We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis Cardiff
Ranked #24 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pretty good!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Great location; we went to a show at the Motorpoint arena, and you couldn't stay closer, only a 1 minute walk!

Staff were kind and helpful.

Only let down was that there was poo stains and flakes in the toilet-these went after 2 flushes, so should have been done by the cleaner, and hairs all around the bathroom floor made me wonder how well it had been cleaned at all.

The rest of the room was clean though, and like I said, it's a great location. Good value too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear 'AmeliaB', I am glad that you enjoyed your stay but was sorry to hear that the clanliness was not up to standard. Please note that we do have 24 hour reception on duty thas is here to assist you with any issues you may have. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    505
    236
    77
    60
See reviews for
133
455
127
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pembrokeshire, Wales
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed here in mid September, the room was clean and tiday and the staff polite BUT BE WARNED - Right behind the hotel is major building works, on Sunday morning JCB's, diggers and Lorries were working from 6am! Ruined a great weekend! Although the work isnt taking place at the hotel, they didnt pre-warn us about the work and on complaining to the manager on my return, the hotels managers emails basically said - its not our building work, not our fault - i'm sorry, it is effecting your guests and you have a duty of care which you failed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank TwiggyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear 'TwiggyP', Thank you very much for your comments. I am glad that you found our hotel to be clean and tidy and staff to be polite. I am sorry that your stay was spoilt by the outside noise. We have reported this to Cardiff Council but yet to receive any reply. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Magor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I debated whether it was worth bothering to write this review because as with many of Ibis' customers I suspect we all expect nothing too much from their hotels but here goes.
I've stayed here several times because the location is excellent, you are a short walk from the motorpoint arena and john lewis and the bus station and train station are very close also. I've never eaten here so I can't comment on that. The reception staff are nice enough though.
I felt it worth saying this time that the hotel is really showing its age now. My room had seen a lot of abuse and there were scuffs and little bits of damage throughout, it was clean yes and I dont expect miracles for £49 a night but i think some effort is now going to be needed to just pull the hotels standards up a bit. The public areas are a little worn and there were plates of uncollected half finished food in the corridors that stayed there for hours. I am distinctly underwhelmed with the new beds and mattresses. I am not saying don't stay there, I am just saying the Premier inn 200 yards away is looking a lot more tempting for about £20 a night more as the years go by. There's only so long you can excuse things by saying "ah but its cheap!".

Room Tip: Not the ground floor and ideally at the front of the hotel not by the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matthow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear 'matthow'. Thank you very much for writing this review. I am happy that you found our staff nice enough but was sorry you felt our hotel is 'tired'. I will pass your comments to my superiors and we hope to see you in the future. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

stayed here with my 19 year old daughter paid £156 for 2 rooms for 2 nights far cheaper than the Premier inn near by,found the room very clean & comfortable,the corridors were a bit shabby but then you dont sleep in the corridors,the staff were very friendly & bar prices were good value for city center hotel,it was just a 5 min walk to St David center where my daughter was going to for a concert & the city center for restaurants & pubs

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mackemrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear 'mackemrick'. Many thanks for taking your time and leaving your feedback on here. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your comments to my Team. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night and it was just average, and I can't help feel that for the same price the neighbouring premier inn would be much better. Our room was non smoking but as soon as you walked in it stank of smoke. The corridors are shabby and there were plates of food on the floor which had not yet been cleaned up. The room was basic but clean, the TV was small and only had a few channels. Neither of us could get the wifi to work at all. Location is good for getting into town or taking the train to the bay. I know you get what you pay for but it was a bit of a let down, and could do with a great deal of modernising.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IM295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments. I will pass them on to the relevant departments. Please note that we do have 24 hour reception on duty that will be more than happy to assist you should you experience any issues. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent location and staff so nice! You can do everything in a walk distance. It is close to Queen street and Cardiff Castle. The accommodation is clean and comfortable the only thing that is not so good is because I had the train's line view, I mean, I stayed in back side of hotel. The wifi worked well and the front desk it was always already to help.
Another good thing about this hotel is so convenient to shopping, there is a big mall and all Queen street nearby, the central station too.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Hugo S, Thank you very much for you kind words. I read your review with great pleasure. I will share it with my Team, who I am sure will be delighted. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future, Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

I was attending a conference in Cardiff and had to book my own hotel. My budget was not large but I wanted somewhere central. Ibis is a brand I trust as whether in their native France or anywhere else, one knows what one is going to get. This Ibis was as expected. A comfortable bed and a clean bathroom are I guess my prerequistes and these were fine. The carpet in my room had seen better days and the aircon was a bit patchy, but fortunately the temperature was not too warm. Breakfast was great ; tasty sausages and fresh croissant. WiFi was a downer and useless for anything other than checking email, so I ended up using 3g on my tablet. Why do hotels not see WiFi as a priority these days? All in all a good central location from a reliable brand.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zog666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear 'Zog666', thank you very much for taking you time and telling us about your stay with us. I am happy that you experience met your expectations and I look forward to receiving you in the future. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#21 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#18 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cardiff

Property: Ibis Cardiff
Address: Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cardiff 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free WI-FI throughout, a 24 hour reception, the Ibis Cardiff hotel boasts an ideal location in the centre of the capital of Wales. Only 500 m from the railway station and 20 km from the airport, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from Cardiff Castle, the shops of Saint Mary Street and the Millennium Stadium. In order to get the best car park rates, please make sure that you come to the reception first (there is a lay-by area where you can leave your car), so that you can do the check in and leave your bags. We will then explain you how to get to the car park we recommend, at £5 for 24 hours, and it's just 3 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Ibis
Ibis Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing