We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge bed”
Review of Ibis Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Cardiff
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I arrived at the hotel and after initial booking in difficulties (it was prepaid and the receptionist had not that much experience of the company) I was given my key and trundled off to my room.

The room itself was basic and what you expect for a £40 a night hotel, except for the bed! The bed was huge and very comfy! There wasn't much choice of channels on the TV, but this was no great concern as I went to sleep shortly after getting some tea,

It was clean, tea/coffee on hand and the toilet/shower was plenty big enough. The room was a little worn in places as was the hotel itself but it was comfy.

I had a room adjacent to the rail line but wasn't affected by this at all.

Breakfast was adequate and they had pancakes. Whether this was because it was pancake day or not I don't know but they were lovely.

As other have said it is in a convenient location just don from Queens station but within an easy walking distance to Central, the castle and all other attractions.

All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyBeaumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear 'SallyBeaumont', thank you for posting your review about your stay with us. It is a pleasure to learn that you had a pleasant stay. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2013

Bed was very comfortable, room was very modern and had everything we needed. Hotel was in a great location, within walking distance to the train station, shops, restaurants and Cardiff Castle. The staff were very helpful, gave us a map and pointed out local attractions and places to eat. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahjaney90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Dear 'Sarahjaney90', thank you for taking your time and leaving your feedback on here. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our staff to be very helpful. I also noted that you thought our NEW IBIS SWEET BED was very comfortable - I am happy to hear all this and look forward to welcoming you back at the Ibis Cardiff Centre hotel. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Like most Ibis hotels, not luxurious. Friendly greeting on arrival. Room clean but sparsey furnished, which is not unexpected for a £40 hotel. Would be a good ase for anyone attending the Motorpoint Arena and staying overnight. One downside is that the car park is a couple of hundred meters away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZALP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Dear ' Zalp 66', many thanks for your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you in the near future. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We have just returned from a one night stay at the Ibis Cardiff. Due to the nature of our stay we spent a really small amount of time in the room. Room was clean and did the job really! Would return if we had another good deal. Check in was easy, the lady behind the desk was helpful and friendly. There were a lot of people in the hotel (there was an x factor concert on in the motorpoint arena as well as the rugby) and there was a bit of noise at night. However, that is not the hotels fault! Very convenient if you are visiting Motorpoint and a small walk to the city centre!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Dear 'Laura C', thank you for posting your review from your recent visit to Cardiff. I was happy to learn that staff was friendly and helpful and that the location was good for you. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Really convenient to city centre and millennium stadium. Room ok . Bedroom clean and bed very comfortable but a bit like a ship's cabin and shower was a bit smelly .
Good choice for breakfast and staff friendly

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie1081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear 'Julie1081', many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am happy that you found our staff to be friendly, clean bedroom and that you liked our NEW IBIS SWEET BED. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

very comfortable bed and warm cosy room very good breakfast and good service all round staff were helpful and friendly hotel in good central situation close to town centre but out of the bussle.stayed here before and booked two more stays already i think that proves my point

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaretmary59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Dear 'margaretmary59', many thank for taking the time and leaving your thoughts on here. I am glad that you liked our NEW IBIS SWEET BED and found our Team to be helpful. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I stayed here on business trip and found this very convenient for travel. Cardiff queen street is 5 mins walk and Cardiff central 15 mins. Good places to eat around hotel. I tried Thai joint nearby turned out alright. Mall across the place has lots of options available.

Although its bit of walk to castle ,I kind of like it. If you carrying heavy luggage, do consider going with cab from central.

Room was ok for business traveller with nice beds. Properly enclosed so good nights sleep is guaranteed. I got very cheap deal while booking online and must say was happy to get what's paid for.

Staff was friendly ,well mannered.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chakra_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dear 'chakra_uk', many thanks for leaving your thoughts one here. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Cardiff Centre and look forward to seeing you in the near future. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#21 of 74 in Cardiff
870 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cardiff

Address: Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £48 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cardiff 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free WI-FI throughout, a 24 hour reception, the Ibis Cardiff hotel boasts an ideal location in the centre of the capital of Wales. Only 500 m from the railway station and 20 km from the airport, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from Cardiff Castle, the shops of Saint Mary Street and the Millennium Stadium. In order to get the best car park rates, please make sure that you come to the reception first (there is a lay-by area where you can leave your car), so that you can do the check in and leave your bags. We will then explain you how to get to the car park we recommend, at £5 for 24 hours, and it's just 3 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Ibis
Ibis Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing