We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent and cheap”
Review of Ibis Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Cardiff
Ranked #24 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

good location about ten mins from the strip . very comfy beds and nice rooms , paid £36 for a room and it's very good hotel for the price . would defiantly use again. go into hotel first for parking as right opposite is £18 but just round corner is £5 for 24 hours .

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sam_T_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Great tip regarding the car park. It is always good to speak to member of our team, so we can suggest different car parks around the hotel. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

685 - 691 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Have stayed here several times before, but not for about a year. With Ibis you know what you are going to get, and this delivered perfectly. Big room, clean and tidy, lovely bathroom and everything you'd expect. We paid in advance to have the breakfast, and it is a treat. Buffet style with plenty to choose from. Excellent. Staff very friendly and a great location - five minutes walk to the St Davids Centre and the Motorpoint Arena, and ten minutes to Queens Street.

Room Tip: While the big railway works are being done try to get room at front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilwernboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear 'gilwernboy', thank you very much for taking your time and leaving your feedback on here. It is always a plesure to read positive words. I will share your comments with my Team, who will be delighted and encouraged to delivering great service even more. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Ibis Cardiff for one night. We usually stay at premier inn but thought we would give the Ibis a try as it was a better deal. The location is Fab, it is about 1 minute from the arena, a few minutes from the shopping centre and the train station for the bay is a two minute walk. The hotel in itself is what you would expect for the price, the staff are friendly and helpful, the hotel is clean and tidy and the bed comfortable. The room's carpet and pictures were a little old fashioned but thats not a real complaint. They offered breakfast and food at the hotel in what looked like a little cafe, i cant comment on this as we did not use it. We did however purchase alcohol from the bar to drink in the room and the prices were fair. I would recommend this hotel and would use it again. It was quite different to the premier inn we are used to but for the price really cant complain.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank chickaboo2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear 'chickaboo2912'. Thank you very much for taking the time and leaving your thoughts on here. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with my Team, who I am sure, will be very pleased too. We look forward to welcoming you in the future, Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Great location; we went to a show at the Motorpoint arena, and you couldn't stay closer, only a 1 minute walk!

Staff were kind and helpful.

Only let down was that there was poo stains and flakes in the toilet-these went after 2 flushes, so should have been done by the cleaner, and hairs all around the bathroom floor made me wonder how well it had been cleaned at all.

The rest of the room was clean though, and like I said, it's a great location. Good value too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear 'AmeliaB', I am glad that you enjoyed your stay but was sorry to hear that the clanliness was not up to standard. Please note that we do have 24 hour reception on duty thas is here to assist you with any issues you may have. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed here in mid September, the room was clean and tiday and the staff polite BUT BE WARNED - Right behind the hotel is major building works, on Sunday morning JCB's, diggers and Lorries were working from 6am! Ruined a great weekend! Although the work isnt taking place at the hotel, they didnt pre-warn us about the work and on complaining to the manager on my return, the hotels managers emails basically said - its not our building work, not our fault - i'm sorry, it is effecting your guests and you have a duty of care which you failed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank TwiggyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear 'TwiggyP', Thank you very much for your comments. I am glad that you found our hotel to be clean and tidy and staff to be polite. I am sorry that your stay was spoilt by the outside noise. We have reported this to Cardiff Council but yet to receive any reply. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I debated whether it was worth bothering to write this review because as with many of Ibis' customers I suspect we all expect nothing too much from their hotels but here goes.
I've stayed here several times because the location is excellent, you are a short walk from the motorpoint arena and john lewis and the bus station and train station are very close also. I've never eaten here so I can't comment on that. The reception staff are nice enough though.
I felt it worth saying this time that the hotel is really showing its age now. My room had seen a lot of abuse and there were scuffs and little bits of damage throughout, it was clean yes and I dont expect miracles for £49 a night but i think some effort is now going to be needed to just pull the hotels standards up a bit. The public areas are a little worn and there were plates of uncollected half finished food in the corridors that stayed there for hours. I am distinctly underwhelmed with the new beds and mattresses. I am not saying don't stay there, I am just saying the Premier inn 200 yards away is looking a lot more tempting for about £20 a night more as the years go by. There's only so long you can excuse things by saying "ah but its cheap!".

Room Tip: Not the ground floor and ideally at the front of the hotel not by the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear 'matthow'. Thank you very much for writing this review. I am happy that you found our staff nice enough but was sorry you felt our hotel is 'tired'. I will pass your comments to my superiors and we hope to see you in the future. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

stayed here with my 19 year old daughter paid £156 for 2 rooms for 2 nights far cheaper than the Premier inn near by,found the room very clean & comfortable,the corridors were a bit shabby but then you dont sleep in the corridors,the staff were very friendly & bar prices were good value for city center hotel,it was just a 5 min walk to St David center where my daughter was going to for a concert & the city center for restaurants & pubs

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mackemrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear 'mackemrick'. Many thanks for taking your time and leaving your feedback on here. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your comments to my Team. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
4.5 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#21 of 74 in Cardiff
884 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cardiff

Address: Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £42 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cardiff 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free WI-FI throughout, a 24 hour reception, the Ibis Cardiff hotel boasts an ideal location in the centre of the capital of Wales. Only 500 m from the railway station and 20 km from the airport, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from Cardiff Castle, the shops of Saint Mary Street and the Millennium Stadium. In order to get the best car park rates, please make sure that you come to the reception first (there is a lay-by area where you can leave your car), so that you can do the check in and leave your bags. We will then explain you how to get to the car park we recommend, at £5 for 24 hours, and it's just 3 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Ibis
Ibis Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing