but our head office is looking into it at the moment. We recommend a NCP car park 2 minute walk from the hotel.
Regards,
Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#21 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#26 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cardiff

Property: Ibis Cardiff
Address: Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cardiff 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free WI-FI throughout, a 24 hour reception, the Ibis Cardiff hotel boasts an ideal location in the centre of the capital of Wales. Only 500 m from the railway station and 20 km from the airport, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from Cardiff Castle, the shops of Saint Mary Street and the Millennium Stadium. In order to get the best car park rates, please make sure that you come to the reception first (there is a lay-by area where you can leave your car), so that you can do the check in and leave your bags. We will then explain you how to get to the car park we recommend, at £5 for 24 hours, and it's just 3 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Ibis
Ibis Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing